We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel in a good location with great hosts.”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Hotel
Ranked #126 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a small group of friends on a road cycling holiday. The location is ideal in that it is very central - a five minute walk to the port area (many bars and restaurants) which also has stops for the 98 bus to the airport (journey approximately 30 minutes). Despite being so close to the port, it is very quiet. The Intermarche (supermarket) is also on the doorstep - so it is very easy to stock up on provisions. The hosts are very welcoming and will try to accommodate your specific needs and requirements where possibly.

The rooms are simple and straight forward - with most accessed via a lovely courtyard which is accessible to all. The courtyard provides a pleasant setting for breakfast (an extra - but good) as well as an opportunity to chat to other guests.

Nice & the Cote d'Azur can be an expensive place - we felt the prices were good value.

As for the cycling - the courtyard provides plenty of space to prep your bike - the rooms are big enough to keep bikes and bike boxes in. The hotel is ideally located for exploring the coastal routes as well as the inland hills - with the start of the Col d'Eze just a few minutes away.

We hope to return - possibly next year.

Room Tip: The rooms accessed directly off the courtyard are cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anguseitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We were a little concerned that is might be to far from the airport, but it turned out to be the perfect little place in the Cote d'Azure. They were out side waiting for us just like we were family, from the time we got there. You can walk anywhere and take all the transportation from here. Old town is just a 10 minute wonderful walk. It is very safe and very clean. They're is a lovely little courtyard outside the room were you can unwind, sip coffee or wine and smell the ocean air. A supermarket on the corner and a patisserie across from that. Elton John's house is up the mountain, Sean Connery is down the road, Tina Turner's house is past the Marina and Bono's house is on the tip of the peninsula! Being right next to the port, allowed for beautiful evening strolls overlooking the coast...This place is magical! Hubert was great at giving directions and accommodating all of our needs. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Agentlemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here at the beginning and the end of our trip to Toulouse and Provence. Comfortable, clean, cosy. Warm welcome. Kitchen with basic stove, fridge etc. and supermarket 2 blocks away made it easy to prepare simple meals. Good rate, as Nice is a pretty expensive city. This is a real neighborhood where people live, so it's not glitzy but always felt safe even at night. Convenient to tram, bus to airport, Promenade des Anglais and reasonable walk to Place Garibaldi and Old Nice. Staying here made the lovely city of Nice even more pleasant. Thanks, Esther. Katherine and Cynthia

Room Tip: This hotel is very quiet at night and I slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hi,

I have spend in Clair hotel 3 nights with my wife during our trip on the French Riviera at May 2014. Hotel is in very good location close to port and Promenade des Anglais but still it is very quiet place. Owners are very nice and helpful people. Room was pretty big. There was also parking place next to hotel.
Kind Regards

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlesniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent one nite at Clair Hotel. Host and hostess are kind and thoughtful. They also give us important advice for our trip planning. Clair Hotel a lovely hotel with comfort bed and peaceful garden. "RECOMMENDED" :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Charming people, helpful and attentive without being obtrusive, lovely garden within city is a great bonus, lovely to sit outside in the evening sipping wine or perhaps enjoying a light meal cooked in the 'flat' from locally sourced produce rather than eating out every night. Very flexible about check in and leaving bags after check out. Well-located, good shower (important after a day's walking!) comfortable bed - we shall be returning - recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StopRejectingMyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This proved to be a great location for me and my best mate. We used the Hotel as a base to ride around the Maritime Alps. The garden was our refuge after a day of toiling up and down mountains and we could keep our bikes in the rooms which was a great help and didn't lead to sleepless nights worrying about their well being.

Our hosts Esther and Luba were brilliant (and understanding) as we did arrive late on the Thursday night. The hotel is clean,neat and tidy. All the major hotel chains could learn from these guys who offer just some good, honest customer care. Breakfast in the garden was always nice with a couple of cups of coffee. This was a great start to the cycling day. The harbour is five minutes walk and includes a couple of decent bars and restaurants. The Promenade des Anglais is maybe 10 mins walk.

For cyclists this is definitely the right side of town. Col d'eze starts 5 mins spin away and the coast road can be reached in around ten without crossing town. So if you fancy training camp cycling with a more relaxed evening then i can recommend both the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob_Perry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing