We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Nice Centre Gare
Ranked #71 of 203 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 November 2013

location wise it is excellent but the room was slightly cramped though we booked ac rooms the ac was not very effective on the plus side you are walking distance from everything you would want when travelling in nice

Room Tip: there are two elevators on straight into the restaurant area in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceygoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you want five star luxury and can afford it this hotel is not for you.
However if you are on a tight budget you can probably not do better than this.rail station nearby as is the airport bus stop so no lugging heavy cases round town. Good all you can eat breakfast can set you up until the evening .if you on a really tight budget try eating at Flunch next to the station a self service restaurant.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank zebeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Bedrooms: they are small, but well designed and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have experienced in a hotel. There was a air conditioning unit on the wall that was noisy at night even when switched off!

The smell: The building is part hotel, part multi-storey car park. Reception is on the first floor reached by an escalator. The area outside the reception is shared by people paying for parking. There is a locked gate with stairs descending to the ground floor and presumably the lower parking area. This is the source of the stench of urine. It's not some days, it's every day. My guess is that homeless people, clearly in evidence close by, use the parking area as a urinal. It's a shocking situation, and almost unbelievable that a company like Ibis can't sort it out. The manager must be aware, the area manager must be aware, but I wonder if Head Office knows. If you are reading this, Mssr Ibis, perhaps you could post an explanation.

Room Tip: Go high - 7th or 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sphinxee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

An excellent location for railway station, airport and local buses, also handy for the Tourist Office. As previously mentioned, this is not the nicest part of town but on the plus side only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the promenade and old town.

It is true that there was an unpleasant smell at the hotel entrance but once inside that disappeared. Check in was easy and all Reception staff spoke good English. We were advised on meal times, safety deposit box, pool opening etc…

Our room was located on the 7th floor, first impressions on opening the door was how small/compact it was, hardly any space between the door opening and the bed. The same applied to the bathroom, shower unit very small, no space in which to store toiletries, or hang more than one towel. Our room overlooked a tall office block and unless we pulled the blind there was no privacy. The bathroom window was clear apart from some small frosted panels in the middle so we resorted to hanging a towel over it! On a positive, the bed was very comfortable and the whole hotel was spotless

On the whole I would recommend this hotel for people staying over on business and only for a couple of nights. As we were a couple staying for 4 nights, the lack of space and inability to natural daylight started to take its toll and for this reason I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not overlooked (if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

As its name implies, this hotel is located immediately adjacent to the main railway station in Nice, which makes it handy for railway staff on their layovers. Bus 99 from/to the airport stops outside (scheduled journey time - 15 minutes). Bus 23 also serves the airport from a bus stop nearby but while the cost of this may be cheaper, the journey takes 30 minutes. The area is a little run down but the hotel facilities are good, the rooms clean and the reception staff welcoming. Although the hotel offers a restaurant, there is a good selection of restaurants nearby. The main area for restaurants, however, is the old town some 15 minutes walk away (quicker by tram).

I am normally a supporter of Ibis hotels as they are so dependable in that normally you know what you get for the price you pay. At this location, however, we were surprised that while the hotel offers a bar service "24/24", we only managed to buy a drink on one night as very often there were no staff to hand, indeed on one occasion wanting a drink after a long day touring, we were completely ignored by the two staff at the bar (we went elsewhere).

On our final day, breakfast service seemed to fall apart. We arrived at 0900 (peak time in most hotels) and clearly no table clearing had been done in readiness - there were no glasses for fruit juice, no cereal bowls, no knives and many items clearly needed topping up, while just one or two staff idled around. All changed when I pointed this out to a woman who appeared in a suit but I still had to tell three staff members over a period of several minutes that I was waiting for a knife. Furthermore, one of the idlers then proceeded to clean several tables twice without them being occupied! I hope this was a one-off as I would hate to think this was the norm for this location.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here for four nights earlier this month because I like the Ibis chain and it's next to the station (I had a lot of luggage). Everything was absolutely fine but I have a few comments to make:

there was a horrible smell of wee at the entrance

the bathroom was so small I couldn't move in it

breakfast was chaotic - things kept running out because the place was so busy and the staff weren't watching to see what needed refilling - the restaurant manager needs to keep a closer eye on things

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veetee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SEAN PHILIP F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Riquier
Ibis Nice Palais des Congres Vieux Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comte de Nice
#150 of 203 in Nice
773 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Nice Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Nice Centre Gare

Address: 14 avenue Thiers | Nice Cedex 1, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Nice Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Nice Centre Gare hotel is next to the railway station, and 5 km from the airport. The hotel has 199 air-conditioned rooms, with Wifi Internet access, including 7 adapted for disabled persons. The ik lounge restaurant, a terrace, a swimming pool, a bar, a snack service 24/24, pay parking and 5 seminar rooms are at your disposal. The old city of Nice and its castle, the Musée d'Art Moderne, the opera house and the national theatre of Nice are only 2 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Nice Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Nice Centre Gare Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing