We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in Nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice in Nice.”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Staff very helpful after we dragged our bags up the stairs to reception. The position is great, close to beach, plaza & old city.
The room was good value for money even though the shower is a tight squeeze!
I can commend the young staff very highly. Their English was excellent & they went beyond the call to make sure our needs were met.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo9545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    139
    43
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
94
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This lovely small and friendly hotel is located right off Place Massena and so it is in the heart of Nice and is accessable to every where. The tram runs up and down Jean Medecin and is just a block from the hotel. This tram will take you to the bus station, the train station, shopping etc.

Within walking distance of the hotel is the beach, the Promenade des Englaise, the beaches, the shops including the Gallery LaFayette.
The hotel itself is exceptionally clean and well cared for. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is 10 Euros but it is worth it because it includes, yoghurt, eggs, toast, croissants, meat, cheese, cereal and coffee. To get this anywhere else would cost far more than 10 Euros.

Our room was large with two double beds and a large bathroom that included a tub. What more could one ask for.

People with disabilities need to know that there is no elevator to the first level of the hotel where the rooms are. This is the only negative.

Other than that, a five star hotel in my books.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the type of room you want. I specified a bathtub and got it. I specified two be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voconnor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcbenz34
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Don't try to check in during rush hour like we did...this is in a busy part of the city! It's a nice hotel and everything is within walking distance, and you're close to a bus stop (which we didn't try, but it only 1 euro to ride, even to Monaco). We parked at one of the 3 parking spots that the Hotel has in an underground parking lot around the corner. Ask to reserve a spot if you have a car because they are limited. Breakfast was okay, but we figured it would be better than hitting the streets and fending for ourselves. Friendly staff, alright accomodations, updated bathrooms, GREAT wifi signal, and good location. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room that doesn't face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcbenz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My daughter and I have just returned from a 3 day break in the south of France and our base was the Hotel Lafayette in Nice. We found the hotel to be welcoming, clean and fresh with friendly and very helpful staff. It is small but compact. The bedrooms are all air conditioned, roomy and serviced daily. There are tea making facilities,a hairdryer, a safe and free wireless internet conection - what more could we want?!! More importantly, the situation is perfect - a 2 min walk to the tram (from which you can access the bus and train station) - 2 mins to the fabulous and bustling shopping centre / retaurants - 3 mins to the beach and a 6/7 min walk to the old town - perfect! Whilst in the old part, a must is a meal in the restaurant 'La Favola' (13 cours saleya). The food is fabulous and so reasonable. We had to queue (Sat night) but it was SO worth it!
Breakfast in the hotel was an extra 10 euros per day - we decided against this as our own preference was to to get out early and breakfast later, so I can't comment on the value of this.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a good base to explore this luxurious coastline!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I visited Nice in the springtime with family. Nice is of course full of wonderful hotels but this time we were looking for best value. The Lafayette Nice provided decent value. The hotel is cosy and small, a bit worn out but clean, safe and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome which is so important.
Well located with a walking distance to all the wonderful breakfast cafes, the beach promenade, the shops, the restaurants and the market. The tram - my favourite form of easy transportation in cities - is very nearby.
In Nice you can easily enjoy yourself even if the hotel is not that luxurious - however, on my next trip to Nice I might look for a luxury hotel for a great luxurious French escape!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepromene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Nice clean hotel, great location, helpful staff, good breakfast and WiFi that works perfect! We will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoaWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

As usual, before we book a hotel, we check with trip advisor reviews. In this case we were dissapointed at the standard of this 'hotel'. We thought the room was quite dirty and not very clean at all. We also found ants on the dressing table next to the tea and coffee. We also think we were either bitten in bed by bed bugs or ants. My husband took the 10euros breakfast and I didn't.
We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The only advantage that we can say is that it is pretty central

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanzaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#72 of 205 in Nice
130 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#99 of 205 in Nice
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#78 of 205 in Nice
180 reviews
Centre
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#64 of 205 in Nice
477 reviews
Hotel Vendome
#35 of 205 in Nice
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lafayette Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lafayette Nice

Property: Hotel Lafayette Nice
Address: 32 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lafayette Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lafayette Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing