We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Service was Exceptional”
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #52 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 15 November 2010

In many ways, the Hotel Boreal is a typical 3 star hotel. The rooms are functional, clean, and a little worn out. By North American standards, the room is on the smaller size, but for Europe, it is pretty standard. That said, we were able to fit our 7-month old son's travel tent at the food of our bed and still had room to get around him.

The bathroom was very clean and had a bathtub/shower unit. The only thing we found odd was that there was no shower curtain, which made taking a shower very difficult. I'm not sure if that was just our room or if all the rooms were that way.

For us, what stood out was the service at the front desk. Not only were they fluent in English, but they were very helpful and always very friendly. Whatever our question or request, they always were always super friendly and responded quickly. They were also very informative with suggestions for restaurants and sight seeing activities.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, half way between the beaches along Promenade des Anglais and the train station. It is a just off the main shopping drag and pedestrian-only street, Jean Medecin, and a two minute walk from the ritzy mall, Nicetoile. Although this area is well connected with public transportation (trams and buses), we walked everywhere - the Chagall Museum, Old Nice, Rue Messena, etc...

Best of all, we found an amazing deal on hotels.com There was a buy two nights get one free promotion. The rate also included a buffet breakfast which normally costs an additional 9 Euro per person.

As an aside, here are a few tips about Nice:
1. if you are returning a rental car at the train station, note that it is a complete zoo and exercise in frustration. You may want to opt to drop it off at the airport instead.
2. The airport is only 20 minutes away from downtown Nice. There are public buses that can take you there from the train station. If you are a larger group with a lot of luggage, the hotel can also book a shuttle for you for a direct drop off.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apollinax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2010

I just got back home after a 4 day stay at Hotel Boreal in Nice. I really enjoyed it there! The location of the hotel is great. You can walk anywhere, there's a supermarket and 2 small restaurants next door, and the main shopping street is a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. And though it's so central, it's still in a very quiet street.

The staff at the hotel speaks very good English, and they're very friendly. And the room was nice and clean. Not very big room, and the bed was quite hard, but it wasn't a big problem at all, and the bathroom was newly renovated and looked very good. I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel - and as a solo traveller I got a two person room for the price of one - really nice ;-)

Next time I'm coming back to Nice, I'll definitely stay at Hotel Boreal again. I can't believe how cheap it was compared to the location and the quality of the stay :-)

And may I just say that Nice is wonderful, also in November :-) And I recommend you to take the bus to visit Monaco too - it's such a beautiful bus ride! (you can catch the bus at the bus station "Gare Routiere" - it's only 1 Euro to go to Monaco! Incredibly cheap.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Due to the general strike in france on 23rd sept our flights to Nice were cancelled
by Easyjet on evening of 21st. Four of us were travelling and we managed to get
our 5 nights away rescheduled 2 days later from 25th Sept to 30th Sept.
Hotel Boreal was contacted direct and agreed to alter our booking by 2 daysat no charge.
All was well after a very stressful hour or two. WE HAD PREPAID THIS HOTEL THROUGH EXPEDIA.
We arrived at the hotel on evening of 25th and signed in with no probem, writing our departure date as the 30th Sept. All was still well, except we were given a smoking room contrary to our request . We did not complain due to the hotel helping us with our rescheduled booking.
On afternoon of 28th Sept returnig from a day in Antibes our wives each discovered that our 2 rooms had had our card entries blocked and could not gain access.
Steve the rudest receptionist in the world, from Australia amazingly refused to give us entry to our rooms or our belongings including passports until we paid for 2 extra nights!!!!! He claimed we had only paid up to 28th and had not turned up on 23rd as stated on our original booking. He refused to acknowlegde our case and that a representative of the hotel had agreed to outr change of dates. We had no alternative but to pay, although we did get it reduced to one nights extra cost not two. We were denied access to hotel management.
This hotel came well recommended in your surveys BUT DO NOT GO THERE. THE STAFF ARE NOT GOOD, OUR EXPERIENCE WAS BITTER AND THE ATTITUDE OF THE RECEPTIONIST BEYOND BELIEF. We are currently trying to get our money back.

There are dozens of good value hotels in Nice so avoid the Boreal at all costs

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookstours69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Our room was quite small, but it didn't really matter as we weren't in Nice to lounge around our hotel room as we were only there for two nights. It did have everything you needed, but beware of thin walls and sagging pillows.

Rooms aside, everything else was fantastic. The service at reception was very helpful and friendly. The location was fantastic right near the main shopping strip, and only a 10 minute walk to either the beach or the main train station. Breakfast was very generous too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Traveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Small rooms, small beds. Amenities are basic, but serve their purpose. The bathrooms looked like they were recently renovated. Walls are very thin, but hotel isn't very loud at night. Walking distance (about 10-15 min) to the beach and Old Town Nice. Concierge was informative. Breakfast is below average, although they have various selections. Milk was served room temperature to warm, croissants weren't fresh. Ham tasted funny. Good place to stay if you're value-conscious. If you want something a little more trendy or high-end, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuLu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed for 4 nights with partner and friends - very clean and well maintained hotel. Bedrooms fairly small and basic but very clean and well docorated etc. Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and very appetising.
Hotel staff were very friendly and informative with some very good recommendations - including an excellent restaurant (Le Tir Bouchon in the 'old town' great food and service at reasonable prices.
Overall hotel provides very good value and a good location close to all amenities. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJulesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Room is basic but clean and location is very convenient. Close to railway station, tram stop just on the main road and that takes you to the bus station where the airport bus goes to as well as one to the station.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_W8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Hotel Aria
#33 of 203 in Nice
341 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#68 of 203 in Nice
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Best Western New York
Best Western New York
#31 of 203 in Nice
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £48 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing