We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bon et du mauvais”
Review of Hotel plaisance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel plaisance
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is not as bad as some of the reviews but there are good and bad points so I will try and help you make you mind up based upon my experience.
Location: From the airport take bus 99 to central station Gare. The fare is 6 euros. It’s really close to the station and within minutes by walking. It’s about 10 – 15 minute walk to the beach and located just off the main shopping street near H&M. Very good location.
Staff: Really friendly and helpful staff, they are always on hand to help and very friendly. The only word of caution is the night man, if you come back late don’t ring on the bell he won’t hear you. You have to literally bash on the door for him to wake up.
Cleanliness: Extremely poor cleanliness. Have to agree with other reviews, very stained and dirty carpets. Dusty rooms but sheets and linen clean and good quality.
Bathroom: Tiny shower and no complimentary toiletries so take your own. They just provide and bar of soap. Water temperature and pressure was good.
Rooms: Tiny rooms, can’t open the balcony door because the bed is in the way. Tiny TV and no English channels. Safe did not work. 2 plug sockets. Storage for clothes. No iron but you can hire one but only from 8am – 12noon.
Price: Hotel tariff is 65 Euro but late rooms and budgetrooms do the rate for 45 euros a night.
Overall, you get what you pay for. Remember this is 2 star hotel. It’s not terrible but not brilliant. Boarders between a 2 and 3.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is pretty grotty, but adequate for one night, if we had booked for more than one, would have cancelled and gone elsewhere. But you know, it's 2 star for a reason, towels and sheets were clean, just keep you shoes by the bed so you don't have to step on the heavily stained carpets. Handy for train station. No shampoo or shower gel, just small bar of soap, so make sure you bring some.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? I can echo all of the previous negative reviews about this place. It is a clear candidate for "Hotel Hell" with Gordon Ramsey. It is filthy and noisy but cheap and central. In my desperation for a cheap place I made the mistake of staying here.

A few of the highlights:
Our shower ceiling was leaking water from the bathroom above, the soap dish still had soap residue (chunks) left on it, a/c did not work, balcony door does not close completely, carpet has horrible stains throughout hotel (& in room), the headboard has graffiti on it, and the everything needs a scrub & fresh paint/decor. Seriously terrible. The only thing it's missing is a pest problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahewgill06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The room had a very bad planning and needed renovation. The carpet was stinking. The price was cheap compared to other hotels in Nice, but next time I wouldn't go there even if I want to save money. The only advantage - the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitiacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

What I liked?
Central. Next to the main shopping street and the train station.
Wifi internet is available in the room but only allows a single gadget access.

What i didn't like?
Rooms are extremely outdated with poor decor,
Extremely small flat TV (smaller than my ipad).So can't see from the bed,
Shower cubicle tiny and quite dirty,
Air - outdated and does not work
Poor sound proofing so can hear everything from the neighbouring room,

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel ruined my stay in Nice ,filthy, my bed was never made or changed during my entire stay,carpet never cleaned for 8 days;night watchman ' RAJAH' rude and abusive behaviour,stormed into my bedroom at 5.30 am one morning!!!! I wanted to leave ,not much accomodation avail as it was during summer holidays!!The hotel owner such a nice man... staff were useless, acted as if they owned the place!! To top it all left some expensive items behind, phoned hotel next day,staff totally apathetic, refused to help :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Ever been in an old british rail washroom? No then come here and experience embedded grime on the carpet, drip marks of some black liquid on the wall, bathroom partition detaching from the wall, toilet roll held in place with 6 inch wood screw. If you want to shower bring your own shower gel.
This time I have photos so enjoy the views!

Room Tip: Go to the Ibis across the road, I wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luigi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#144 of 204 in Nice
161 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 204 in Nice
137 reviews
Hotel Saint Gothard
#125 of 204 in Nice
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#128 of 204 in Nice
34 reviews
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#138 of 204 in Nice
139 reviews
Hotel des Flandres
#166 of 204 in Nice
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel plaisance

Address: 20 rue de Paris, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £36 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaisance Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing