We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Nice”
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #36 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Nice”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Boreal for 3 nights and couldn't have been more pleased. Centrally located on a quiet street, it's only 10 minutes walk down the main street to the beach/Vieux Nice in on direction and 10 to the train station in the other. The hotel staff was exceptionally polite and very helpful answering any questions and
giving suggestions. The room was on the small side (as is to be expected in Europe), but clean and comfortable nonetheless. The breakfast is a fair value and you can get coffee anytime. Should I return to Nice (and who wouldn't want to?), the Boreal is the first place I will look to book accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    341
    145
    26
    6
See reviews for
88
305
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, less than 10 mins walk from the train station where the 99 bus from the airport stops. Also right on top of the main drag for shops and really close to a huge number of restaurants making it easy to eat well whilst not having to go far if that's your preference. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean with good air con, a necessity in Nice in the summer! About 15 mins walk from the beachfront and you can get to the docks easily on foot too for boat trips to St Tropez etc. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annie6394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel is close to the main shopping street, but still very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok, not great. We stayed in room 403, it was small but tidy and A/C worked properly. However, the room was not soundproof: we were disturbed by the sounds of normal living from the other rooms and the corridor as well. Water boiler and complimentary coffee/tea in the room was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

As we have never been to Nice before we did a lot of research into Hotels & their location & we picked a lovely one! The Boreal was well situated for everything we wanted. We got the shuttle bus from the airport, 6 euros, & walked 10mins to hotel, very straight forward.
The hotel is a little dated but that was not an issue, we had room 515 which had a lovely Juliet balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. . .a small table & chairs would have made it perfect for the evening sun & people watching!!
The staff were very friendly & Stephanie was very helpful in guiding us where to go.
The number 100 bus is a beautiful journey to Monaco, well worth 1.50 euros!!
We loved Nice & will defiantly return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Calkurtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It has everything expected of a three stars hotel. Small, clean comfortable rooms. Nice and friendly staffs. A little safe in the room, good enough to keep your money/passports safe. Cannot fault the location, 10 mins walk to the train station, 10 mins to the Promenade des Anglais and the beach. 5 minutes walk to the new town area, perhaps another 5 minutes to the old town area, both spoiled for choices of restaurants. Breakfast is good enough, fresh fruits, cereals, different types of breads, cheese, hot bacon and scramble egg, hot and hot drinks available also. This hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingowingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff at the hotel were fantastic and very helpful. Parking was off site but close by & not too exspensive.Were a family of 4 with teenage boys so we had 2 rooms.The rooms were very clean small and basic and yes quiet dated.There wasnt a bar fridge.But was offered if we had anything to go in a fridge they would do this for us.As mostly we had stayed in apartments.Yes we could get ice for our pre dinner drinks.There wasnt a guest laundry.The hotel was in a good spot in walking distance to a shopping mall & restaurants.The buffet was breakfast was good.The friedliness of the staff well & truelly made up for dated furnishings.

Room Tip: we looked down onto the street we didnt find this noisy it was great to look out and watch the world...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

There were Helpful reception staff.. printed our boarding pass etc. Rooms have good aircon & big windows. Tea & coffee complimentary as well as shower gel & moisturiser. Small rooms... dated. Hotel in a gopd location but expensive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sla12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Aria
#21 of 204 in Nice
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
420 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#8 of 204 in Nice
353 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Property: Hotel Boreal
Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing