We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very easy to get to.”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very easy to get to.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a 10 minute walk from where the bus stops that brings you from the airport. And is within easy walking distance of the old town, where there are many restaurants. Some good some not so good. The hotel was very good. And the staff helpful and welcoming. A comfortable large room (511) with a good bathroom, which had a bath as well as a shower. Everything was very clean, with the towels changed every day. One warning, our room faced an inner sort of court yard, which funnelled all the sounds from rooms below, upwards. So we could hear lots of what was said in the rooms below, including the television. Breakfast was good with lots of cold meats, bread etc. And small sausages and scrambled eggs as a hot option, very good. Although the layout of the plates and cutlery could have been better organised, we seemed to be for ever waiting for people to move out of the way so we could get to plates a cutlery. Perhaps put the cutlery and the cups and saucers on the table next to the table with the bread. All in all, a comfortable, well positioned and welcoming place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, the hotel, its staff and its location !
We have taken good note of your suggestions for the breakfast room
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Gounod, and of course you shall always find our best fares and packages on our website or by emailing us
thanks and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - president
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    250
    75
    23
    10
See reviews for
90
253
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and i had a great stay at the begining of March '13. We had a small suite which was good. Vary typical of an independant French Hotel. Breakfast was very good. Staff very helpful and efficient. Hotel is about fifteen minutes walk from the old town and about ten minutes from the beach and the railwail station. We don't go to Nice for the beach and the location is good for us. We were on the fifth floor overlooking the street, this was very good, not noisy at all. I would recomend a room overlooking the street, or at the side overlooking the garden.

There is a very nice roof top cafe bar, with a pool, next door in the Splendid Hotel, open to residents of Hotel Gounod.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor with a balcony would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdjengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us ! I was of course delighted to know that you enjoyed it and we were able to help you discover and enjoy our Côte d'azur..and that you had time to visit the bar and pool of our sister hotel : the Splendid Hotel & Spa
We all look forward to welcoming you again: you shall always find our best rates on our website, or by emailing us directly
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
799 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with this hotel. It is 3 stars and is probably accurate. The building is traditional and interesting with a good feel to it. The hotel has character and is, I feel, typically French and certainly not anonymous. The reception is small but the welcome is big. The staff are friendly and courteous at all times. Our room (504) was spacious with a double bed and a settee (can be converted into another bed?). There was also additional seating and a desk. It was all clean. We even had a balcony with a small table and chairs - the view was of a large palm tree and residential buildings. Although facing onto the street the windows when closed ensure the room is quiet. The décor is a bit faded and there are some areas which need to be refurbished (some stains on the bedroom ceiling, marks on the wall but nothing major). Bed comfortable with crisp linen and good pillows.
The bathroom is clean with sufficient towels. The shower was hot with a good shower head but you had to hold it as it kept drooping and showering the wall rather than your body. The hairdryer is quite slow and gets rather hot so if you have long and /or thick hair you may want to bring your own. On the plus side it is right in front of the mirror!
Small breakfast room but it was quiet when we were there. Fresh fruit/fruit salad/prunes available along with a selection of meats and cheeses plus the usual breads/croissants etc. All good and we certainly didn't go hungry. (We didn't sample the eggs/sausages on offer).
The hotel is well placed for the train station, the sea front and the old town. Perfect in fact. We would return .

Room Tip: Top floors have balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us.
I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel, its typical architecture,and its location
It will of course be a pleasure to see welcome you again: you shall always find our best rates on our website: gounod-nice.fr and/ or by emailing us directly
Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I spent four nights at this hotel over a quick trip to Nice. The hotel met all my needs and was very clean. I was in for a 10 mile run and the breakfast was enough to get me going on the day (and the other days on my trip). The breakfast offering was fruit, cereal, cold meat, bacon and eggs, toast, pastries, tea, coffee and juices. The staff were very helpful and spoke English. The location was excellent - walking distance to train station, beaches, local supermarkets, restaurants and cafés. It is and easy bus journey to and from the airport (€6 each way).
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Nice for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dasenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us; as you can imagine, these comments are very important for us !
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, its location and staff and the value for money ratio.
If you like running, we have a nice Marathon from Nice to Cannes on November 8th: we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Gounod on that -or any- occasion
Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was my first stay in Nice, I was not sure which area was best for a winter visit, it is easier in summer, you would want a hotel with sea view and a good swimming pool or near a beach. In winter you do not want to be away from the center to avoid long walks. I chose Hotel Gounod based on reviews and because it was halfway between down town and the train station. Other reason was that I needed a triple room. I got a suite for a good rate, a large bedroom and a sitting room with a sofa bed, although furnishing made the room kind of dark and dull. The bathroom was big with a shower and a tub. Huge storage areas in the room. There are hotels nearer to the center and the old town, may also be cheaper, so I guess next time I will move closer. I do not think the hotel rates will be reasonable in summer, but I guess that would apply to all hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front or side, try to avoid rooms overlooking the central vent shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marineman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and NIce in winter season; we are indeed about 400 meters to the sea, and same distance to the boutique area and train station
In summer Gounod's guests have the added advantage of free access to the panoramic pool of our sister hotel: Splendid Hotel & Spa next door
Rates in summer are indeed higher than in winter, but if you check on our website, you shall probably be pleasantly surprised
Thanks again and have a splendid day

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Gounod is still a pleasant, quiet hotel with a welcoming and competent staff. Decoratively, it's a bit frayed around the edges and needs some work. Couldn't understand why the over-bath shower didn't have a screen or curtain.
While we were there, breakfast had to be taken at the next-door Hotel Splendid: this was fine.
Generally, I'd reccommend this hotel and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us
We were all delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities; indeed during the winter season when occupancy in the Gounod is low we do upgrade the breakfasts to our Splendid Hotel & Spa panoramic room; I am glad you enjoyed it
we all look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - president
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We are budget travelers who were interested in a location in walking distance of stations, transportation and sites. Hotel Gounod-Nice far exceeded our expectations. We especially enjoyed our morning breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves_travelling_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves , know about your stay with us !
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel's location and its breakfast
We all hope to welcome you again: you shall always find our best fares on our website
have a splendid day

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#45 of 204 in Nice
995 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#49 of 204 in Nice
472 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#43 of 204 in Nice
773 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing