We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are what make this hotel”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #78 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Location is within easy walking distance to main attractions in Nice and to train station (which is where we got the airport shuttle and train to Monaco). Staff are what make the hotel. Alfredo was very helpful and provided us with suggestions on places to eat, what to see in our 3 days and how to get around. Paid breakfast was good, but we didn't always know the night before when they wanted confirmation whether we were going to eat there. Our air conditioning didn't work and there wasn't much they could do to fix it. They did loan us a fan though.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are smaller then the ones at the back. But, the ones at the back have to occasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TorontoBlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with my mom and we were really happy with the hotel. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was simple, nothing exciting, but it was exactly what we needed as we didn't plan to spend a lot of time in our hotel room. We didn't get the breakfast there ( from what we saw it wasnt worth it, just bread coffee and juice) and there were plenty of places within walking distance. Overall a great location!! Could walk to train station, beach, center of town, really everywhere! The hotel also provided free towels to use at the beach which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The location was good, staff were wonderful,. room clean but it all needs updating. No lift needs noting as we were on third floor for two weeks and though they carried our cases up.. 60 stairs to get to breakfast, up and down 3 times a day was hard going for mature couple. No shelves for clothes, one small wardrobe with no other space for clothes so they had to remain in suite cases. (Which had to be left on the spare bed as there was no space for them on the floor) Only a small room and tiny bathroom worst of all with shower curtain not screen. Value for money in Nice, but expensive for a two star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStarNice, Directeur général at Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for this message.

Different kind of rooms are available so you can change it during your stay.

Please inform us when you are at the hotel.


Kind Regards.


Yoann - Star Hôtel**

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Basic hotel but excellent value for money! The staff are the most friendly people i've ever met, explained Nice to us back to front. The rooms are small, but we didn't spend much time in them anyway. we got to borrow beach equipment for free, and the breakfast was very reasonable.

Location is good. 10 minutes walk from train station, and 10 minutes walk from the beach and the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonymchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Great location. Room reasonable size and clean. Great breakfast. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Only problem no lift ... especially when you travel with too much luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriahpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This place has offered us the big surprise of an excellent air con at the level of a four star hotel. And for the price of a promiscuous (no star) hostel! The room was a bit small, it's true, but that's why's got only two stars next to its name. Apart from that, everything was perfect. Incredibly helpful staff, lovely clean bathroom, 10 min walk to the beach or city centre, restaurants just a few yards down the street (also not recommended - arrogant waiters on both of them, better walk towards the centre), small supermarket around the corner. Overall a lovely hotel which can secure an underground safe parking as well if you like driving along the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back garden. Noisy tourists walk on the street late in night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gus24o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel was okay. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and they cleaned the room everyday. No elevators but they were very helpful bringing one of the luggages up. Breakfast was not included but you can have breakfast there for either 6 or 7 euros per person. It was also great that they let us put our water bladder in their freezer. Staff was very helpful and nice. They also provided towels and umbrellas for the beach. Overall the place was fine. Wi-fi included.

We went to the grocery store to buy pastries for breakfast and fruits. Overall France was okay. We just stayed in Nice and also went to Villefranche Sur Mer for the beach. The beach was pretty but the water was cold. People and staff at the hotels spoke English but in general we were told that the French people are too proud of their language and will not speak English. A French woman who spoke good English told us this.

If you don't like the beach, it is not the place to go.

If you don't speak ANY French, it is hard to get around France. I would never go back to France.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirasolPapini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#109 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Hotel Danemark
#72 of 203 in Nice
186 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#92 of 203 in Nice
261 reviews
Riquier
Hotel Relais Acropolis
Hotel Relais Acropolis
#57 of 203 in Nice
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: 14 rue Biscarra, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Nice
#18 Family Hotel in Nice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £33 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, the Hotel Star is just a 10 minute walk from the historic quarter and the beaches. It is surrounded by restaurants, shopping and activities. Public transportation and parking is only 100 yards away. Hotel Star offers 24 soundproof and air-conditioned rooms with flat-screen cable TV and bathtub or shower. Some of the rooms have a small balcony. Baby equipment is available upon request. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing