We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, poor service..."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture
Ranked #124 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting, poor service..."”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We spent 4 nightmarish nights at this place. Rooms smelled horribily, the bed was in the sofa and also had a peculier odour to it. We were pushed to light incense in the room to avert nausea. The front desk staff work only for very selected hours during the day, and when there are not helpful. Overall we would dread heading back to this place each night after a fun day...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete272727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    53
    28
    17
    14
See reviews for
47
40
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I stayed at this residence for 2 weeks during august -08. 4 persons (I, my 2 sisters and our mother) shared an apartment. We got a corner one with a large sitting-room with a fold-out sofabed and a medium-sized bedroom with a double-bed. The apartment had a kitchen corner in the hall (fridge with a freezer-part, oven, electric stove). It was fully equipped for 4, though 2 tea-spoons and a breakfast bowl was missing. When we pointed this out to the ladie in the reception she immediately gave us the missing objects. We cooked all our meals in the apartment and thus saving quite a bit of money. You could have breakfast served in your room for about 10euro/person. You had to take the garbage out to a trash-can at the back yard yourself. The apartment was located at the 1st floor and with the windows open you colud hear a bit of traffic-noise, but not anything to disturb one's sleep. There was a TV with a large choice of French channels and a few English/American ones. The residence is located about 15 minutes walk from the city center which has a good selection of shops (Lafayette, Monoprix, FNAC, Virgin Megastore, C&A etc etc). 100meters from the residence at Rue Buffa (in the direction of the city center) there was a bakery with excellent bread (closed Wednesdays). At Rue Meyerbeer (the street in which the residence is situated) there were a number of restaurants, cafés and small grocery shops. In rue Garibaldi (about 300meters from the hotel) there were both an Intermarché and a Casino subermarché, both of them very well equipped with groceries, fresh fruit etc. The Intermarché also had cheap newly baked bread. For those wanting to do some serious shopping the Cap3000 (large shopping center in St Laurent du Var) is easily accessible by bus (about 30min). There is also a Carrefour in Nice, in the Acropolis area in the east side of the town (take the Tram to the Palais des Expositions stop).
The apartment is cleaned once a week (more often for an extra fee). Towels were changed about 4 times during our stay. There was free internet connection by cable. Wireless interned was only available in the reception area. Coffe and tea were free in the entrance hall during the afternoon.
It's important to note that the reception is open 9-12 and 14.30-19.00 only. In case of late arrival you must call and explain the situation to a (problably) poor English speaker. Remember that in France you have to pay a visitor's tax in addition to the hotel/residence fee. We were asked to pay our stay upon arrival, which was no problem for us, but maybe for some.
The Baie des Anges (Angel's bay) with the Promenade des Anglais is about 5 minutes walks from the residence. When looking for hotels/residences in Nice, beware of those at the Promenade des Anglais unless situated near the city center. You'll probably want to go there quite often and the Promenade des Anglais is VERY long, many cheaper hotels are situated almost at the airport at the far end of Baie des Anges. It's nice to go down to the Promenade des Anglais early in the morning and see the sun rising. The beaches in Nice are pebble-beaches, there are safety posts at some beaches. Bathing-shoes (sold everywhere; 5-15 euros) strongly recommended unless you want to hurt your feet on the stones. There are also a fair number of private beaches were you can rent parasol, beach matress, have dinner etc. There was no pool at the hotel, but with the sea so near we didn't mind.
The residence is located 15-20 minutes walk from gare de Nice ville (Nice central railway station). From there you can easily and cheaply get to most cities/locations at the riviera, as well as Italy, Paris and the rest of Europe. During our stay we visited Antibes, Aix-en-Provence, Genova (in Italy) and Avignon. The TGV-trains are clean and almost always on time (important: requires reservation, can be done by using the yellow machines in the station). During our stay sunny weather and 28-30 degrees C every day (normal weather for August in the south of France.
I strongly recommend the residence for anyone who wants a location close to the beach and the city center and have a possibility to prepare their own meals. Sure, it wasn't a 5 star luxery hotel, but I'd rate it a strong three-star.

  • Liked — Good location, good value for the money, ability to cook
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Would not recommend at all. The kitchen was very poorly equiped and old fashioned. Overall, the apartment was very small and there were no proper beds, apart from two sofa beds. The carpet was old and extremely dirty. One of the chairs was broken which was problematic as there were only 3 chairs. The bathroom was smelly and damp with the paperwork peeling off. The foyer and stairs were also dirty with spilt drink on the stairs that were not cleaned for the duration of our stay. It advertised laundry facilities which we would have deemed necessary due to the lack of facilities but it was only available at a charge. The reception was only open for a few hours a day which was inconvenient and the "private beach" advertised on the website came also at a cost. Overall, the location was good but that was about it. Considering the cost of this apartment, I would say avoid!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The filth, the size, the smell
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ps2pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2008

We booked on the internet. We informed the hotel that we would be arriving late. They kindly emailed us with clear instructions for entering the hotel and retrieving the key.

We found the apartment spotless, comfortable, warm and welcoming. During our week's stay, the bedding and bath towels were changed and the apartment cleaned.

The staff at the desk were pleasant, efficient and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the tea and coffee that was available each afternoon.

Citadines la Buffa contributed in no small way to our vacation in Nice. We look forward to coming again.

Sarah and Richard Fisher

  • Liked — convenience, cleanliness,
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curriculum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2007

THIS IS A TRULY AWFUL PLACE.
Arrived at the hotel at 22-00 and very tired. Managed to get into the room after midnight!
There was a message to call a French telephone number on the outside door.

This was in order to receive the security code and gain access to the reception area. There is nobody on the reception desk from 19-00 until 09-00.
Fortunately I had a mobile phone, unfortunately the person on the other end was Chinese and could not speak English!

Managed to gain access at 23-30, then proceeded to take another 30 minutes to find the reception safe and code required to find the room key - nightmare.
The rooms are tiny, the bed is a pullout sofa that fills the entire room, the kitchen was filthy and the towels and linen are only changed after 5 days as this is the hotel policy....Great news for local laundry's.

Hotelopia have a lot to answer for and should remove this hotel from their web site.

Paul.

  • Liked — nil
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank montymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

Overall, our stay there was fine. I must point out though as previous reviews have stated, there is nobody on reception after 7pm. You must have means of phoning the contact number on the door. We had three different people trying to contact the number for us for it only not to connect. The system is not ideal as when you eventually get through to the central number they guide you through the process of getting through the door entry and then finding the key to your room. Luckily a native French speaker came to our rescue but it was a worrying hour! Towels are provided but they are not changed during the entirity of your stay. Also, no kettle and two cereal bowls for an apartment which should sleep 4! Great central location although noisey as I imagine most streets are near the front. Overal it sufficed for 4 days but could do with being modernised and extractors put in showerroom and toilet.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank tonich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2006

The Citadines concept is great - a hotel that's an apartment, bookable by the night. Having a kitchenette, and a decent fridge (rather than the 'toy' ones in the usual sort of hotel), is such an advantage, especially as the accommodation is a very reasonable price. If you need an electric kettle, you have to ask Reception, but it is provided immediately, for no extra cost.
I have stayed in a few Citadines in various European locations, and this is not the smartest or most modern, but it is in an excellent position in Nice - near the sea and promenade, easily walkable to the excellent shops and not too far to the main railway station. The Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, though as another review mentions, Reception is closed between 12:00 and 14:00, and in the evening. However, guests are provided with a number for the door entry system, so this is only a problem if you need to check in.
I spent a week here in June 2006 with my elderly mother (aged 88), and we shared the sofabed in a small apartment. It was perfectly adequate and we had great fun shopping at the wonderful Cours Saleya market, bringing back delicious produce to have our meals "at home". Although we were on the top floor, the lift worked well, and my mother did not have to walk too far to the room. It appears that mobility scooters are unheard of in Nice, so we hired a wheelchair from the local pharmacy for my mother to get around - it was something like 18 Euro for the week and they did not require a deposit. Fantastic value.
This is not the place to stay if you are looking for luxury, but it is good value, central and convenient, and friendly. My mother and I would definitely return - Nice is a wonderful place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit too small/cramped, but that may have just been our rooms on the top floor
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn of Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Lamartine
#92 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#87 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#89 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture

Property: The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture
Address: 21 Rue Meyerbeer, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Résidence Coeur de City Buffa Nice)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jay Hotel is located in the Niçois Golden Square, just a few meters from the Promenade des Anglais. It is just a few minutes away from the Palais des Congres Acropolis and the Palais des Expositions. The Jay is an ideal base point for discovering the attractions of the French Riviera's capital city. The Jay Hotel is an invitation to dive in the crazy of the Roaring Twenties. Worthy of Nice, the hotel pays tribute to elegance and Art-Déco of the 20's. The establishment offers 38 apartments on 5 floors, including 23 Studios for 2 guests and 15 One-Bedroom apartments where can sleep up to 4 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Nice Buffa Hotel Nice
Citadines Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing