We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #67 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days between 15-19 of November 2013. The hotel is in a good and safe location. The bus stop and Nice Ville station are within 7-10mins walk. The main shopping street is close by. Hence accessibility for us was the USP of this hotel.
The staff at front desk was friendly and certain small value adds like complimentary coffee through the day and availability of umbrellas at entrance during rains makes a guest feel that the hotel management has given careful attention to the smallest of value adds.
The only downside that I felt was the room was on smaller side. But for a couple we don't have anything to complain. Overall would stay again in the hotel during future visits to Nice.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vivek1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

thank you very much for writing a review.
i am very pleased that you noticed some of the little things that we try to add, so guests have a little more than in other hotels.
you mentioned free coffee al day, umbrellas. you could have added a scale to weigh luggage, ice cubes, microwave oven and free breakfast for guests who book direct or through our official site.
thank you again
best regards
denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are looking for a hotel just off the main drag, but close to the railway station, beach and main streets, then this hotel is ideal for you.

The road it is situated on is reasonably quiet, and one of the rooms we had overlooked it. We could hear some noise from outside, but it didn't disturb us in any way.

One of the rooms we had was quite compact, but was comfortable enough with 2 single beds, with the other room almost double the size. Unfortunately I can't remeber which one was the bigger, either 201 or 204, sorry!

Initially, we decided to eat out for breakfast and not take up the hotels offer, but after our first morning and comparing prices and value for money, we plumped for the hotel breakfast which had a good spread of hot and cold options, all on a buffet style basis.

The staff were/are really friendly and are happy to make recommendations or help with travel connections i.e. bus times, etc.

If I was coming back to Nice, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for one night in October 2013; our train arrived at 7PM and we had to leave early the next morning to continue our train trip. We selected this hotel because it is walking distance to the train station. The hotel is quite clean, the room very modern and very comfortable and we were not disturbed by outside noise, the staff accommodating, and the morning breakfast quite good.

Because we had to leave early we were the first in the breakfast room that morning; when we left we saw others guest arriving to have their breakfast. The breakfast was buffet style, with cereal, eggs, what have you. I thought the coffee quite good and my wife liked the variety of teas she could select.

This Hotel is located in a commercial area with many shops, restaurants, clubs, and, surprisingly, green areas. If one is visiting Nice for a few days this may be your hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street, we were not disturbed by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Unexpectedly, following the breakdown of a reservation elsewhere, I needed two rooms at short notice and walked into the Best Western Roosevelt. It was an excellent if lucky choice. The service was excellent, the rooms (the last they had) were small but very well done and very comfortable. The cost was very competitive and included one of the best breakfasts I have had anywhere. This is a place to look out for if in Nice, because apart from all that it is in an excellent location

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brians1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We staid for 3 nights. The location is perfect, close to the main streets and restaurants. A walking distance from the beach. Very nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was very tasty and fresh. The only problem was the size of the room and the bathroom. I might go there again but only if I can get a bigger room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Erella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our stay at this hotel began badly but improved after we got a different room .The first room we had (on the first floor) was slightly scruffy, there was noise both from the road outside and from inside the hotel, and the toilet seat had to be held up because it wouldn't stay up of its own accord! Worse, at about 9.30 in the evening, there was a dripping noise from the bathroom: water was coming through the ceiling from an area close to the spotlight. I naturally assumed that someone in the room above had left a bath running, but when I fetched the night porter he indicated that it was a known problem - I think that he said that it was a condensation problem- and he said that it would probably stop after about half an hour. but if it didn't stop we were to come back and he would move us to a different room. It did stop but it began again, albeit at a slower rate, in the morning. Reception said that a technician had been called who would fix it, but I asked for a different room and this we were given. The second room was much better: quieter, nicer and everything worked. The only thing that some people might not like is that there was no bath in either room - just a shower which, at least in the second room was rather small, but it wasn't a problem for us. There are a lot of good things about this hotel: its in a very good location in central Nice, the staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful, the amenities in the room (room safe, coffee-making equipment, fridge) were good, and there was a reasonable breakfast for 12 euros. Had we been given a good room when we first arrived I would probably have given the hotel a 'very good' rating. Value for money, though, was only average but Nice is an expensive city at this time of the year. The ratings below are for the second room we had.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are probably quieter at least as far as street noise is concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V3971RTjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hello and thank you for writing a review.
You are completely right. we had a leaking problem in this particular room and we should have not checked you in. the problem was repaired by our full time maintenance man but your were right to complain.
thank you so much for being very objective about the hotel by writing that there were many good things about it
kind regards
denis Frachon
Manager / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This small hotel is in a perfect location. Close to train station, the promenda and all the other amenities you might need.
The rooms are a good size, very clean with a fridge and kettle.
There is coffee and croissants available most days. Which is a nice extra for a european hotel. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel, as there are a lot bakery's around the area.
The front desk staff is very helpful. Even though the maid's did not speak English, they tried to help where they could.
One minor issue: We had the do not disturbed sign out (as the room did not require cleaning) but the room was made when we got back.
Overall: would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KA1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Many thanks for your review and all the good things about the hotel.
the "do not disturb" is a problem in most hotels : it happens that guest leave their room forgetting the DND sign at the door and are furious when the return to the hotel late afternoon and their room is still dirty. problem is that at this time, all chambermaids are gone !!!
what i have asked to do is call the room just before the last maid leave to ask if the guest wants "service". if the room is empty, i ask them to lcean the room.
So it is all MY FAULT !!! as there is no miracle solution.
thank you again

denis Frachon
Manager / owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#55 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £38 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing