We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travel With Timo | Hotel Blogger
Lahti, Finland

Beautiful small gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2020
La Malmaison is something everyone wants their hotel. Small size, impeccable service, excellent breakfast, and convenient location in a city.

The breakfast buffet is excellent, especially considering the size of the hotel. During the wintertime, it's tranquil, and you can have breakfast almost alone. The breakfast room is lovely too.

The hotel is restored in an old building, so there are few steps in the entrance.

I would recommend this little hotel for couples and especially for lovers - book a premium room and you can breath french romance here.
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have the best views and less noise from the streets.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel-cmanager, Sanna, General Manager at Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels, responded to this review
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear Timo,
Thank you for posting such a fine review of your stay at La Malmaison Nice.

We do our best to provide top-notch service and ensure all our guests are completely satisfied, your positive feedback is very rewarding. We were also delighted to hear that you appreciated our location and style, especially grateful for your recommendations for our future guests.

We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

Sanna, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£247
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £247
  • Agoda.com
    £205
  • Expedia.com
    £246
0.2 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Booking.com
£438
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £438
  • ZenHotels.com
    £384
  • Expedia.com
    £437
0.4 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
£226
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £335
  • Vio.com
    £195
  • Expedia.com
    £371
0.3 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£167
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £167
  • Vio.com
    £150
  • Expedia.com
    £177
0.4 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
ibis Styles
£157
  • Priceline
    £168
  • Booking.com
    £168
  • Hotels.com
    £168
0.2 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £245
  • Vio.com
    £203
  • Hotels.com
    £246
0.6 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior view
ibis Budget
£91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.2 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    £472
  • Booking.com
    £472
  • Hotels.com
    £472
0.3 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £174
  • Vio.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
    £163
0.4 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Our lively hostel bar is a great place to make new friends and enjoy the nightlife in Nice, France.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £254
  • Vio.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
    £259
0.5 miles from Hôtel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Nice
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
251
141
48
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
251
141
48
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station victor hugo street water dispenser jacuzzi bath old town overhead shower alsace lorraine huge balcony hand held shower city break french doors minute walk sea front reception staff mini fridge comfy bed lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Recently stayed here and would definitely go back. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the promenade and close to the centre of town. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and dealt with things efficiently and professionally.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel-cmanager, Sanna, General Manager at Hotel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Dear Fiona,
Thank you for sending us this rating.

We do our best to provide top-notch service and ensure all our guests leave us satisfied, so this positive feedback is so rewarding. We are pleased to know that you appreciated our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes,

Sanna, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2019

We have spent 3 nights in this comfortable hotel in a quiet road, only 5 minutes walk to the Promenade D’Anglais. Easy tram ride from the airport, a 2 min walk to the hotel. Bedroom comfortable, had everything we needed. Breakfast was included, cold continental - wide choices & hot eggs, sausage & bacon. Lots of excellent cafes and restaurants to eat within a 15 min walk of the hotel. Superb pizza/pasta restaurant Vabbuo Cucina E Pizza in the road opposite the hotel, on the left towards the sea front, booking essential at the weekend, we booked online & visited twice. Spent a good day out at Phoenix Parc, 5€ entry, animals & birds to see. The staff at the hotel are first class and cannot do enough for you, extremely friendly and helpful. Visit to the old town a must, the cathedral is beautiful & so many streets & outdoor market stalls to roam around. A wonderful break, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay to celebrate our Anniversary.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank HEATHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel-cmanager, Sanna, General Manager at Hotel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Heather,
Thank you for such a positive review.

The comfort and well-being of our guests are of the utmost importance to us, and we are delighted that you were pleased with your stylish accommodation. Thank you for highlighting our location. We are delighted you were able to make the most of our tasty breakfast buffet, an ideal way to help start the day. Our dedicated team always aims to deliver the best experience possible to all our guests and you will always find them ready to assist at any time. Your recommendations are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes,

Sanna, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

Took a 2 night break in Nice, and chose La Malmaison Nice as part of the package. It is located in an area with a few other hotels, and is within a 5 to 10 minute walk of the promenade and half way to the promenade you will find the Rue de France. So location is ok.
The hotel is small, and staff are friendly. The bedroom we had was also small. But the bed was comfy, and the bathroom lovely.. bug white fluffy towels and lovely shower.
Breakfast was adequate, so don't get too excited, but they do an ok job at catering for a range of coffee and tea tastes etc.
So for the 2 day stay, this was fine.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel-cmanager, Sanna, General Manager at Hotel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We do our best to ensure that guests feel welcome and it is very rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you were not entirely satisfied with the size of your room and would like to mention that as a Boutique Hotel and building dating from beginning of 1900', we do have different categories and sizes of rooms, and would be happy to help you find one more suited to your requirements on your next visit.

We look forward to the pleasure of seeing you again.
Kind regards,

Sanna, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2019 via mobile

The most important thing to me when travelling is staying somewhere that is safe and secure. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case with this hotel. Precious belongings were stolen from the room and the staff weren’t unhelpful at best and insulting at worst. There are other reviews similar to this from other travellers so it’s obviously an ongoing problem here.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank febeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel-cmanager, Sanna, General Manager at Hotel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It was very concerning to learn of this situation, especially because one of our top priorities is ensuring the safety of every guest.

As you may know from the one member of your group of 16 to whom this incident refers, we do feel that that the following information should be taken into consideration.
As soon as we were made aware of this incident we immediately called the police. Regrettably, we were informed that they would not come to the hotel in person as there were no visible signs of forced entry and therefore no infraction. Despite this we did advise the member of your party to go to the police station to report the incident and that we would be happy to accompany them, however, this offer was declined. Our team members made themselves available to you for several hours to assist in making arrangements and for anything else she required. Safety deposit boxes are installed in every room for the security of our guests' valuables and we do have security cameras covering the entrance of the hotel. We have checked the lock information and have established that after her departure the room was not accessed until she returned.

We are very sorry for the distress this may have caused and can assure you that an investigation is ongoing and we will be in contact in the near future with the person concerned.

Best regards,

Sanna, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed at the hotel with a group of friends. Initial impressions were good. Clean & comfy hotel in great location, however trip ended very badly when two bags were stolen from one of our rooms, one of which contained a passport. Rather than the helpful apologetic response which you would expect from the hotel, they were rude with the manager actually blaming us. As we were due to travel back the next day we had to leave one of the group in France. She was unable to fly back to the UK for another 3 days and had to travel to to Marseille to organise an emergency passport to get herself home. The hotel failed to call the police and wouldn’t look at cctv footage or question any of the staff working that evening (the only people that had access to the room). A terrible end to what had otherwise been a fantastic trip. I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank helensG5080WE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel-cmanager, Sanna, General Manager at Hotel La Malmaison By Inwood Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Helen,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion of your recent stay.

It was very concerning to learn of this situation, especially because one of our top priorities is ensuring the safety of every guest.

As you may know from the one member of your group of 16 to whom this incident refers, we do feel that that the following information should be taken into consideration.
As soon as we were made aware of this incident we immediately called the police. Regrettably, we were informed that they would not come to the hotel in person as there were no visible signs of forced entry and therefore no infraction. Despite this we did advise the member of your party to go to the police station to report the incident and that we would be happy to accompany them, however, this offer was declined. Our team members made themselves available to you for several hours to assist in making arrangements and for anything else you required. We continued to check with you during the rest of their stay. Safety deposit boxes are installed in every room for the security of our guests' valuables and we do have security cameras covering the entrance of the hotel. We have checked the lock information and have established that after your departure the room was not accessed until your return.

We are very sorry for the distress this may have caused and can assure you that an investigation is ongoing and we will be in contact in the near future with the person concerned.

Best regards,

Sanna, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews