We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Female desk clerks need a refresher on interpersonal skills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Comte de Nice
Ranked #150 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Upon arrival I was given a basement room, that room's heater did not work, then I was moved to the first floor, the bathroom sink did not drain, and there was a mouse in the bathroom. I was informed by a female desk clerk that I could move once again. Her responce to the mouse issue was the mouse did not come from the hotel, and the hole it came out of was small. When I asked for a complimentary night stay for the two moves and the third that was offered a day later I was informed no but that I would get breakfast at no cost. With all these issues I would not have minded but it was the coldness and uncaring attitude of the female staff , the male staff was compassionate and totally understood my frustration . The hole was plugged the sink was drain, but the cold attitude of the female staff is unforgiving.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmandaRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Front Office Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Bonjour from Nice,
At first, let us thank you for your time to leave a comment here on Tripadvisor. We are again really sorry and apologize for the inconveniences you had to go through during your stay. The technical problems (heater and the sink) shouldn’t have occurred but were immediately repaired. Unfortunately, technical things can always brake on any time!
We never had a guest who complained about a mouse in our hotel, we even regularly order a pest controller to assure that events like this do not happen in our hotel. The room you stayed in is on the level of the garden, so the mouse could also have come through the window while it was open. We are afraid but the harsh demand for a free night just after you informed us about the mouse, was not possible, as you already had one free night in your price arrangement (you payed 3 and got 1 free – you remember???). In return, we offered you free breakfast for your whole stay (30€) and gave you a present of Fragonard with a value of about 10 €, which was in our view a fair deal, especially in regard to your low room rate. It is a pity that you are still not satisfied as when we told you about the free breakfast, you seamed to appreciate it.
We are as well really sorry if we couldn’t fulfill your expectations concerning the friendliness and service of our receptionists, but in fact we never had any complaints about them until now, like you can see in the previous comments. We always do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible and can only apologize for this. Also our only male desk clerk is a young trainee who has not so much contact with the guests. If you ever consider coming back to our hotel at the Cote d’Azur, we will be very pleased to convince you of the quality of our service!

With our best regards
The front desk staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family stayed at the Hotel Comte week or so ago- This Hotel is in a great location- close to the train station as well as a metro stop. The Hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant to interact with, and the Hotel had a decent breakfast buffett.We were on the 5th floor and found the room to be reasonably clean and functional-not a five star hotel by any means, but as stated, reasonably clean and functional. Our words of wisdon with the Hotel Comte is if you are a bit on the tall side (6'+) be prepared to duck, as the ceiling height (at least in our room #508) wasn't very high to begin with, and additionally beams crisscross the room, so smacking your head is a distinct possibility if you aren't carefull

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Front Office Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your impartial comment about our hotel and your gentle words.Normally every client checking in before 8pm gets a choice of 2 rooms upon availability. If the hotel is fully booked and we can't give you a choice we'll always do the best to change rooms on the next day - so if you wish another room, don’t hesitate to contact us at the reception to give you a new choice of rooms. Thank you again for your time and your comment and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back here at the Hôtel Comté de Nice.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Very good location and connection to the airport. Simple but good breakfast. Very kindly and helpful personal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Front Office Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear guest,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and we genuinely hope to see you returning to our hotel soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I needed a place close to the main train station for one night. It's an easy walk or one stop on the tram. The receptionists were all very helpful. I did get a choice of two rooms. My real choice would have been neither, but I was pre-paid, so what can you do? There was an 'old smell' in the hallway (maybe the dirty carpeting) outside my room which was at the end and was eerily isolated. The room I passed on was on the ground floor and I felt it was unsafe because there was a fence that looked easily scaleable and the doors looked like they could be easily 'jimmied'. My selected room was small, average-looking but clean. However, the bathroom had another unpleasant smell. They left the window open (I think this was done to minimize the smells), and leaves and flecks of dirt were scattered on one of the beds. Luckily I was traveling alone and used the second bed. Breakfast was cheap and good.

Room Tip: Don't even bother looking at a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Owner at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Dear MaxieNYC,
Thank you for your time to leave your feedback about our hotel. We are really sorry that the 2 rooms did not meet your expectations but it is always possible to ask our receptionists for a new choice or when problems with the rooms occur! Our court garden is surrounded by a 4 m high wall which belongs to our façade to separate us from the neighbors. We can’t explain the reason for the smell in the hallway because all carpets in every floor were renewed last year. The smell in the bath room resulted from a problem with the sink, which was solved the next day. The windows are always being opened when a chambermaid cleans the room, but this time, one of our chambermaids must have forgotten to close it after the cleaning. The wind brought then the leaves and flecks of dirt on the bed. We apologize unreservedly for this. But we are very happy that you liked our breakfast. When you come back to Nice, don’t hesitate to ask us for a room on another floor to fulfill completely your expectations!
Best regards and Merry Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a great little hotel and is (i think) great value. What made the experience great for me was the staff- a very professional, multilingual group with a great knowledge of the area in and around Nice. I visited Nice to take part in a marathon and the kitchen opened 2 hours earlier than it normally would to cater for the athletes. It is only a 20 second walk from the main shopping street in Nice and a 5min tram side/20 minute walk from Promenade de Anglais and the beach. I would however, ask for a room at the back of the hotel next time, as some mornings i was woken by the stall owners getting ready in a nearby market. Also the bed was a little small, but i'm 6ft 4 so thats hardly the staff's fault. Would recommend and stay again myself, just ask for a room at the rear :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agent_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, General Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Thank you so much for your great comment! I was delighted to hear that our staff met your expectations and I will as well pass on your kind words to my team here. The possibility nearly always exists to change rooms after your check-in, so please don’t hesitate to ask our receptionists for another room! We are really looking forward to welcoming you next year again to the marathon Nice/Cannes, other running competitions in Monaco and Antibes or any other occasion!
Warm Greetings from Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We got a warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel early in the morning. Unforunately our room wasn't ready. We could store our luggage and check out Nice. When we arrived later we could choose a room (gave us 2 room to choose from). Which I never had before.
The rooms were small and very basic. The shower on the other hand was a massage shower. But they were clean which is important.
Breakfast was good. Lots of choices.
The location of the hotel is nearby the metro. Just a few minutes walk. Lots of shops/restaurants are also nearby. The metro takes you in 5 minutes to the busstation/city centre where you can get busses to the big cities around Nice. At the front desk of the hotel lay maps with times when the busses leave. Also the staff knows where to go and which one to take. They are very helpfull.

Don't go to this hotel when you look for luxury. But it is a great hotel when you are doing a citytrip and only have to sleep in your room and have breakfast.
I loved it and deffinately will go back to this hotel when I visit Nice again.

Visited in 2009

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Owner at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Dear Kaat88,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our special services. It can always occur that our hotel is fully booked, and that you have to wait, until a client departs. Your kind words have been passed to our team. We are really looking forward to welcoming you again here at the Hôtel Comté de Nice on your next visit to Nice!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Bearing in mind this is a 2* Hotel you have to adjust your expectations accordingly.

With that said, we had an excellent stay here: We found the receptionist very helpful and kind in coping with our bad French and letting us check our bags into their bag room way before we were due to check in.

We stayed in a studio apartment which was on a top floor. The website recommends some sort of balcony, although we didn't actually find this! Very basic cooking facilities and bathroom was a little cramped with only a shower over. The room was also a little hot with only a small airconditioning vent, although it would have been a lot worse without this!

Hope i'm not being too negative: It was a comfortable stay and a bargain price for Nice which is very close to a tram stop down into the main part of town. Also a short walk to the train station. I would recommend, but just remember it's only a 2* hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ2DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Owner at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post this review as constructive feedback is always very welcome. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the services we provide. Actually, there should be no website which offers this kind of apartment. If possible, please send us the corresponding link! Please send us as well the name of the reservation, so we can check and, if needed, repair the air conditioning. We are really sorry for this inconvenience. Please never hesitate to ask the receptionists; they are always there ready to find a solution for you. Thank you for your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in Nice and in our hotel!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#111 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#98 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Monsigny
#11 of 203 in Nice
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comte de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comte de Nice

Address: 29 rue de Dijon, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: £34 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comte de Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An effordable small hotel in the city with multilingual staff in the center of Nice, yet quietly situated. The tram , bus stop for the airport bus and the train station are merely a short walk away , so that you can easily visit other cities such as Monaco, Cannes, Antibes etc... The Chagall museum and the Russian cathedral are also within walking distance. 55 rooms and 10 studios with small kitchen, with private bathrooms and SAT TV with intern. Channels - free WIFI- Buffet breakfast, private car park, 24H reception desk with multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Comte de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing