We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!!”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Hotel
Ranked #124 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel has great location. It is small boutique hotel with quite a good size of rooms. Hotel staff is very helpful. Internet connection were good, quality of bed was ok. They even managed to put into hotel which is quite small but at least they have it in this old building

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel provides a very pleasant and charming base for a stay in Nice - spacious rooms, kitchen facilities and the use of a communal patio/garden area with a real French feel. The owners were welcoming and helpful and the rooms furnished and decorated very tastefully. There were even fruit bowls in reception to help yourself from everyday. Three negatives - you had to ask for every bit of kitchen crockery/cutlery if you wanted it, there were ants in the kitchen so you needed to wrap food well or keep it in the fridge, and the room was not cleaned/made up daily for some reason. Overall though, good value and a good little find if your preference is to stay in the port area away from the bustle of the city centre.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent a lovely week at the clair hotel. Everyone was very helpful and it was great to have breakfast in the garden each morning and chat with other guests. Afternoons were especially enjoyable being able to relax in the garden after a hectic morning, it was a great retreat. The port is very close and there is a very nice park just up the hill from the hotel. Buses are plentiful, taking you to all parts of the town including direct to the airport. There are restaurants at the port or you can head for the quieter streets where the local residents eat out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Clair hotel is a centrally located hotel for buses and restaurants. The supermarket and bakery shop are just 2 minutes away. It has a lovely private garden that is outside the rooms.The garden has full sunshine in the afternoon/evening. Great for some quiet relaxation. The rooms are large with a small kitchen area for making your own meals if you are on a tight budget. Some of the rooms are not equipped with a kitchen, but it does have a communal kitchen for these purposes. The hotel also makes breakfast on request which is served in the lovely garden area. The hosts are very friendly and helpful people giving lots of tips on places to see.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which opened right into the garden. This room also had a kitchen area. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathara_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This isn't a 5 star hotel. If you want luxury, go and stay in Monte Carlo and pay Monte Carlo prices.

This is, however, a fantastically located little oasis, 2 minutes walk from the port, 10 minutes from the old town with hundreds of cafe's restaurants and coffee shops and well situated for public transport for exploration further afield.

The rooms are clean, but basic, ideal as you are only sleeping there. The owners are very helpful and even allowed us to leave our bags in the hotel after check out so that we could make the most of our last day, we really appreciated this.

We hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Clair is a niche Hotel in a former Girls School. The rooms look out onto an enclosed courtyard. We were very tired after the long flight from Australia and had wonderful restful sleep over the 4 nights we stayed. Thankfully the Clair uses sheets and blankets rather than duvet and this improved our comfort.

Despite rain on several days, the very useful local advice by our multilingual hosts Esther and Luba enabled us to catch the nearby local bus into the OId Town and markets. There are very good and affordable local cafes nearby, as well as a local supermarket with an extensive range of fresh produce, and many patisseries too! The best coffee nearby was the local 'Tabac Carnot', a block away and near the bus stop.

Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Most importantly, a small kitchen is available on the courtyard where we could make the breakfast and afternoon tea.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Clair and are grateful for the advice from Luba that saw us change our itinerary slightly to include more destinations on the Cote D'Azur - which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Highly recommended for comfort, location, economy and ambience.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on streetside unless windows are double glazed. Check the bed for comfort and sheets fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Hotel is a short walk to the port where you can catch the bus to many locations up the French Riviara.

Hotel is run by a lovely couple who are both friendly and informative. If you need to know something they are more than happy to help.

Rooms are of good size and ours had a kitchen which was very handy if you need to get away early in the mornings and want to have breakfast outside times offered by the hotel or if you want to have a meal in, to save money.

We stayed during the Monte Carlo formula 1 and the bus ride was only 45min and was very picturesque along the coast.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nalbon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Villa La Tour
Hotel Villa La Tour
#127 of 203 in Nice
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £44 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing