We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location and Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #34 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Location and Excellent Value”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Location is top-rate; a stone's throw away from many of Nice's main attractions. Clean rooms and modern bathrooms. Very agreeable price and some rates incl. a complimentary breakfast buffet (generous by French standards; i.e. more than just bread and jam). Staff was attentive.

My only complaint was that the free Wi-Fi was incredibly and frustratingly slow. If you're going to advertise free Wi-Fi, I would at least make it decent. It was as good as having no Wi-Fi at all if you know what I'm saying.

Other than that, I would say one of the best value for the money in Nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    535
    158
    36
    20
See reviews for
213
446
72
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a 5 night stay here. We usually stay in an hotel nearer the station but tried this one as it is close to the Old Town. The staff were very helpful and since we had booked on the Best Western website breakfast was included. There was a very good range in the buffet. Our room was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, not usually available on the continent. If in town again we would certainly return. Our room was at the back and although view not great it was very quiet.

Room Tip: For quiet night choose the back facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we had Easter weekend here and it was great for walking into Nice and down to get food and shopping.. Very noisy although not a truly busy road. Very small room but clean and bathroom was fine for the weekend - any longer and would have gone a bit stir crazy.

Lift is one person and a suitcase at a push 2 . Staff on reception very helpful . Breakfast was ok but you could probably get better elsewhere with a walk . 5th floor bar missing and a great shame as it needs some social area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aromma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had two separate stays at this hotel recently. An excellent location for getting around Nice in a quiet location too at a very reasonable cost. The rooms were of a good size and clean. We took breakfast on a couple of mornings and this was sufficient for what we needed at a reasonable cost. We found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to return here again if staying in Nice. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald0665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

the best part was the very good location to all the interesting places to see, eat, shop. The breakfast was also quite good. The only problem we faced was during April while we were there, it was a bit warm so we had to open the windows for fresh cool air, the noise coming from outside was pretty loud so we didn't sleep very well. Otherwise all good.

Room Tip: we were 3 adults so there was not much choice for triple rooms. we were very happy with our triple r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NarinSachathep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I think this is an excellent place to be located in the city...within walking distance to everything...including the "Old City", the promenade and the pedestrian street with many high end shops and lots of restaurants. The first room offered was way too small..but that could have been my fault as I opted for two twins rather than a double...my mistake...just too tiny. So we were able to be moved up 2 floors to 402 which had a balcony (basically means you can open the windows) This is a big deal during the "shoulder season" in Europe...because it is too hot for the heaters and too cool for the air con...so they give you nothing...and there is then no fresh air...a big deal for me as I live in So Cal and almost always have the windows open!!! If possible get a corner room...as they appeared to be the largest. The breakfast every day was WAY more than adequate...with many offerings. You could also get some coffee drinks 24/7 from the machines which were good....also ice and some vending machine items. The front desk staff were very helpful...and booked tours/transfers etc. for us....always very helpful!!!! We would go back and stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up....a corner if possible...pay the extra for a bigger room and one with a wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
what can i say? oh yes, a big THANK YOU for your review!!!
i hope to see you again at the Roosevelt, and maybe at our new place in st Jean Cap Ferrat.
best regards
denis Frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As everyone else has written, this is a perfectly located hotel, very close to all the bars and restaurants - it's a "generous" 5 minute walk to Promenade des Anglais but if you don't want to walk in Nice, you have chosen the wrong place to visit!
Very helpful staff, we'd booked a double room, at check in they offered a larger room but a twin - we stayed with the double which in reality was a very small room but that didn't really matter. Hotel was very clean throughout both our room and all the public areas.

Now the bits that stopped me from giving it the top rating. There is only one lift for nearly 50 rooms across 5 floors. The stairs are winding and unsuitable for carrying luggage up. The lift only carries 2 people and a suitcase. Also, my French is poor but I am sure there is a note in the room of a bar on the 5th floor with excellent views over the city. The lift won't take you to the 5th floor so we walked only to find a bed across the top of the stairs so I am guessing the bar isn't there or open! Finally, we had a room overlooking the side street and it was very very noisy throughout each of the 3 nights we stayed. Nothing the hotel can do about this altough double glazed windows might help at the next refurbishment.

Did any of this stop us having a great Easter break? Absolutely not! There are lots of bars and restaurants to chose from (we'd have just liked to finish of our evening out with a drink after dinner) all within walking distance (and yes, you can walk to the Cours Saleya easily and safely from the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moley_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review.
sorry i cannot do any thing about the lift. it is small but cannot be enlarged.
for the noise, i do apologize if it was to loud to you. our windows are sound proofed but it is sometimes very noisy in a city center as there are some traffic noise and restaurants and bars.
sorry again
hope to see you another time.
kind regards
denis Frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#15 of 204 in Nice
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#40 of 204 in Nice
755 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing