We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average-good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #45 of 204 Hotels in Nice
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average-good price”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location-set back just enough to not get all of the noise from the restaurants and stores. It was in walking distance to everything. The rooms were average-nothing wonderful, but not terrible either. The bathroom was okay-had a bit of mold in the shower, water got everywhere when taking a shower-but we didnt mind. the room was small-one of the smallest rooms we had every stayed in in Europe-but we only slept there so we didnt care. We had the breakfast included, nice selection and the food was good. All in all the hotel was in the perfect location and was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyann211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your rewiew.
We are sorry that there was a bit of mold in the shower and that water got everywhere while you were taking the shower.
Our full tile maintenance man changes frequently the sylicon joints in all the rooms. He is actually doing it but the room you were in was not done yet.
If you come back to Nice, do not hesitate to contact me direct to make your booking
Best regards

Lydie Saldo
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    535
    160
    36
    20
See reviews for
214
448
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

This is my first trip to Nice, so, for other first timers, I'd just like to let you know that if you are arriving from the train station, you will have to navigate through some slightly dodgy streets before arriving at Rue Marechal Joffre. But I am glad that this hotel is situated in a nice and quiet area.

I have to commend the staff who made our check-in process smooth and pleasant. In general, interaction with hotel staff is rather pleasant.

The lift is tiny, but enough to get us and our luggage to our floor. So no complaints there. We got the last room at one end of the corridor. I like the decoration of the room, which gives a very "beach" feel.

The only problem I encountered was with the air conditioning, which didn't manage to cool down the room, even when we left it running for hours. We finally complained to the reception on the second day because it was so hot in the room. Unfortunately, it was in the evening by then, and the staff said she will send someone to fix it the next day. True enough, the maintenance guy came by the next morning to fix the air conditioning and appear to get it to work. Unfortunately, by that night (which was our last night), the air conditioning gave up working again. Since we were checking out the next morning, we did not lodge anymore complaints, but appreciated that they knocked off €50 from our bill.

Truth to be told, if not for the air con incident (and that's probably only because I was there during the heatwave), my stay would have been quite perfect. Room is nice and I like the strong shower and fast wi-fi. Hotel is within short walk to Place Masséna where there are many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffee4chipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night before traveling to the airport on a last minute reservation. The room was adequate and standard for a 3 star hotel in France, so i am not sure about the prior negative reviews. The location was ideal. We were able to walk within minutes to all the shopping, the beach, and the beautiful Plaza Massena. The front staff was very helpful. Parking garage was 2 blocks away for 18 euro overnight. It is difficult to find street parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel has all of the amenities you would expect. The staff are attentive and helpful. The shuttle taxi to the airport was a set price, and when the driver tried to charge us more, the receptionist came out of the hotel and explained the proper tariff. And the driver charged us the correct price.

This is the kind of place where the staff go out of their way to help guests. Highly recommended. I have only marked this down because the rooms are a little small. But no so small that it is a problem.

P.s. we did not choose to have breakfast (it's a little pricey). There's a lovely boulangerie about 2 minutes walk away called 'Maitre Pierre', which has the best pain au chocolat ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel it sounds like your experience very much depends on your room, but having said that, I had to rise to the hotel's defence. We stayed for four nights in Room 409 and it was perfect - a corner room with three floor-to-ceiling windows with shutters and balconies - too small to sit on but lovely to stand on and enjoy the view across the trees, the architecture of the apartments opposite, and watch the world going by with big views along four streets.
There is enough traffic - pedestrian and car - to feel like you are in the action, but not enough to bother you or be noisy. The beach is just 5-10 minutes walk. You are just five minutes walk (2 blocks) from a wonderful bakery in the opposite direction to the the uber-touristy and expensive Place Magenta (itself only a few minutes walk and good for a cup of coffee in the morning sunshine) and 10 minutes to Vieux Nice, which we absolutely loved - fantastic food at the morning markets and art and jewellery at night, and beautifully presented shops. If you are looking for somewhere really French but welcoming to eat, try Le Chat Gourmand - lovely food and relaxed atmosphere.
Back to the hotel - we were travelling to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary (although we had my daughter with us) and while I normally stay away from chain hotels because they often seem to lack character, it was hard to find a triple room in Nice. When I booked Hotel Roosevelt, I requested a really nice room because it was for a special event ... and, while nothing could be guaranteed at the time ... they REALLY came through!
We loved our stay. The room was tastefully decorated, the beds were comfy. We had plenty of room for the three of us and there was a little table so we had breakfast each morning in the room (croissants from the afore-mentioned bakery) and even had a picnic dinner one night - bread, cheese, chicken and wine - it was just a nice place to be (and sometimes you - and your wallet - need a break from rich restaurant food).
The common area downstairs was really nice too, and the staff friendly and helpful. I was really happy that this hotel had character too. As the heading says, I really couldn't find fault with anything here. It was a wonderful base and if you can stay in room 409, you won't go wrong!

Room Tip: Room 409 is light, spacious, nicely decorated, has a lovely outlook and you won't be bothered by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3justhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I got a shock when I opened the door to my room, first I thought I had opened teh wrong door and got into a washroom or something. But there was a bed there and a TV on the wall.
I was really expecting a bit more for 138 Euros a night, I'm glad i stayed here one night only and that i spent most of the time elsewhere.
Location is good, walking distance to the main shopping street.
Coffee in the reception should have been complimentary.

Room Tip: Get a room for 2 even though you're staying alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review.
- The 2012 new french hotel classification gives minimum size for rooms for 3 star hotels.
- Minimum size for a single room and bathroom is 11,50 M2 (tolerance 10,40 m2)
- Our smallest single room is 14,88 m2
- The single room you were in was nearly 30% larger than minimum (or more than 40% larger than the tolerance).
I understand that size is very subjective depending which country you live, what type of hotels you have visited etc
But it is very UNFAIR to criticize our room size when it is from 30% to 40% LARGER than the size required for a three star hotel in France. (2012 new hotel classification - (https://www.classement.atout-france.fr).
please also note that the bed is a double bed (140cm wide), that there is a large flat TV, a fridge, a safe and complimentary tea and coffee.
Please let me know when you are back to Nice and I will make sure to upgrade you with pleasure.
best regards
Denis Frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I fully agree with previous review of 247SimonW. It was our third time in this hotel. Location and stuff on the reception are still very good.
Our room was big but with big bubbles on the wallpapers, with black spots of mold and broken plastic accessories in the bathroom. AC is so loud and it doesn't change temperature level!!! It was impossible to sleep with it. Room service is strange... You must be away for the whole day to have cleaned room. Only three times our tea set was refilled, we bought everything by ourself.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octobernew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear sir,
this is the kind of review i hate to reply to. i hate it first because we were not up to the standards. and second because it is your third time at the hotel and your las review was titled : "our hidden secret" with a five star rating.
starting from now, i could either choose to minimize things, or talk about facts, like i always try to do.
facts : yes, there were some parts of mold around the bath tub. there should not be any. our full tile maintenance man, who usually changes the sylicon joints has "forgotten" this room and the maids have not informed him about it. it is totally unforgivable and i have already asked for a complete tour of the hotel bathrooms be complete.
facts : yes there is a part of the wall that is humid in this room. There was a terrible tornado last 25th july for 20mn at 7 am. there was a lot of damage in Nice (roofs missing, trees fallen, cars pushed by water so bad that the mayor has declared a catatrosh state) well, water falling nearly horizontally, there was a leak and this wall went humid. very sorry about it but we are waiting for it to be dry to paint it again.
facts : we supply for free, tea, coffee and biscuits every day in all the rooms, for the last 10 years. i do not understand why there was a problem in your room. our procedure is that the room is cleaned, a first housekeeper checks the room and refills tea coffe etc. then a second housekeeper double checks every room. please note that instead of buying, you could have gone to our breakfast room where there is 24h free coffee, tea, chocolate etc. we also have some more at reception.
sorry about all this. please contact me direct at the hotel to organize your next trip as i do not want to give you such a bad impression.
best regards
denis frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#36 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#19 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Property: Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western FR, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing