We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at Clair hotel”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clair Hotel
Ranked #117 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“my stay at Clair hotel”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Clair hotel has many positives but some negatives to,I stayed here with my husband at the beg of sept for a week,Esther & Luba were very welcoming and luba especially is very willing to share his information on travel tips and places to eat etc etc,the location is quite good not far from the port and buses,trains etc,but a bit run down,also I was surprised at the amount of dog mess on the streets,you really have to be aware at all times ! it's such a beautiful city but the back streets in the hotel location are very unloved and littered with many things I dont dare to mention.The courtyard area is very pretty and nice for breakfast,but it can be noisy at night if the other guests decide to have a party,which is what happened on our first evening and after being awake for nearly 24 hrs we didn't feel like joining them but couldn't escape the noise.Our room didn't have air cond,just an electric fan which was useful but not really effective at cooling the room down during the night.Our sheets weren't changed during our stay,neither were our towels,which were paper thin,this was very disappointing,in hindsight I should have asked for clean linen but I don't think I should have to,it should be done automatically.Would I return to hotel ? no,I would probably pay a bit extra and upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rolokent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    52
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
103
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay on the edge of Nice. It suited us perfectly. Not a typical hotel but as a base for a few days in Nice it was ideal. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a small kitchenette so we could have our own meals that we ate in the communal garden all within a few minutes walk of local shops and near the harbour and close to bus routes along the coast to Monaco, etc

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KIDDERMINSTER, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

What an amazing place this was. We arrived by train and took the number 30 bus to the port which is about 5 minutes away - wonderful boats and lots of great restaurants and bars. Esther welcomed us and showed us to our room which was so spacious and bright with really comfortable beds. You let yourself in and out through the garden so, having done a basic shop on our arrival, my husband just nipped down to the supermarket or bakers every morning both 2 minutes away for a fresh baguette or croissants for breakfast which even at the end of October we could enjoy in the garden. Our days were filled with enchanting experiences, always enhanced by Luba's suggestions. He is a lovely, intelligent and interesting man and really enjoys making sure his guests have the best holiday ever. Highlights Monaco, Antibes, socca in the old town, Luba's little beach and being able to get everywhere on buses and trams for 1 euro plus if it rains, nearly all museums and galleries are free. Cannot wait to go back and explore more.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms all delightful and brightly but simply decorated with original art work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elviria, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of September, the room was spotless, spacious and charming, air conditioned and good comfortable bed and a little kitchen area overlooking the courtyard, perfect for a cup of tea or glass of cold rose wine or beer after a good day out and about. The courtyard was delightful and a joy to sit and relax.

Esther and Luba were great friendly and informative, warmly welcoming us, full of advice as to where to go, even a place to swim within walking distance, just round from the Port which is 5 mins down the road. Lots of bars & restaurants, the old town and the Market all within walking distance.

Will definitely return to this haven in a busy lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from staying here. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and found the location very quiet. The studio was a reasonable size and adequately equipped. The courtyard was a great place to relax and meet people. We were within walking distance of all amenities and found good restaurants near the Port. Luba and Esther were friendly and helpful.
Our advice to any one staying here would be to ask if you need anything. Nice is a lovely city with plenty of interesting things to do and the public transport is excellent for exploring further afield. We will almost certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Clair hotel. We found it to be really nice and charming. It is just what you want from a break in Nice. Full of character and we were really welcomed by the wonderful family that owns it. It is only 5 mins walk from the beautiful port and many bars and restaurants, but it was very peaceful at night and you could relax in their private courtyard.

If you like big clinical corporate hotels then this is not for you. But is you want to feel like a local and have a wonderful comfortable base for your holiday then stay here.

Room Tip: all the rooms were good as they open out into a private courtyard with palm trees and blue skies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolands-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I stayed with my husband for three nights in September. The room was great, comfy bed, good bathroom and kitchenette with sink, fridge, two rings and microwave so we didn’t have to eat out every meal. Well placed only a short walk to the port and 10 minutes to the beach. The owners were lovely, waiting for us to arrive, made sure we had everything we needed in the room and had lots of information about the area. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Nice Garden Hotel
Nice Garden Hotel
#32 of 205 in Nice
612 reviews
Mont Boron
Hotel Villa La Malouine
Hotel Villa La Malouine
#100 of 205 in Nice
164 reviews
Le Panoramic
#67 of 205 in Nice
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Hotel
#69 of 205 in Nice
443 reviews
Mont Boron
Le Saint Paul
Le Saint Paul
#116 of 205 in Nice
287 reviews
Hotel Danemark
#82 of 205 in Nice
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Property: Clair Hotel
Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing