We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secret Garden in Nice”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Hotel
Ranked #126 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent three days/ nights at Hotel Clair as part of a Spring Cycling Tour. Accommodation was simple, but clean with the rooms all facing a charming, quiet, private garden. With the Hotel raised above the street and accessed via a door within a stone wall, its like a secret garden hidden in the port district of Nice. Very charming and helpful owners made it an enjoyable stay in Cote d'Azur and I could see myself going there again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Panini2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

The good: large and clean room. good beds, good breakfast, microwave oven (wonderful to warm croissants)

The less good: our room looked really old, no internet, only one electrical outlet (not easy to use an electric shaver)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visiteurhivernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Clair Hotel is located very close to the port and is very useful for buses towards Menton and also buses to/from the airport. The owners are extremely helpful and very friendly. Being in a great convenient location for the port, old town etc yet the Hotel was always very peaceful and quiet. The Hotel rooms have access and overlook a beautiful Courtyard and to relax and eat in. The Hotel and rooms are very secure and always very Clean. We have provisionally booked again later in the year as soon as we know our flight details. The Hotel room had all the ameneties of an apartment. The Hotel helped our holiday to be one of our best of many trips to Nice.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook and have access to a beautiful Courtyard, It appears that all rooms have same hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We went to the Clair for a second stay this year. This time we had a room with a kitchenette which was really handy.

Luba, the owner, is very friendly and helpful, and the laid-back atmosphere in a busy city is a welcome contrast. The weather was spot on so we made best use of the courtyard garden and the hotel as a base for travelling around.

Parts of the immediate area can be a bit scruffy and the pavements have some dog mess on them, but the Hotel is well placed near the port and old town and most things are walkable.

If we go back to Nice next year, I'm sure we will book the Clair again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Full_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I give this hotel 5 based on the price, location and friendly service of the owner. The price at 80 euros a night is good for nice and you have a courtyard in which you can enjoy a nice glass of wine after a busy day sight seeing. Location - for me the port is the BEST place to stay and hotel was in a great location just yards from a supermarket, buses to menton/eze/airport. When we were leaving the owner noticed we had a big case and once we told him that our flight was not until later he let us store our case there and pick up in the afternoon - that was a life saver and increased my planned review from a 4 to a 5

The advice I would give is request bits and bobs (plates, forks etc) when you check in also I wold suggest seeing if youq can get a saucepan as nothing is provided and a hob without a pan has little use (perhaps each room with a kitchenette could have these things in the cupboard as standard?). Also be sure to ask for the wifi password at check in I was unable to use all trip as when I eventually got it I could not get it too work and in the end I had to actually speak to the wife in the evening instead of burying my head in the iPad! Here i could have pushed back to the owner on the wifi not working but i did not so it is not a really big complaint and they say it is good to talk dont they! Suggestion for the owner just a simple sheet of paper in the drawer in each room with wifi details would really help the guests I think

All in all a very enjoyable stay and we would come back

Thanks

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Have just spent five nights here with two friends. The downside is that the surrounding streets are somewhat scruffy and there is the usual French dog mess around. On the plus side there are local shops and the rooms are simple but adequate. The old town is within easy walking distance and full of atmosphere. Without a doubt the owners are the most helpful and charming we have ever met. They make the hotel what it is. You do have to ask for what ever you need be it a kettle, cups, cutlery, plates but it is all brought to you pleasantly and swiftly. The garden is an oasis at the end of a busy day. Without doubt we shall return and can recommend this hotel. It is not the Ritz but neither is the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Advantages: The motel owners were really friendly and helpfull. Parking price was lower for Nice. Location was 5 minutes from Port and bus stations by feet. A big supermarket was just on the corner. The room had a fridge. Free Wi-Fi.

Disadvantages: Location was a bit far from beach, Viex Nice and tram.(20 Min. Walking) The room was very old-fashioned. (But lcd) Shower was very small. No shampoo and no hair dryer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingelessar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing