We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and comfort for a 2* Hotel in Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Comte de Nice
Ranked #145 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Bearing in mind this is a 2* Hotel you have to adjust your expectations accordingly.

With that said, we had an excellent stay here: We found the receptionist very helpful and kind in coping with our bad French and letting us check our bags into their bag room way before we were due to check in.

We stayed in a studio apartment which was on a top floor. The website recommends some sort of balcony, although we didn't actually find this! Very basic cooking facilities and bathroom was a little cramped with only a shower over. The room was also a little hot with only a small airconditioning vent, although it would have been a lot worse without this!

Hope i'm not being too negative: It was a comfortable stay and a bargain price for Nice which is very close to a tram stop down into the main part of town. Also a short walk to the train station. I would recommend, but just remember it's only a 2* hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ2DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Owner at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post this review as constructive feedback is always very welcome. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the services we provide. Actually, there should be no website which offers this kind of apartment. If possible, please send us the corresponding link! Please send us as well the name of the reservation, so we can check and, if needed, repair the air conditioning. We are really sorry for this inconvenience. Please never hesitate to ask the receptionists; they are always there ready to find a solution for you. Thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Nice and in our hotel!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Comte de Nice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

I went to Nice for a long weekend this November and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location is great, only one tram stop from the Nice train station or 5-10 minutes on foot. Staff are friendly and helpful, willing to show you where to visit and the public transports to nearby places. I booked a single room, although a bit small (occupied by a double bed) but it was nice and tidy. Perhaps the worst bit was the noise from the corridor to my room. The noise insulation wasn't very good and I was often waked up early in the morning by other travellers slamming the door and even using the toilet! Bring your ear defender if you're staying in this hotel and it might help.

It was very cheap while I booked this hotel (was doing a promotional offer). Overall it was a nice experience and I would recommend this hotel to my friend and to those who wants a budget holiday in Nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Dear Nelson,
Thank you a lot for your constructive and nice comment on our hotel. Whilst we are always happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we are at the same time sorry and apologize for the inconvenience caused by noise. If you have any problems with other clients being too noisy, please tell the reception so that we can arrange this problem. Thank you as well for your recommendations and we hope to see you soon in our hotel!
Warm Greetings from sunny Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I stayed in a studio apartment (no. 24) for five nights in October. I chose the hotel after reading reviews, and because it's website advertised the apartments as being air conditioned.

The weather was still very good with temperatures reaching 23 degrees, but the air conditioning in the apartment was not working, and as there were no controls in the room I asked at reception for it to be put on. The receptionist tried to explain how to work the heater, and after I convinced her that it was cool air I needed not hot, she explained that the air conditioning was controlled for each floor by them and she would see about having it switched back on. Soon after there was cool air blowing lightly from the small vent, and that lasted for 2 days. I then had to go back to reception and go through the same process again. When, by the fourth day it was switched off again, I gave up and just left the window open - big mistake. Even though it is late in the year, the dreaded midge fly is still active!.

The apartment was equiped with a microwave and two hot plates, but no toaster - and worse still, no kettle!

The location of the hotel is about 20 minutes walk to the Old Town, and Promenade Anglaise (watch out for the dog mess though as there are a lot of dog owners in the area who do not pick up) however the tram service is very quick and clean, taking you there in just 3 stops.

There are daily markets close by, with lots of cafes and bakeries within walking distance.

I think that I would not stay in this hotel again, not because of any real complaints, only that I very quickly got bored with Nice, and was pleased that they do have a very good (and cheap) bus service. We did a day trip to Cannes for only 2 euros each way, and an even cheaper day trip to Monaco for 1 euro each way!

All in all, this is a basic, clean hotel - ideal for an overnight stay but no more than a couple of days.

Room Tip: No kettle or toaster in apartment number 24
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namdets50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Bonjour from Nice
Thank you for your feedback, which is genuinely important to us in evaluating the service and facilities of our hotel. We always try to put the air conditioning on a degree that is convenient for all of the clients. Normally when there is only 23 °C outside the air conditioning is switched off because our experiences show that this is preferred by the most of our guests. We are very sorry anyhow for the inconveniences you were put through. If you ever feel to come back to Nice, please be assured that we are always looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel.
Best regards
CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

location is seedy as past the railway bridge. nearest decent restaurant is the local kfc, owner didn't speak much english and was very quick to shoo us to our rooms instead of answering questions. rooms clean, sachets of shower gel, no shampoo, shower tiny with a thin curtain. views into carpark but nicely concealed by tall trees in the hotel compound. 5 minutes walk to a tram stop that is about 2 stops into the centre. though everywhere is walkable in nice

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Owner at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to the Hôtel Comté de Nice. I was highly concerned to note that you found our service insufficiently attentive. Please rest assured that I already talked about this with our employees. One of our night guards cannot speak English fluently; did you arrive in the night? I feel sorry to hear that you didn’t like the location of our hotel, because it is normally very calm and proper. We apologize for all the inconveniences you were confronted with. Please note that there are many restaurants which offer local food close to our hotel. Nevertheless, we are always looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel.
Best regards
CP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

-A bit stuffy with no proper ventilation; luckily they supply fan as well.
-No need to carry key room along whenever you go out
-Allow to keep your luggage before and after you check in/out
-Very convenient because near to tram but not within walking distance to seaside (30 mins).

Room Tip: better get a room near to the sea side
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinhooi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Dear chinhooi2003,
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent experience with us. Please feel always free to contact us at the reception if you have wishes, we are always happy to help you!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed two nights at thia hotel, one night at the start of our trip and one on our return in September. We found this hotel, to be a no frills, very good 2 star hotel. Staff were very friendly, room was very clean and more than adequate for our needs, bathroom was nice however needed a hook to hang the shower hose on the wall. Breakfast was included and was without doubt a real bonus, very good choice buffet in a nice dining area. The tram stop was close by and the railway station a few minutes walk where you can pick up the bus to the airport. We would book this hotel again as it is very good value overall.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Dear joadou,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay here in our hotel in Nice. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we nearly met your expectations in terms of the facilities and especially the service we provided. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in our nice hotel!
Best regards
Claudia Pedroni
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Only stayed for two nights in the Hotel Comte and have nothing to complain about. Very professional reception staff (they seem to speak any kind of language) that really seemed to enjoy giving all sorts of information. The single room I was given was situated on the 4th floor, therefor really quiete. Well the seize of the room could have been bigger but the room itself had everything I needed and was well maintained and clean. The hotel served a good breakfast although the breakfast area was a bit dark.
Liked the hotel's situation near a farmers market and in an non-touristical environment. Will definately come back here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pwilliam31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Dear Client,
thank you a lot for your time to leave a nice comment on your stay. We feel as well, that it’s a positive point to have a staff, which enables us to cover several languages. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and genuinely hope to see you returning in the near future to our hotel.
Best regards
Claudia Pedroni
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#115 of 204 in Nice
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#93 of 204 in Nice
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comte de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comte de Nice

Address: 29 rue de Dijon, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £34 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comte de Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An effordable small hotel in the city with multilingual staff in the center of Nice, yet quietly situated. The tram , bus stop for the airport bus and the train station are merely a short walk away , so that you can easily visit other cities such as Monaco, Cannes, Antibes etc... The Chagall museum and the Russian cathedral are also within walking distance. 55 rooms and 10 studios with small kitchen, with private bathrooms and SAT TV with intern. Channels - free WIFI- Buffet breakfast, private car park, 24H reception desk with multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Comte de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing