We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but did the trick!”
Review of Hotel plaisance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel plaisance
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in February at the time of the festival. The hotel is in a great location, close enough to walk to the shops and nightlife but far enough out to be fairly quiet at night. The room was basic but clean. Breakfast was basic but sufficient given the cost. Staff were friendly and spoke good English.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernmonkey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

Is one good 2* hotel, with a very good position : near train station, near Av. Jean Medecin, few minutes to sea, Massena, Old Ville, near a lot of places to eat cheap , even in night.
Very friendly staff. Clean and good furniture for 2*.
I have a room at parter with window in street but was quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belami2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I had booked a twin room in this hotel for 3 nights. When i got there the man on reception was friends and gave us the key. When we got to the room we were shocked. Not only was there only 1 bed, but the room was disgusting. There were stains on the carpet, bed linen and even the walls. I went to reception immediately to explain that we were disattisfied. Initially i just wanted to get a twin room as booked - we were a male and female friends travelling together and did not feel it was suitable tos hare a bed. They said they had no twin rooms availble. I explained that that was what we had been guaranteed and went through the booking sheet with him. He said he was what booking had been made, but there were no twin rooms for the 3 nights we had booked. I asked to speak to the manager. I was told that he could not be reached. I said that in these circumstances and due to the dirtiness of the room we were not prepared to stay at the hotel and would look for alternate accomodation, and were also not willing to pay. He said i would have to take that issue up with LateRooms, who i had booked through. Laterooms were very accomodating, and said they would sort the matter out for us. However, they had to phone back 48 hours later, saying that the hotel had charged me for the reservation as i had agreed with the manager to return for the 2nd and 3rd nights. I had done no such thing, and had not even met the manager! Lateroom are looking into the matter, but overall i am very disattisfied with this experience. Effectively this dodgy hotel has stolen my money for services it did not provide. If visiting Nice, do not under any circumstances book this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We moved to this hotel for two nights after having left another hotel in Nice with which we were dissatisfied. The Hotel Plaisance is a comfortable hotel, nicely situated just of the Avenue Jean Medecin (the main drag). Our room overlooked the street, which is relatively quiet at night. The bed was comfortable, the water hot, the air conditioning functioning properly, the fire precautions satisfactory, and the owner friendly and helpful.
It does look a trifle dowdy in place, but not seriously so. A little TLC and this hotel could verge on a three star. The brochure is a out of date, as they now have no Internet or WiFi. However, there's free WiFi at McDonalds five minutes away.
Continental breakfast is available for €6, although we didn't partake.
For €75 a night, this is a good little hotel, nicely placed. Good value.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinglake23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Well placed for SNCF station. Friendly. I agree with other comments about outside traffic noise., which was substantial Hotel cannot help the HGVs, etc but I saw little sign of the promised sound proofing. Room was cramped with the extra child's bed and could have done with closer attention to cleaning (especially bathroom). Breakfast decent value. Bar area virtually non-existent and lifeless; nothing like as promising as the photos made it appear, albeit it might have had more life in high season. Would I go again? Probably not as I suspect there is better value elsewhere int he city, especially if one paid just a few euros more.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandP_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

we are mid 20's couple who has been travelling round france, we had booked in to this hotel for a break from camping. when we first arrived the receptionist was friendly enough and advised us on where to park as the hotel has no parking. The local underground car park was 20euro a night.

We went up to the room only to find a tiny and very badly decorated room that looked like no one had stayed there for a few months. the dust was an unwelcome feature! The bathroom was minute and shower had no door which meant it flooded when we used the shower.

We immediately decided not to hang around too long, and thought we'd go out to see the sights in Nice. After a long days driving we were looking forward to a good nights sleep, only to find that the mattress was so old that it dipped in the middle to such an extent that it was like sleeping on a hill. Not to mention the walls are like paper - I remember reading something about soundproof walls! The noise from the street was terrible - ok - this isnt the hotels fault, however, the window would not shut properly and rattled every time a bus went past in the night!

To make matters worse - we had a noisy neighbour who had his tele on very load all night.

In the morning we complained about the mattress and the window. The manager quite frankly, couldn't have cared less and even suggested that it was fine and he would sleep in it! We thanked them, checked out and found ourselves another 2 star hotel which in comparison was a palace.

So if you want a crap hotel, hate sleeping at any time of the night, and enjoy being spoken to like you're an ungrateful lodger then stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nathaliedelente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fitchburg, WI
531
Reviewed 3 May 2004

The hotel is situated conveniently near the train station and probably a 15 minute stroll to the beach. The staff was extremely friendly. The wonderful breakfast, served in the lobby, consisted of a croissant, pain au chocolat, and a baguette plus coffee and juice. Our room was adequate, but not luxurious. I'd request a room not on the first floor due to the loud pedestrian, traffic and lobby noise.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#112 of 204 in Nice
47 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Evelia Hotels
Evelia Hotels
#147 of 204 in Nice
76 reviews
Riquier
Hotel des Dames
Hotel des Dames
#102 of 204 in Nice
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#115 of 204 in Nice
249 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#98 of 204 in Nice
140 reviews
Centre
Hotel H33
Hotel H33
#157 of 204 in Nice
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel plaisance

Address: 20 rue de Paris, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £30 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaisance Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing