We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stopped over one night in January on the way back from a business trip. Reception was friendly and efficient. The hotel is older (like any in the area) but it seemed to me has had some recent renovations. My room was an "upgraded to superior" twin room on the fourth floor. The one lift is tiny as others have mentioned, so I used the stairs most of the time to avoid waiting around. The bedroom was ok, spacious enough but felt a little tired and I had the impression might have formerly been a smoking room (the whole hotel is non smoking now apparently). The bed was clean and comfortable if you don't mind a low bed with a firmer mattress. The room faced the side street but and was quiet with the windows closed. A couple of bottles of water & coke were provided along with the Nespresso machine and a few pods.The bathroom was modernised and was clean and fairly spacious. Self service breakfast was included and selection was good for continental. Slightly oddly each breakfast place setting was on a tray, presumably to ease quick cleanup, and it didn't bother me. Free wifi was fine in the room and in the breakfast area. I spent the day in town before flying out in the evening and the hotel was happy to check my bag for the day. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was located relatively close to the train station (by taxi) and was a very short walk to the main centre and down to the beach. The service was excellent and staff were very friendly. The room was well appointed with decent beds and we had a comfy sleep. The bathroom was slightly small but ok. We didn't eat at the hotel at all. A pleasant stay and we will stay again next time we are in Nice as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose one at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRocksKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Enjoyed the stay in this hotel. Hotel was clean, service was good. Receptionists had always a smile in their faces and they were more than happy to help of needed. Rooms where a bit small but it did not matter, they were clean and good. Breakfast was really ok and location also good with only a short walk to beach and to train station. I can use this hotel again next time visiting Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just back from a three night stay, room a little small but made up for by sitting area in the Foyer where you can help yourself to hot drinks any time. Very kind and helpful staff from reception to the housekeepers who answered all of our questions like where to catch the navette back to the airport at the end of our stay and at the begining, handing s a plan of the city immediately.
Breakfast buffet very good hot and cold choice to set us up for the day everywhere spotless..
Excellant value and brilliantly located in the centre of the shopping district.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

thank you so much for this really nice review. you are very kind.
i am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its staff. they were very pleased to read your comments you can imagine. so was i !!!
kind regards
denis FRACHON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We chose this hotel from the many Nice hotels on the net. We were influenced by our previous experience of Best Western and were very pleased with our choice. We are two disabled travellers and the staff made every effort to make sure our disabled scooters could be parked safely in reception and recharged. They helped on every occasion to get them both up and down the step into the hotel - really exemplary service. The hotel is close to the old town with numerous eateries and a short step to the parks and promenade. Our room was comfortable and well appointed and, considering our disabilities, with a walk-in shower. Parking was a doddle in the Louvre carpark using an electronic card from the hotel. All in all a splendid hotel - we hope you choose it for your stay - they deserve and will welcome your patronage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked this Hotel over the net as we have never been to Nice before and I am so glad we did, it made our brief stay extra special.

It is only a small hotel compaired to many, but the location and attention to detail made it unique.
It is very central and only 5 mins. walk to the beach one way and the main shopping drag the other.

Our room was on the fourth floor with a small balcony, and came with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge, which was extremely useful. There was even a corkscrew/bottle opener and wine glasses next to the safe.

We didn't have breakfast as we never got up early enough but it did look nice and plentyfull from what we saw.

There is a supermarket just around the corner where we bought bread, cheese and milk and had a picnic on our balcony at lunchtimes as the weather was sunny even in December.

Just by reception there is a microwave, an ice machine, and a drinks and snacks machine. Even scales to weigh your cases if you have overdone your shopping!

There was a supply of English books to borrow to read if you were bored.

There is no bar but we asked the owner if we could sit in the reception lounge with our drinks, bought at the said supermarket and he was fine with that.

The hotel had free wifi but I hadn't taken my laptop, but there was a computer in the reception lounge we were allowed to used and the owner kindly printed of some information we needed.

The receptionists were also brilliant and very helpful and spoke good English if required.

This was one of the most organised and user friendly hotels I have ever stayed in, in France and will certainly stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 708 was lovely and by French standards both the room and bathroom were large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tardis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Definitely a choice to go for in Nice! The hotel is centrally located in a nice area close to everything; the sea, old town, shopping, cinemas, restaurants and 10-15 mintues walk from the railway station (or you can even take a tram if you have a lot of luggage). The room was quiet and spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and functional bathroom with a good shower and a better quality hair dryer than you usually find in most hotels. Free wifi, fridge, kettle for tea and coffee were big bonuses as well as free breakfast for guests who book through their official website.

The breakfast had everything you need to have a good start for your day and there was even a scale to weight your luggage in the lobby area - might be very conviniet for some travellers who love to shop in Nice! Elevator was very small but big enough to fit in one person and a suitcase.

Staff extremely friendly and helpful, felt welcomed to this hotel right away. The lobby already is beautifully decorated, you can lend books and DVDs, read newspapers, watch tv in the lobby and have a little coffee break - absolutely cosy and inviting lobby!

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who puts value on quality, service, cleanliness and central location! Staying at this hotel made my stay in beautiful Nice even nicer! I'll definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadCalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Well !!!
What can i say?
Enormous thank you for your review, considering that you are confirmed writer on tripadvisor and that you have stayed in numerous other hotels in Nice.
it is so rewarding when some guests really see and experience all the little things that we do to give a better service to our guests.
you mentioned everything !!!! ah no! : we have just started to offer breakfast to our guests if they book direct to the hotel, through our official website, or by telephone.
thank you again
hope to meet you during your next stay at the Roosevelt.
kind regards
denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £39 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing