We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Nice Victor Hugo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rooms are very small with no bottled water, no tea and coffee and on a noisy road. At no time did I feel welcome, more like a banb than a hotel. Recently redocrated and with a clean feel and good shower. That is all .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    241
    43
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
338
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is very centrally located in a nice neighborhood of Nice. It is fully refurbished and in good condition (except the lift). The design brings a modern twist to an old charming building.
We had a comfort room which was OK size wise but not overly large. I can imagine that the standard rooms must be pretty small.
Breakfast is good for a French hotel but served in a windowless room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZurichChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
554 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is quite a nice property, but like so many others of this ilk, it is cramped, from the reception, to the tiny lift, to the small rooms. It is pretty well equipped though and the staff are very friendly, with plenty of English spoken

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights at La Villa Victor Hugo hotel.


It is a small hotel in a good location.  The room was clean and tidy with a lovely king sized bed and good bathroom.


My only complaint was that we were given a 'comfort' room when we had booked an 'executive' room, however they gave us a free breakfast each morning because they were unable to give us the room we had booked.


Would recommend for a short stay in nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RachaelS1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Booked this Hotel due to price and past reviews. Great little hotel in great location, everyone very friendly and very helpful. Room ideal for what we wanted as we were out most of the day sight seeing. Shower great always plenty of hot water what ever time you wanted one. Breakfast was fine, boiled eggs, toast, meats ,cheeses,yoguts and pasteries tea coffee and juices, enough to start your day. Had lovely short break visiting Monaco, Cannes and exploring Nice. Train service excellent always on time. Would like to return to Nice, and would definitely book the Victor Hugo again meet all our needs.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room facing the court yard not a great view but very quiet just what we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Amazing , the photographs that are a bit dodgy are years old and the hotel has been refurbished , loved it so much we booked again , see you in July . Loved it , great location and lovely rooms , very boutique.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KalkanForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel in an emergency at 5:30 in the morning on a Saturday for Sunday and Monday. We were in a different hotel, in which we had booked three nights and, for reasons that do not matter in this review, we had to cancel.

The point is, this hotel was 8.6/10 in booking, the previous 8.4. This hotel had WAY more "terrible" reviews in tripadvisor than the previous. The price was roughly the same. However this hotel is a step up in all levels from the other. There is just no point in comparing. So if you are doubting, keep this in consideration.

The staff is nice, helpful and really kind. The location is unbeatable, in a quiet boulevard, really close to the center, with nice trees. Our room was big, with a wonderful enormous window. The decoration is sober an beautiful. The bed was big, comfortable, and warm. The pillows were perfect. The sound isolation perfect, we heard nobody while there and the hotel was kind of full. The bathroom was big, with everything, nice towels and a really really good shower.
Internet was working perfectly. We took a taxi to the airport early in the morning arranged by the hotel, it was 10 euros cheaper than the one we had arranged in the previous hotel.

This hotel was a blessing that saved our weekend in Nice (that was cold and rainy, unfortunately) giving us a good night of sleep and a nice center of operations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Nice Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Nice Victor Hugo

Property: La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Address: 19 bis Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#19 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Nice Victor Hugo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Victor Hugo Boulevard, Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo is right in the center of Nice, a 15-minute walk from the Vieux Nice district. It features contemporary guest rooms decorated in white and gray tones, along with elegant lounges and a bar which are open 24-hours a day. Near the sea, pedestrian and shopping areas, the historic quarter, restaurants and cafes, the hotel enjoys a perfect location for both business travelers and tourists.Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo features free Wi-Fi and is within walking distance of the Promenade des Anglais. There is an underground public parking lot across the street from the hotel.Nice train station is a 10-minute walk away, and Nice-Cote-d'Azur Airport is 5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your La Villa Nice Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing