We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Hotel”
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Maybe we were lucky but our room was small but perfectly functional, new bathroom, very comfortable bed, very clean. The hotel is in an old building rather than purpose built so maybe all the rooms are different sizes. The staff were charming and helpful and breakfast was good.The Hotel was perfectly central for the tram and the railway station for the very cheap rail fares to Antibes, Cannes, Monarco,Villefrench sur Mer.etc. I notice one comment that there was not an elevator, but there was, I used it twice a day for a week. This is a small quiet hotel, not a Radisson Blue, we would return if we were to visit Nice again. We had wall to wall hot sunshine after the weeks of rain in the Uk so maybe thats why we couldn't stop smiling.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    339
    143
    26
    6
See reviews for
87
302
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

First, let me mention the context: my husband and I had traveled from Rome to Florence to Nice, so our expectation of hotels was definitely shaped by the great hotels we had in Rome (Residenza Ave Roma) and Florence (Hotel Privilege). When we got to Hotel Boreal, we were happy with the location, but when we got to the room, we called our travel agent to see if we could be moved to another hotel. The plusses: it was clean, the bathroom looked like it was recently redone, free Wi-Fi in the lobby, and the staff was generally friendly and English-speaking. The room was incredibly small, but it was functional. I read in another review that it's about the size of a cruise ship room, and I agree with that. Two people cannot be in the main room at the same time: someone has to go into the main hallway or into the bathroom to allow another person to get by. The Wi-Fi worked in the lobby, but not in the room. Our bed visibly sank in the middle, and when we asked for another room, we were told, "Well, they're replaced every year." When we replied that the bed did, indeed, sag in the middle, we were told that the hotel was full (and it most likely was: the Ironman triathlon was a few days away) and that was it. The lobby is also clean, but small. The staff was helpful with information getting around Nice and Monaco, but when we asked for restaurant recommendations, it was strange that no one wanted to tell us any specific restaurants: they only told us general areas. So, we used Trip Advisor to choose restaurants while we were in Nice. Another person commented that they have beach towels at the front desk, and that is true.... but, they're old and worn, and definitely little comfort on the rocky beaches. I suggest taking a towel from your room and also asking for a beach towel at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Comfort Hotel Boreal was a nice hotel. The rooms were well appointed, but lacked a balcony and the shower head was not connected to the wall, and no shower curtain, so I found myself having to sit down in the bathtub to take a shower. There was no elevator, so we had a three floor trip with bags. It wasn't a problem for us, but if you're traveling with a disabled or elderly person, you should keep this in mind. Perhaps ask for a first floor room in advance. Great breakfast, and totally right for the price, but far from a luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

OK. Let's be (again) very honest.

(+) The location is good (though not on the seaside, but nonetheless nice, clean and central)
(+) The staff is nice, friendly, english-speaking for those who need it.
(+) Lobby, rooms are clean.
(+) Bathrooms are nice.

Now the (-)

(-) A close look betrays cheap renovation. Have a look at the lobby ceiling. Cheap aluminium. See the price tag remark below.
(-) Rooms are small, very basic...absolutely OK but clearly no charm at all.
(-) The advertised prices (like 190 eur for a double room in June (2012), without breakfast, which is decent but charged another 10 eur) are really exaggerated. You might get better prices online, but *190 eur looks like a rip-off or some dubious joke*. Glad it was a business trip so that I did not have to hand in that amount myself.
(-) Internet did not work. Network was there, but no Internet connection.They arguably "were working hard to fix it"...but that was kind of a joke since it didn't work for a few days in a row. This should take minutes to solve, not days, and considering the business-oriented clientele, kind of very annoying.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Very clean rooms. Comfortable beds! Actually very comfy. Rooms were tiny, but worked for us. The reason for two stars less- they had problems with their wi-fi and the staff member who checked us in informed us that they are working on resolving the issue. But the next afternoon when we checked back at the reception desk just to see if they have an est resolution time, the staff at the desk was rude and said" there is a problem would you like me to stick my head in and take a look at the wires" all we wanted was an update. We are on. A 3 month trip and we book the hotels for the next ci from the prev one so we always look for wi- fi before booking a hotel. The computer in the lobby was working, and we had planned on extended our stay in Nice by a day, but just because of the staff attitude w checked out earlier and moved to anther hotel close by. Also I must say here that it's just the this one person all the other staff were very kind and polite. Also it does get noisy in the mornings when the cleaning crew comes in.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I am amused to see the previous review about this hotel being noisy because we have just come back from 8 nights in France and 3 hotels, and this was the quietest! We always request a quiet room when booking and had room 508. The only noise was from the cleaner who's cupboard was next door and she worked early at the weekend which was annoying but not her fault.

The hotel staff are amazing and the breakfast was basic but nice enough and you could sit out on the pavement and eat it in the morning sun. Pintu was a lovely guy and always smiley.

The room was just ok, not that big and with no view whatsoever but we left the windows open which kept it cool (the aircon didn't work in our room but it was only about 24 by day and 20 by night so not an issue at this time but be aware if booking hot months).

The bathroom was clean and the shower good but no window made it very steamy and it's small.

Overall we'd probably try another hotel next time just for a change but this one is superbly located and good value for money.

Room Tip: At the rear there is no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

If you sleep like the dead then this will be a good value 2* hotel, clean and neat in a central location with friendly staff. However for the avg person my suggestion would be to pack your ear plugs as you will not get 1 minutes rest without them. Furthermore for the beds are exceptionally uncomfortable and my husband and i will definately need a few sessions at the chiropracter to sort our backs out. So here is a small point form summary
good points
1 well located with a 5 min walk to the central train station or to the promenade de anglais
2. very clean and neat- with a small decor update one might believe it was actually a 3* hotel
3. Super friendly and helpful concierge

bad points
1. Brack breaking beds
2. So noisy we could hear our neighbours snoring,coughing, even turning over in their beds - absolutely horrendous!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Aria
#23 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel les Cigales
#51 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#32 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Property: Hotel Boreal
Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing