We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel,breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint Gothard
Ranked #128 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Nice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel,breakfast”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Hotel location excellent and comparison of price and performance right. Very poor breakfast, however.Very suitable location for train passengers. I bus connection from the airport is excellent. For traveling by car there is a problem with parking, it is then substantially more expensive.We were quite satisfied.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Alois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    115
    105
    30
    38
See reviews for
42
114
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel about 1½ years ago (April-May 2012). I praised it in the review I wrote at the time. We returned because we knew the hotel and the area. Besides, we had enjoyed our stay there. We chose this hotel both times because of its price and being near the train station and not too far from the airport. It is short walk to Av. Jean-Médécin, a main street in Nice that houses many shops, cafés and restaurants. It is principally pedestrian, and the only vehicular traffic, it seems, is an electric tram.

At that time, the room (201) we had was large enough with the queen-size bed occupying most of the floor space. The bathroom was cramped, the shower even more so, but the entire room was clean and comfortable. That’s all you really need.

On this last trip (October 14 to 17) we again had a room on the second floor (216) which was much bigger and much less cramped. It had 3 beds (2 singles, 1 double) and so could accommodate 3 to 4 guests. We were very surprised to have had such a nice room. It was spacious and clean. Even the bathroom was a little bigger. That was all we really wanted. There was no real comparison to the other room we’d had. The room was well-lit and had a flat-screen TV, and a fair-sized cabinet for clothes. For things we couldn’t put in the closet, we used the third bed for storage. It was a very nice room and we were pleased with it.

The staff here are friendly and can give you help in getting to where you’d like to go. They recommended some restaurants and shops. Since we are speakers of French, we had no trouble asking for help from locals and, therefore, getting around on the streets was much easier.

Though our room was very clean, we had some uninvited visitors during the night - fleas!!! In the middle of the night, I awoke to hear them buzzing around my ears. I thought it was only the bed I slept in, but my partner told me he had heard the same sounds –he and I did not share the same bed. Thinking they were mosquitoes, we just sent them away. My partner thought likewise, but after a few “visits” we realized the buzzing sound was not the same as mosquitoes make, and we figured it was something else. That was confirmed the next morning when we noticed tiny little red marks on our skin, especially around the ankles, on the upper arms and a few on our chests and backs. They looked like jabs for pins or needles, but they were not itchy and did not swell up. We reported it to Reception, but they offered nothing except an apology for our inconvenience.

We like this hotel because of its convenient location and the price. We enjoy the friendliness and general helpfulness of the staff. We would consider it again for our next stay in Nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrd450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for two weeks at St Gothard.The room was basic but very clean. The beds were very comfortables.The bathroom was also very clean, the towels were changed daily.The instalations worked perfect.The breakfast was a little poor-coffee or tea, corn flakes, yogourt, butter, bread, confiture, croissant. The staff were very helpful, especially Mme.Brigitte who spoke english very well and gave us many informations about Nice and French Riviera. The internet connexion is free but only in the reception hall.The hotel is situated very close of the Promenade des Anglais and the Train Station.There is a direct bus from the airport to the Train Station.Attention-very close is the Monop supermarket- it is open until 23h.A good and very cheap pizzeria is located at 100m from the hotel (6-7 euros a great pizza).We''ll come again to St Gothard the next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is in a good location. The hotel is located near the train station.If you are coming by car is possible parking problems because there are a lot of cars in the area. The city center is within walking distance. Breakfast is quite poor. Wifi is available only in lobby. Air-conditioning is not working properly. Rooms look more like hostel than hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snezana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

4th -9th nov 2013.We read some bad reviews about this hotel but found it to be very nice,had room 306. ,nice and spacious. lovely bathroom with shower.The hotel was fairly empty.which was quite nice.Lovely balcony overlooking the streets.The breakfast was basic.Crossiants and coffee.The hotel is located near the train station and very handy for the trams and local buses..Perfect location for exploring the city.We had to leave a day early for family reasons and the hotel were kind enough to refund our last nights money.

Room Tip: get rooms on front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snafler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Pluses:
- Convenient location, very near to SNCF train station and to a lot of stops of the public transportation, including the new tramway of Nice.
- In surroundings it exists a lot of shops (including Nicetoile) and restaurants.
- The hotel is also near to the Old City and Promenade d'Anglais.
- Very friendly and helpful receptionists.
- The Hotel is recently renovated and it offers almost all you need to a basic stay.
Minuses:
- It missed a refrigeraton in the room.
- The bathroom is very small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here in October for 4 nights. Usually stay in the Station Ibis but they are getting too pricey and that's without breakfast.

The St Gothard is located 5 minutes from the main station in Nice, the trams and many restaurants.

The rooms are on the small size and dated but the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are small and well appointed but the toilet faces the wall and is rather close. There is ac in the rooms which enables you to keep the doors closed and the mosquetos out. The tv has no english speaking channels.

Breakfast included consists of a coissant, a brick (a piece of french stick) tea/coffee and fruit juice. But better than nothing.

The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Tried the Portugese restaurant opposite, hardly had any of the menu available and a constant stream of locals coming in staying for a bit then leaving. Meal was eaten while enduring the original A-team on the tv. The food we did get was nice.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and didnot get disturbed by street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#88 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#153 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Centre
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#113 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#93 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#141 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Gothard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Gothard

Property: Hotel Saint Gothard
Address: 20 rue Paganini, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Gothard 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint-Gothard ** built in nicois style, stands in the very heart of the city : 5 minutes from the railway station, 20 minutes from NICE-COTE-D'AZUR international airport, next to the main shopping avenue, its boutiques and department stores, 800 metres from the old town with its flower and antic markets, the "Promenade des Anglais" and its beaches, the Acropolis Exhibition & Congress centre.Several languages spoken.Secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Gothard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Gothard Hotel
Saint Gothard Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing