We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money: great base for the train station...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Saint Gothard
Ranked #120 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Value for money: great base for the train station...”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Nice, that was close to the train station to use as a base for traveling up and down the cost.. Thu 4th - mon 8th July 2013
the hotel is also only a 3 mins walk to the area with all the restaurants and 5 min walk to the beach / promenade.

The St. Gothatd was cheap compared to many in the same area.
yet was very clean and the staff very helpful.. Spoke good English " unlike my French ;-) . "
The rooms were cleaned and new towels provided every day of our 4 night stay .
breakfast was: 1/4 of a french stick and croissant, jam, cereal, fresh orange juice and coffee.
Most other hotels do not included breakfast in the price.. So great value. As inclusive within the room rate .

this is exactly what we were looking for as a base. Excellent value for money..

The bedroom was small, but am sure that is a French think as most of the hotels close buy we're the same size but more expensive.
If you are on a budget then this is a great value hotel.

I have stayed in some very large hotel chains around the world and not been as happy... RECOMMENDED... 10/10 for value for money..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrispkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    121
    107
    31
    38
See reviews for
46
119
56
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place a 5 min walk from the train station, come out station turn left, cross road and this hotel is just down the first road on the right. Its not great though.

The room had black walls and the overall decor was tatty to say the least.

Not ones to moan we made do and explored the Cote D'Azur happily but we would never ever stay here again. We have been since to Nice and stayed in the Best Western on Ave Jean Medecin for not a whole lot more than we paid for this dump and would recommend you look elsehwere too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was a basic accommodation with a basic breakfast. The true French small size room!
However... it was very clean , very helpful staff, lots to eat for breakfast and above all a super location. Our heavy North American luggage only had to be pulled 1.5 blocks from the train station and the main street with many amenities was close by. The downtown (old town) is easily a walk away and we walked to the Chagall Museum as well. Had internet in the lobby with lots of chairs-well used by many. Has an elevator for bags -thank goodness!
Very pleasant stop over. Couldn't beat it for value.Go for it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Saint Gothard hotel in Nice from the 23rd - 26th April 2013. During our three night stay I found the hotel staff very pleasant , approachable and fluent in English (which is always nice).

We did not have breakfast in the hotels on any of the mornings, instead choosing to go out and find a nice place to sit in one of Nice's many squares, so I could not comment on the breakfast front, although I have not heard many positive reviews.

The hotel was in a decent location, just off av Jean Medecin (the main street running through central Nice), and was just round the corner from a nice little square centered round a roundabout with cafe's (of which we ate out at a few times). Although I will say that it was a fair walk to the promenade (about 20 mins) or nice's 'old town'. but the walk was pleasant nonetheless.

The rooms themselves were basic and adequate for a couple or lone traveler just wanting a place to rest their head. We did not spend much time in the hotel room as we were out a fair bit, however we did enjoy the use of the balcony that came with our third-floor room. The rooms were clean and well presented, with good air-con and lighting and also a tv.

Upon checking out the lady at reception was immensely helpful in directing us to where the 99 bus to the Airport went from, which was a great help.

Overall, a great hotel for the price we paid (about €140 for 3 nights), in a decent location surrounded by great bars and places to eat (Vietnamese, Italian, American, French, English), Although the hotel was a few streets back, don't go hanging around the train station at night as the area was a little rough.

Room Tip: If you have an early flight and arrive at the hotel earlier than you check-in, try and ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotel itself was basic but had everything you need and was clean. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful giving us advice when asked. The room we stayed in had a balcony which was a bonus for sitting out to watch the street down below. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the promenade and surrounding areas like old town but if you dont fancy walking there is a tram line running with a stop just a few minutes walk away from the hotel. The 99 bus from the airport drops you off only a 2-3 minute walk away from the hotel, which is also just outside the main train station with links to further attractions such as monte carlo. Overall well located with surrounding restaurants and shops. Very pleased with the hotel and the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keirasilvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Cheap - yes! We stayed four nights and it didn't break the bank.

Three things we couldn't take:

1. The breakfast is just too bad. Hard baguette, no cheese, cheap coffee machine, old cereals. Better not bother with free breakfast and just charge a breakfast we could actually eat.

2. We found a cockroach in the very small rooms. We booked two rooms for the family.

3. The cleaners speak English and they told us to keep our kids from not messing up. We met them late afternoon as they are not done cleaning the rooms (yes, they clean so late and so slow!)

We definitely got what we paid for and what we didn't pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turknoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#90 of 204 in Nice
570 reviews
Hotel Belle Meuniere
#133 of 204 in Nice
136 reviews
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#144 of 204 in Nice
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#143 of 204 in Nice
26 reviews
Centre
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#100 of 204 in Nice
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Gothard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Gothard

Property: Hotel Saint Gothard
Address: 20 rue Paganini, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Gothard 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Gothard ** built in nicois style, stands in the very heart of the city : 5 minutes from the railway station, 20 minutes from NICE-COTE-D'AZUR international airport, next to the main shopping avenue, its boutiques and department stores, 800 metres from the old town with its flower and antic markets, the "Promenade des Anglais" and its beaches, the Acropolis Exhibition & Congress centre.Several languages spoken.Secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Gothard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Gothard Hotel
Saint Gothard Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing