We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel - just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #53 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel - just average”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I didn't have particularly high expectations as we booked it as somewhere just to rest our heads for two nights. The location is excellent and rooms were fine but we were a bit disappointed with service. Things like having to go and collect an iron and ironing board from reception (and the lift takes AGES so this was a pain) and them never having a plug adapter available throughout the 3 days. We have never stayed in a Best Western before so maybe this is standard policy but for us, it was OK - nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello and sorry we did not meet your expectations although good service is really what we try to do every day of the year.
you are right, at certain times, there is only one person at reception (like many three star hotels) and we ask guests to collect irons directly at reception as it would not be secure to leave reception. i am sorry for this.
as for the plug adapters, we keep buying new ones as many guest do not return them. i will try to find a another system so all adapters are returned to reception.
thank you again
best regards
Denis Frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    535
    159
    37
    21
See reviews for
215
449
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A nice hotel with a good price/quality ratio. Rooms a bit essential but rather comfortable. A nice bathroom. They should probably invest more on cleaning the whole common areas... but an overall good judgement is deserved.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quattoquatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleased!! We requested a room on a higher floor with a balcony if possible, and that is exactly what we received (even during this busy time)! Our room faced the street; however, that was not a problem at all. When the outside doors were closed we could not hear any noise. We arrived a little before check in and the front desk staff greeted us very warmly, and as soon as our room was ready we were allowed to check in. Yes, the elevator is small but we were able to catch it anytime we wanted in the ams or the pms.The room was adequate in size...not large, but not too tiny either and we were able to put our 4 suitcases out of the way. The room and bathroom were clean & comfortable, the front desk staff very friendly & helpful (the best staff of our entire trip including several Marriott resorts!), and the location was ideal! We walked easily to restaurants, the train station, and Promenade des Anglais. This was a perfect place for our time in Nice and whenever we might be back there I would certainly book here again. We did not have breakfast included in our stay, so I cannot comment of the food; however, there were plenty of pastry shops nearby. Thank you all for an ideal stay!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kathym520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our recent stay at this hotel proved to be a great find. Perfectly situated for both the center and the beach. Clean good size bedroom and bathroom. Professional helpful staff and a very good breakfast made this hotel an excellent choice for a five day stay. we would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishguard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Third visit to Nice and second time at this great hotel. Very nice staff and great room service. Fantastic location a few minutes walk to beach, shops, market, eating places etc. Next time we are in Nice we will stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

There’s not much to say about the Best Western Hotel Roosevelt in Nice. If you’ve been to a three-star hotel in Europe, this will seem very familiar. The bedroom is decent but not spectacular, the bathroom exceedingly cramped (you sit on the toilet with a mouthful of sink) the free wi-fi can handle simple tasks but isn’t exceptional, the staff are helpful enough but not particularly warm, and “functional” is the order of the day. If you go in knowing this, with reasonable expectations, I think you’ll be satisfied with the hotel.

The one thing the hotel has going for it is a stellar location. It’s situated within easy walking distance of the railway station (for popping over to Monaco!), Vieux Nice, The Promenade de Anglais, and the tramway. That alone made it worth spending the night in.

TIP: Instead of taking a taxi from the airport, take the #98 bus to stop Albert 1 er, and walk about 8 minutes to get to the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hotel is located in a handy location in the centre of Nice, 15 minutes from the train station by foot and close to all the sites including the momentum of the Tour De France 2013!
Upon entry of the hotel the staff were friendly, helpful and the foyer is in top shape.
We booked a room with a double bed and to be frank it was small, the bed and the room.
My wife and I are average builds and I felt like I was sleeping on a single bed at times.
The room was pretty small to.
Yes there is an odour in the room which I figured was coming from the shower drain.
The other issue was the breakfast.
Coming from 3 other Best Westerns on this trip the Roosevelt was a bit of a let down.
The canned fruit was off and by the 3rd day the cold meat was getting a bit ripe!
The coffee was good and the bread but this is France right?.
Finally the free wifi, get on first thing in the morning because after that forget it.
Drops out every 3 minutes. I tried my ipad, iphone and laptop same deal.

Room Tip: Eat out and spend the 12 Euros in a café.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
hello and thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor
i am sorry that everything was not satisfactory to you.
i understand that you felt the room was quite small, especially by american standards. but France has a new hotel classification since 2012 and our rooms are in average 30% larger than the minimum required in a 3 star hotel.
i am surprised about the breakfast because our fruit salad is fresh and, the "charcuterie"plate, as the hotel is full, is changed 5 or 6 times every morning. i am sorry that you did not report it at reception so we could have done something very quickly. we have improved our breakfast last winter and, traveling myself quite often, i find it very satisfactory for the price.
again, our wifi system is brand new and it was not reported to us that there was a problem recently.
i am, i repeat very sorry. so whenever you decide to come back to Nice, please do not hesitate to contact me direct, and i will make sure that you have a wonderful staY
Best regards
Denis FRACHON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 205 in Nice
767 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Property: Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western FR, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing