We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Nice, the hotel is just not that important!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Ranked #75 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I visited Nice in the springtime with family. Nice is of course full of wonderful hotels but this time we were looking for best value. The Lafayette Nice provided decent value. The hotel is cosy and small, a bit worn out but clean, safe and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome which is so important.
Well located with a walking distance to all the wonderful breakfast cafes, the beach promenade, the shops, the restaurants and the market. The tram - my favourite form of easy transportation in cities - is very nearby.
In Nice you can easily enjoy yourself even if the hotel is not that luxurious - however, on my next trip to Nice I might look for a luxury hotel for a great luxurious French escape!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pepromene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

Nice clean hotel, great location, helpful staff, good breakfast and WiFi that works perfect! We will come back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoaWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

As usual, before we book a hotel, we check with trip advisor reviews. In this case we were dissapointed at the standard of this 'hotel'. We thought the room was quite dirty and not very clean at all. We also found ants on the dressing table next to the tea and coffee. We also think we were either bitten in bed by bed bugs or ants. My husband took the 10euros breakfast and I didn't.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The only advantage that we can say is that it is pretty central

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lanzaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The hotel is very good. We stayed there for several days and were very happy with the choice. The room was very big, with 2 double beds and enough space to accommodate up to 4 people. I m not sure if it was a standard room. Perhaps they just ran out of standard doubles and had to give this room to 2 people. In any case we were very pleased. Pleasant and helpful staff. Fresh towels every day. Immaculately clean bathroom. Safe deposit box in the room free of charge. Beds were really comfortable! There was a PC in the lobby for all guests to use, again no charge. A bit of noise from the street, but not much though to really disturb your sleep (except for the Saturday night, but hey, it s a Saturday night in a late night city! Superb location! 3 minutes to get to the old town and 5 min to walk to the nearest beach. We did not have breakfast, so I can not comment on breakfast at the Lafayette. I d recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We only stayed in Nice for one night but the hotel was very well located and clean as well. People were a little rowdy Saturday evening and so we heard a lot of noise but the room and the service was great, no compaints there! The room and bathroom were spacious and we were well received by staff. The breakfast, which was 9 euros, is a little expensive but there was a lot of choices (boiled eggs, ham, bread, juice, coffee, cereal...I'm sure I'm forgetting something) and was the best we had found from all the other hotels who offered breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and would definatly stay again.

The location was great, the standards were great, clean bedding and towels every day. The staff EXTREMELY helpfull and over all a pleasure to stay.

My ONLY only slight gripe would be the noisy toilets but apart from that l slept well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Lafayette for nine days in late February 2011. We used Nice as a base for day trips to Antibes, Monaco, Vence, etc. We had reserved a larger double but were upgraded to a triple, probably because the hotel wasn't full at that time of year. The room was enormous and the bathroom was the largest I've seen in a comparable hotel. We had a room facing the main street and if you are bothered by some street noise, request a different room. It doesn't bother us and wasn't that noisy anyway.

We had a problem with the wireless internet at first and the staff worked hard to rectify the problem. They called their IT people to come and check the system. Before that though, the staff went across the street to get the wi fi code from the Hotel Verdun, which we could tap into. There was a desktop computer in the hall which was a nice perk.

We didn't get the 10 Euro hotel breakfast. Every morning we walked around the corner to a fabulous bakery and bought breakfast.

It was an easy walk to the old town where there were many restaurants. We always felt safe. The hotel is near major bus stops (to Monaco, Vence, etc.) and the tram on the Place Massena.

The only drawback was the two short flights of stairs leading up to the hotel. I knew this in advance though and the hotel was worth it, despite my bad knee.

The hotel's motto is "small and friendly" and it lives up to that description.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hope K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#70 of 204 in Nice
156 reviews
Centre
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#61 of 204 in Nice
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#108 of 204 in Nice
249 reviews
Centre
Hotel de Verdun
Hotel de Verdun
#107 of 204 in Nice
306 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#82 of 204 in Nice
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lafayette Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lafayette Nice

Address: 32 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £53 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lafayette Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lafayette Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing