We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Ranked #81 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel Lafayette was very well situated for sightseeing in Nice. It was just 1-1/2 blocks from Place Massena and the Massena tram stop, which can take you from the train station to the bus station for all needed connections. It was a quick 10 minute walk to the beach promenade and 15 minutes to the open-air markets of the Old Town and Cours Salea restaurants. There are also many places to eat around Place Massena. The room was a double w/bath. It was quite spacious, but the bath was pretty small. The windows were double-pane, so it was quiet. The room had air-conditioning which worked well. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. They all spoke english. Our room was cleaned and new towels left each day. There was a community computer for guest use. The hotel has no elevator, but all the rooms are just one floor up from street level. The neighborhood was safe and had cafes and local markets to choose from. I did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment here. Overall Hotel Lafayette was worth the price (88 euros/ night).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atravelingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Mid October of 2011. We arrived by bus 99 from the airport to the train station and took the tram to Massena as we had read that this was a good area. The hotel is about a block away from the Massena stop and within a five min. walk to the old town/beach. We arrived around 9am and did not have a reservation. We were offered a room for 85 euros plus 5 euros pp/pd for breakfast, there is also a 90 cent/day room tax that was also added on. Apparently the rates had just dropped as we were told that we was not going to be able to find a better room rate and that breakfast was usually 10 euros pp/pd. We asked to see the room which was being cleaned but we were allowed to check in with in fifteen min. This hotel is in a great location and with the tram being a block away you can go anywhere in the city you want within a few mins. The room was clean and for European standards was quite large. We actually had a real queen size bed which was nice and comfortable and not 2 twins pushed together which is usually the case. The room had free wifi and if you didn't bring your own laptop there was one available to use in the main hallway. The room was ensuite with a toilet and sink in one room and a shower and sink in another room. There was also a small balcony with a couple of chairs but the view was of a graveled rooftop. We had an inside room and there was no problem with noise. The five euro breakfast was your basic coffee/tea, croissant, cereal, and sliced ham and cheese. Nothing to get excited about. If we had paid the 10 euro per person rate we would not have been happy and neither would you. The staff was friendly and our room was cleaned everyday. Check out was a little chaotic as the rate we agreed upon at check in somehow didn't jive with their books and even though the desk clerk agreed to fix our bill we had to wait for 15 min. for him to adjust all his paperwork before he would check us out. Over all you could not beat the price for what we got and we would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TACOB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Staff very helpful after we dragged our bags up the stairs to reception. The position is great, close to beach, plaza & old city.
The room was good value for money even though the shower is a tight squeeze!
I can commend the young staff very highly. Their English was excellent & they went beyond the call to make sure our needs were met.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo9545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This lovely small and friendly hotel is located right off Place Massena and so it is in the heart of Nice and is accessable to every where. The tram runs up and down Jean Medecin and is just a block from the hotel. This tram will take you to the bus station, the train station, shopping etc.

Within walking distance of the hotel is the beach, the Promenade des Englaise, the beaches, the shops including the Gallery LaFayette.
The hotel itself is exceptionally clean and well cared for. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is 10 Euros but it is worth it because it includes, yoghurt, eggs, toast, croissants, meat, cheese, cereal and coffee. To get this anywhere else would cost far more than 10 Euros.

Our room was large with two double beds and a large bathroom that included a tub. What more could one ask for.

People with disabilities need to know that there is no elevator to the first level of the hotel where the rooms are. This is the only negative.

Other than that, a five star hotel in my books.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the type of room you want. I specified a bathtub and got it. I specified two be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank voconnor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Don't try to check in during rush hour like we did...this is in a busy part of the city! It's a nice hotel and everything is within walking distance, and you're close to a bus stop (which we didn't try, but it only 1 euro to ride, even to Monaco). We parked at one of the 3 parking spots that the Hotel has in an underground parking lot around the corner. Ask to reserve a spot if you have a car because they are limited. Breakfast was okay, but we figured it would be better than hitting the streets and fending for ourselves. Friendly staff, alright accomodations, updated bathrooms, GREAT wifi signal, and good location. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room that doesn't face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcbenz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My daughter and I have just returned from a 3 day break in the south of France and our base was the Hotel Lafayette in Nice. We found the hotel to be welcoming, clean and fresh with friendly and very helpful staff. It is small but compact. The bedrooms are all air conditioned, roomy and serviced daily. There are tea making facilities,a hairdryer, a safe and free wireless internet conection - what more could we want?!! More importantly, the situation is perfect - a 2 min walk to the tram (from which you can access the bus and train station) - 2 mins to the fabulous and bustling shopping centre / retaurants - 3 mins to the beach and a 6/7 min walk to the old town - perfect! Whilst in the old part, a must is a meal in the restaurant 'La Favola' (13 cours saleya). The food is fabulous and so reasonable. We had to queue (Sat night) but it was SO worth it!
Breakfast in the hotel was an extra 10 euros per day - we decided against this as our own preference was to to get out early and breakfast later, so I can't comment on the value of this.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a good base to explore this luxurious coastline!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Maz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I visited Nice in the springtime with family. Nice is of course full of wonderful hotels but this time we were looking for best value. The Lafayette Nice provided decent value. The hotel is cosy and small, a bit worn out but clean, safe and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome which is so important.
Well located with a walking distance to all the wonderful breakfast cafes, the beach promenade, the shops, the restaurants and the market. The tram - my favourite form of easy transportation in cities - is very nearby.
In Nice you can easily enjoy yourself even if the hotel is not that luxurious - however, on my next trip to Nice I might look for a luxury hotel for a great luxurious French escape!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pepromene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#66 of 203 in Nice
504 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#65 of 203 in Nice
164 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Hotel Vendome
#47 of 203 in Nice
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lafayette Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lafayette Nice

Address: 32 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £46 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lafayette Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lafayette Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing