We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #70 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Leicester,England.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This place has offered us the big surprise of an excellent air con at the level of a four star hotel. And for the price of a promiscuous (no star) hostel! The room was a bit small, it's true, but that's why's got only two stars next to its name. Apart from that, everything was perfect. Incredibly helpful staff, lovely clean bathroom, 10 min walk to the beach or city centre, restaurants just a few yards down the street (also not recommended - arrogant waiters on both of them, better walk towards the centre), small supermarket around the corner. Overall a lovely hotel which can secure an underground safe parking as well if you like driving along the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back garden. Noisy tourists walk on the street late in night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gus24o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    198
    54
    11
    12
See reviews for
72
203
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel was okay. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and they cleaned the room everyday. No elevators but they were very helpful bringing one of the luggages up. Breakfast was not included but you can have breakfast there for either 6 or 7 euros per person. It was also great that they let us put our water bladder in their freezer. Staff was very helpful and nice. They also provided towels and umbrellas for the beach. Overall the place was fine. Wi-fi included.

We went to the grocery store to buy pastries for breakfast and fruits. Overall France was okay. We just stayed in Nice and also went to Villefranche Sur Mer for the beach. The beach was pretty but the water was cold. People and staff at the hotels spoke English but in general we were told that the French people are too proud of their language and will not speak English. A French woman who spoke good English told us this.

If you don't like the beach, it is not the place to go.

If you don't speak ANY French, it is hard to get around France. I would never go back to France.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirasolPapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Well we arrived at midnight (because our train did not get in until late) and caught a cab to the hotel because the area at night looked really shady. So when we got to the hotel it was locked and there was no one in sight. We hit a call button on the box outside and was immediately connected with one of the staff, which I must say was a relief. There was a little mix up at first but then we were given a code to get in, told what room we were in and were told the key was in our room. Wonderful. We were on the top floor and was not excited there was no lift (minor set back, nothing serious...I got my exercise).

The hotel room itself was pleasant, renovated bathroom (loved it!), cable TV and Free WiFi...nice touch. The headboard of one of our beds did fall apart and we had a good laugh about it. This hotel is good for adventurous people on a budget and looking for convenience. The beach was a short 10 minute walk away as was Old Town and some wonderful restaurants.

The staff was very helpful and gave us great tips on where to go and how to get there...the manager also advised us (without actually saying not to go) not to venture into Italy as there was a revolution going on...great tip! We wanted to go to Eze and the manager gave us a bus schedule and told us where to catch it. HAD A BLAST!

Everyone was knowledgeable about Nice and the surrounding cities. Overall it was a good experience and we had nothing really to complain about.

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclement04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStarNice, Directeur général at Star Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
We are constantly receiving 7 to 11 p.m.
Guests arriving later can have the code and room number on request

I encourage disabled people to contact us to get a first floor room.
We will do our best to make this hotel became one of the best in its class.

Please note that in reality it was foreigners who wanted to cross the Italian border to arrive in France and it was not a revolution.

This summer is a paradise, we wish to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

It's a 15 minute walk from the train station, and has no lift so if you have very heavy bags it may be a chore. However during our 2-night stay we found Hotel Star quite conveniently placed - a walk or brief tram ride to the seafront - with small but adequate room and ensuite, and free Wifi. The breakfast wasn't fabulous, but the usual continental type. The staff were very friendly though, and helpful when we asked about various things such as day-trips to Monaco etc. All in all, at 72 euros a night, we thought not bad for Nice. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

While it may not be the fanciest place or have the most amenities, the Star had everything we felt we needed. I mean, in the French Riviera, we really only ask for a bed and a clean washroom/shower, as we did not spend a minute of our waking hours in the hotel anyways. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially Johan), spoke English well, and were happy to loan us beach towels for the day. They also had outlet adapters available to borrow for a nominal fee when we realized the one we brought wouldn't fit it in their sockets.

The bed was too firm, and the room is dated, but it was spacious (room 33 I believe), had a small balcony overlooking a side street, and the A/C was a blessing. The shower and sink were large and clean. No lift, so I got a good workout with our suitcases (Johan helped), so beware of this if your abilities are less, although I'm sure the staff would kindly help you anyway.

Unless people are really particular about the esthetics of their hotel rooms, I don't see why this hotel can't be adequate as a home base while exploring the French Riviera.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oiler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This nice clean two star hotel is close the shopping and 10 minutes walk from the old town. I was very impressed by the manager, I was travelling on my new motorbike and he rang round and found parking for me. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonCHBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

I cannot speak highly enough of the friendly manager on the desk, who went out of his way to answer every question and provide an efficient but not intrusive service. The hotel is very good value for money, and ideally placed between the railway and bus stations, so great as a base for exploring the more expensive places like Monte Carlo (1 euro single on a bus route that winds around the coast). I will definitely be coming back here next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGolarso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#98 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#87 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Danemark
#75 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#67 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 14 rue Biscarra, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Nice
#30 Family Hotel in Nice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the Hotel Star is just a 10 minute walk from the historic quarter and the beaches. It is surrounded by restaurants, shopping and activities. Public transportation and parking is only 100 yards away. Hotel Star offers 24 soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen cable TV and bathtub or shower. Some of the rooms have a small balcony. Baby equipment is available upon request. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing