We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a find in Nice”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Hotel
Ranked #127 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed here for 1 night. We were staying up the coast but wanted to visit my Dad in Nice so I found this hotel on the Internet. If you know Nice, it's just behind the port on the bottom road heading out of the City but it's still just a 5-10 minute walk from Place Garibaldi and then another 5 minutes to the old town. We walked right round the headland to get to the centre, Its longer but would highly recommend this as when you come round the corner you get my favourite view of the sea and Promenade des anglais! Anyway getting back to the hotel! We were greeted by a lovely couple who showered us to our room. All the rooms are accessed through the house and they surround a delightful courtyard with tables and chairs in the middle, very pretty. Room was big, basic and spotlessly clean which is everything we wanted. It was all tiled floors which made it lovely and cool. It also had a fridge if you wanted to stock up at the supermarket. No tea/coffee making facilities but then again this isn't your typical hotel, it has a different feel which is definitely a good thing. We were offered breakfast but as we were meeting family we didn't stay for it. A lovely easy going place with lovely hosts. Next time we visit Nice I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, this time for longer! As for Nice itself, it's a fantastic city, our favourite place to spend time

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsg3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Good hosts, handy location and decent sized room. The courtyard area was a great place to relax with wine and meet other guests...sometimes it was so good we didn't make it out to dinner and had to raid the supermarket down the road. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolMillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed for five nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is a short walk from the port and is close enough to walk to the old and 'new' town where shops and attractions are located. Bus stops are a short walk away and Nice Riquier rail station a 10-15 minute walk on the flat.

Although the area is quite built up, it is, as another guest notes, a quiet and tranquil hideaway. The pebbled courtyard garden, onto which the rooms open via sliding doors and shutters, is a real bonus, where breakfast can be eaten or a pre-going out glass of wine drunk with other guests. Once checked in a key is given to the back door for access rather than through the house.

Breakfast was available at 8 euros pp, either in your room or garden, but with a superb boulangerie just down the road (and supermarket for fruit, yoghurts and jam etc) we were happy to do our own thing.

The rooms vary. All seem spacious and light from what we saw and some have a kitchenette, although ours had just a fridge. There is a communal kitchen in an alcove with toaster, kettle, sink and two hob rings. Room decor is basic and furniture a mix of rustic and modern. Bathroom facilities are fine with plenty of space, but all is clean and bright.

Bad points: I wasn't keen on the shared kitchen as it just seemed a bit scruffy in a shelter type of way, with previous guests old unused cornflakes, jam and the like left on the shelves. We only used the kettle and had disposable plates and cutlery from the supermarket for convenience. I also found the shower tight - the shower curtain was a pain flapping around and attaching itself wetly to my legs. The combined water/temperature tap was also in the wrong place and was frequently knocked by my elbow to either the freezing cold or piping hot positions.

Good points: everything else was superb and my comments above need to be tempered by the fact that I am an absolute fusspot. The owners were away and their daughter was running the show. She was very friendly and helpful and it is people like that that make the difference to a holiday.

If I had a suggestion it would be around attention to detail. In the case of room 12, the bathroom has four different types of tile. There is also evidence of repair with patches of fresh paint in the room and patches that could do with some paint. Little things like old nails or holes left in the wall where pictures were once hung should be pulled out and filled. We said this in conversation with another couple who were staying at the same time, and they said they had just thought the same thing. This and a fresh coat of paint would make the difference between great and outstanding.

However, please don't let my comments put you off staying here; and if you have any doubts, ignore them! All in all we had a wonderful visit, would stay here again and slept very well. It is so much nicer than some of the other hotels, especially as the rate for Nice is reasonable. We saw some of the similarly priced hotels around Nice, especially in the main station area, that we had looked at on the various booking sites before plumping for the Clair. Most looked grotty or slightly seedy, with the station area noisy and grotty, so were relieved that we had made the right decision.

We look forward to staying here again on our next visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Full_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed for one week at the Clair Hotel and had a truly wonderful experience.

The room was very cosy, with a comfortable bed, good bathroom and a good little kitchen.

The hosts were above and beyond helpful, supplying us with milk and answers to all of our random questions!

The location is perfect. Walking distance to a traditional pebble beach, and close to public transport that will take you into the city, or even to Monaco and Italy! Close to a little supermarket if you wish to cook for yourself. It's also very quiet despite the fact that the hotel appears to be surrounded by roads. It's quite the little hideaway. :)

We really enjoyed ourselves, felt very relaxed there, and wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Excellent location, hotel run by a nice family. Good size room, with kitchen. Very clean. I will come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Clair Hotel was a gret place to stop in Nice. We had 5 days in Nice and after spending a day exploring it was great to come back here, put our feet up and share a wine in the gar den with other guests.
The rooms are well appointed and have little kitchenettes if you want an easy night.
Located about 100 metres from the garden gate is a great little supermarket, laundrette and bakery. Stroll a little bit further and you come to the port, port beach, carrying on to Old Nice town and the wonderful beaches of Nice. You are also situated close to the bus routes to explore the coast which ever way you want to go.
Esther and Lui are great hosts and offer relaxing accommodation as well as good advice.
Great stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Located in the port area of Nice this small boutique hotel offers a courtyard and good size rooms with kitchen facilities all difficult to find in Nice. Nothing was too mcuch trouble for our hosts Esther and her husband. For a fantastic home like experience at an affordable price this is the best.

Room Tip: You will need to book early as esther is full up most of the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstarAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
13.1 mi away
Hotel Omega
Hotel Omega
#9 of 10 in Valbonne
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel le Lausanne
Hotel le Lausanne
#126 of 204 in Nice
182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Carlton
Hotel Residence Carlton
#9 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
#56 of 87 in Antibes
92 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#77 of 126 in Cannes
61 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Bastide Gourmande
La Bastide Gourmande
#4 of 4 in La Colle sur Loup
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing