We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Nice Centre Gare
Ranked #72 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We booked this as a last minute trip to Nice in August, so there was very little choice and prices were sky high! Good value overall, you get what you pay for I suppose. The location is good next to the rail station and opposite the airport bus stop, however there were a few groups of "undesirables" hanging around nearby. We had no problems but we were still careful. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the old town and beach or 5 minutes on the tram. The rooms are very small here and the bathrooms tiny! But then you wouldn't want to spend much time in them anyway. It was hot outside but the air con seemed to work reasonably well although the public areas were hot. There is a small outdoor pool which always seemed busy. Most restaurants and bars are towards the old town but we enjoyed back after dinner in the evening through the streets and there is a supermarket opposite the rail station.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allurehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Nice Centre Gare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Clean, compact rooms, hotel convenient for the train station.
Only criticisms, staff 'disappeared' when the fire alarm went off late at night, no communication and all a bit disorganised. Oh and payment method caused my credit card to be blocked... however this did not adversely affect our stay.
Area surrounding the hotel is the rough end of town, however walk for a few mins and you can be on the main high street, some great restaurants within walking distance on Rue Alsace-Lorraine.
Overall, a good stay, and hotel is value for money. Breakfast not bad either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank TomP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I chose this hotel because of its location a few minutes easy walk from the main railway station (I was transiting through to Corsica). Although the surrounding area is fairly grubby, this Ibis hotel is very pleasant: friendly reception staff, nicely decorated throughout, clean (though bijou!) rooms and a comfortable bed. The tramline (1 euro) into central Nice is just a few minutes stroll away, though the easy 10-15 minute walk into town is an enjoyable way to take in the sights and sounds.

Room Tip: For my second night I was put in room 706. This, and presumably adjacent rooms, are overlooked by th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cataloger_of_ships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Conveniently located next to the train station & easy walking distance to the tram. the area isn't great but just use common sense & you'll be fine. The rooms are small but functional for a couple of days. We did have some issues with our stay when we returned from dinner one night to water pouring out the hotels main air conditioning unit onto the escalators, The front desk informed us there was a issue with the whole hotels a/c unit & it will be fixed that night. At 36 degrees with a tiny window in our room we couldn't stay in our room as it was just too hot & opted to sit in the lobby/bar drinking cold water for hours- I felt sorry for the bartender & front desk. Thankfully we checked out the next morning because the a/c & escalates still weren't working

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Escalor access not very practical for people with disabilities. Both were out of order when leaving the hotel, not very easy with a heavy suitcase.
Excellent access to rail station, bus and tram stops, but area a bit dubious, especially at night. People shpuld be aware for their own safety, looking after possessions and walking on the main road rather than the side streets after dark.
A practical location for my one night stay with a group of colleagues , but would not stay they out of choice due to the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank carole207492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed at the Ibis on a business trip. We were working in Cannes and needed to be close to Nice station. This is right next door!
The rooms are very small, as is the bathroom but it's clean and functional. The staff are great - very helpful.
If I came Nice on holiday I wouldn't stay here as its not in a great area and it's very basic but for the week we were here with work it served our purpose. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, Except to sleep and actually the beds were comfy. If I here with my husband the room would be too small but for one it's fine.
I'm sure we'll be back next year to stay with work but for a personal visit I'd stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms ending in An odd number look out towards the mountains and the city and have the best view...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Nice gare is conveniently adjacent to the station. The rooms are very clean and quite big enough. Reception the day I went was not exactly over friendly . The breakfast is excellent quality you can eat as much as you like. Overall a very good value hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank zebeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Riquier
Ibis Nice Palais des Congres Vieux Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Servotel Saint-Vincent
#19 of 204 in Nice
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arenas / Airport
Ibis Styles Nice Airport Arenas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Nice Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nice Centre Gare

Address: 14 avenue Thiers | Nice Cedex 1, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £50 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Nice Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Nice Centre Gare hotel is next to the railway station, and 5 km from the airport. The hotel has 199 air-conditioned rooms, with Wifi Internet access, including 7 adapted for disabled persons. The ik lounge restaurant, a terrace, a swimming pool, a bar, a snack service 24/24, pay parking and 5 seminar rooms are at your disposal. The old city of Nice and its castle, the Musée d'Art Moderne, the opera house and the national theatre of Nice are only 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Nice Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Nice Centre Gare Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing