We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value well located very friendly family run hotel”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Hotel
Ranked #126 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We always receive a warm welcome from Esther and Luba on our regular visits to the Clair Hotel. It is in a good location tucked away down a quiet street with a supermarket and bakery just round the corner. Just a few minutes’ walk to the port and 5 – 15 minutes’ walk to the Old Town, main centre and bus station although there are also bus stops just round the corner for Eze Village and Monte Carlo (which stops at Villefranche, Cap Ferrat and many more villages on the way) . Peaceful with a lovely private secure courtyard to relax in it is good value for money and the studio rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Esther and Luba are very friendly and helpful nothing it too much trouble and they have good knowledge of the area they will give you good tips on places to visit and good affordable restaurants etc. We would recommend this hotel and will continue to return ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

My partner and I found the Clair Hotel through Tripadvisor, stayed last week and did not regret it. The location was ideal for us: a short 5-10 minute walk to the Old Town, Port and the main centre, but we could also access the close-by, sandier beaches of Villefranche a short bus ride or 30 minute stroll over Mont Boron (with wonderful views over Nice along the way). Tucked away down a quiet street, it's hard to imagine all this was so easily accessible, without any need to negotiate the bustling centre if we didn't wish to.

Esther and Luba received our late arrival with charm and grace, and showed us to our simple but stylish and well-furnished room, which looked out directly onto the courtyard. We, and most other guests, found dining out on the courtyard a very peaceful and happy affair. It was the perfect place to mingle with others and exchange stories of the day, or to just sit and be, in wonderful, bucolic surroundings.

My partner's parents are looking to go to Nice next month and straightaway we recommended the Clair. We were unreservedly impressed with the subtle service, the relaxed atmosphere and, above all, the charm of the hoteliers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aleik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

If you want a value for money stay, with an ultra friendly and helpful couple in charge, and are not looking for 5* luxury, this could be for you. Accommodation - semi self catering - is set round a courtyard with tables, and we had hours of happy conversations with other residents while eating breakfast and dinner. The Hotel is a few minutes from the Port, and not much further from the Vielle Ville, and Promenade des Anglais.
Esther and Luba were helpfulness itself.
Would we stay again? Yes we probably will.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnseasonedWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The hotel is very serene- but you can still walk to the beach or to the old town of Nice in no time. It is also close to the bus and train stations. The owners are very friendly and helpful- they will tell you all the good places to see in Nice and surrounding areas and where to go get good, inexpensive meals. We liked the mini- kitchen in our room- and the pretty patio where guests can hang out. There is wi-fi as well. The price is very good for the accommodation and the location. I would definitely stay there again. enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erinreb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We have just come back from a short break in Nice and we stayed at the delightful Clair Hotel. The hotel is in a good, quiet location and can be used as a good base if you are thinking of visiting either Monte Carlo or Cannes or Grasse. It would also serve as a good place with which to see Nice as it is within 10 minutes walk of the city centre.

The rooms are simple and functional, some of them containing a small kitchenette area and a fridge which was ideal for anything that we bought for breakfast or for when we retuned from the days out.

Luba and Esther, the owners, gave us a fantastic service. Nothing was too much for either of them. They gave us great advice and recommendations about restaurants in which to eat and places of interest to go in and around the area. Luba was great when we had to change our room with very short notice and was very accomodating and it was completed with the minimum amount of fuss.

You provide your own breakfast and there is a supermarket 1min walk away from the hotel. Breakfast can be eaten in a fantastic little courtyard that catches the sun from quite early. The owners provide all of the cutlery and plateware that you require.

We would have no reservations about staying at this hotel again in the future for the next time that we come to Nice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_Hove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We had a lovely stay in april 2010, myself, my mother and my baby son. Luba and Esther really took care of us and made us feel at home. The sun came out and breakfast in the courtyard was a highlight and all the local tips Luba gave us were invaluable. We enjoyed our chats! There is an Irish connection in here too!

The private courtyard made a safe space to have a glass of wine at night and have chats- as most of the rooms lead on to it. For families with babies, there is a flight of stairs up to the room which meant a bit of buggy carrying but other than that, a lovely affordable place to stay in Nice. An old schoolhouse, the place had a timeless feel to it- not plush but clean and spacious. The walk to the old town is about 20 minutes but there is an excellent cheap bus too. We only had a weekend but there is lots to do locally and places to visit. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Stayed in October 2009, based on reviews from tripadvisor. About a 20 minute walk from the bus station after catching a bus from the airport. Husband and wife owners were friendly and very helpful with information. We were surpirsed taht there were a number of studenst staying, felt a bit like a hostel, but fortunately they did not disturb us too much. The room was basic, but had the necessities, including a kitchenette. One concern was that the tiled floor was dirty, and didn't seem to be cleaned during our 3 night stay. Handy to supermarket, boulangerie for breakfast, bus to Monaco & Eze, but a good 20 minute walk into the old part of Nice, a little further than we had anticipated.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing