We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We choosed Hotel Roosevelt after the positive comments read on Trip Advisor. We were travelling by train and stopped at Nice Ville train station. Hotel is located less than 15 minutes walking distance with luggages. I had to rely on my map though since there is a few Y junctions road to reach the hotel.

Hotel 1st impression was very nice. Rooms are very, very nicely decorated and the bathroom is well maintained. Hotel is located minutes from the tramway line that travels through Nice and minutes of the famous Promenade des Anglais. There is tons of good restaurants near by as well as tons of shops.

Hotel is very clean, staff is very pleasant and helpfu at giving directions and making restaurants recommandations.

If I have to go back to Nice, Hotel Roosevelt will be my pick!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

We are very happy about your comments and we hope to welcoming you again soon.
Lydie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

Let me be clear: I'm not someone who is picky with the details in my hotel, and I'm not someone who is new at staying at hotels either. So that said, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We booked a Family Room on the Hotel's Website, and when we arrived they gave us two double rooms instead. As disappointing as that was, when we had to climb up the stairs with our suitcases because the 3X3 Foot elevator wasn't working, we found black spots to be on the bathroom floor, not to mention we didn't have any shampoo or conditioner in the shower either. Throughout the night the very loud AC was keep on going on and off not allowing sleep. In the morning, even with all the complaints and inconvenience we had they tried to make us pay for the rotten egg breakfast. And I mean this stuff was ROTTEN. The same eggs we're out in the open ever since we had arrived. Also, the lady on the front desk staff was very Moody.


-

Try to at all costs avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelgeek222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

I AM ASTONISHED BY SO MANY LIES !
This is the first time that in eleven years running this hotel that i have to aswer to a review like this. I do not know what is your goal writing this two months after your stay but let me answer to all the points you mentioned :
it is true that there was no family room left when you arrived on 23rd june. We gave you two of our largest twin bedded rooms instead (310 and 410) which normally cost together 276€ (you still paid 178€)
The rest in completely untrue.
you did not have breakfasts during your stay. how come you can talk about it?
our eggs are fresh to be cooked by our clients and none of our our 240.000 clients in eleven years ever complained about it.
how come this hotel was so bad that you asked reception to stay for an extra night in the same rooms (we were fully booked so you left the hotel)
have a look on our 270 reviews on tripadvisor and hundred of others on yahoo or venere etc, and you will find that the first quality of our hotel is the cleanliness.
we accept all reviews, as long as they are real, and i rarely contest these reviews. on the opposite, i write back to the clients and often offer them to come back for free at the roosevelt.
It will not be the case this time.
denis Frachon manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We had the pleasure to stay again at this lovely hotel. The service, front desk, location is the best. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larryseroter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is a decent hotel, good location, reasonably sized room, clean, comfortable, free wifi, air conditioned, with a nice little balcony. Nothing really to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Hotel is in superb location, about 10-15 minutes from train station, all downhill. 10 minutes from beach and in good location for shops and restaurants. All of the reception staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgible,My room was airconditioned and had a large bathroom. I would surely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickbethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The location was good. The room was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. However, the room was too small. The bed and the bathroom were very small as well. The street was noisy during the night and in the mornings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diving_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Arriving from Var area where we stayed two weeks in a rented beach villa, we landed here by rental car on a Saturday afternoon. We were welcomed by a very friendly and attentive reception personnel, and the two young men working at the reception at that moment even helped us to get the bags in the room (not usual, never experienced before in a three star chain hotel in Nice). This was to be the best part of our stay.

We booked a 4-person room, very difficult to find in Nice. As we stayed in Nice only three nights, no apartment rentals were really available in July, which we would have preferred to staying in a hotel. The quad hotel room consisted of two separate bedrooms and one shared bathroom. The size of the room was OK, the bed, pillows and linen are OK as well. The cleanliness was maybe slightly above average for a hotel in France and Nice. Some failures were detected in the room, such as some ripped curtain seams, a broken lid of the bathroom waste basket, empty shower cream bottle on the bathroom wall etc. Also quite typical for these kind of hotels. There was also the typical smell or "odeur" for these kind of hotels located in old houses.

The breakfast buffet is nothing fancy for the price of EUR 12. The breakfast room and the tables are extremely small and we ended up having our breakfast like eating in tourist class of an aeroplane. Compared to the Mercure *** hotels nearby, this is not really competitive. As there is not enough space for decent food displays, the maid(s) have to complete the food tellers all the time, causing disturbing traffic on the limited space. It also seems like the idea is to limit the consumption of the items, as they are available in very small amounts at the time, and some items are totally missing occasionally. I counted there to be e.g. a maximum of 10 slices of toast available at the time. The bread selection is poor: no fresh croissants, which is a real shame. The filtered coffee or the machine coffee is really poor for a French breakfast and there is no hope for chocolate chaud for the children, only Nesquick powder bags.

On the Sunday following our arrival, the female reception personnel seemed to be unattentive, a complete opposite to our experience to our arrival on Saturday. The reception is also responsible for service in the lobby cafe/bar. For instance, dirty glasses and cups were left on the tables for several hours. The housekeeping was quite poor also, as by 1:30 PM our room was not made even though we had left the flag on the door and the maids were working in our floor. When the room was finally assessed, some items like hand towels were not replaced.

The hotel is well located, the walking distance to railway station, key bus stops, tramway, Nice Etoile, the Promenade, the Old Town etc. is short. There are two temporary (15 minutes or so) parking places in front of the entrance.

There are some nice extras available at the lobby: a Playstation, a selection of books and games to borrow at no cost as well as a free internet terminal, free WiFi. In the room, there is a water boiler with tea bags and instant coffee as well a small fridge which is though not really cold enough even for beverages.

The price of our quad room was 190 EUR per night excluding breakfast. The booking was made in February - 5 months before. I would say this is the absolute max I am willing to pay for the package.

All in all, knowing a lot about what's available in Nice in the comparable hotel class, I can still recommend booking this hotel, especially in case if you need a decent hotel room with four full beds. If you are a couple travelling with no children, I think you may find better alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlandTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £38 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing