We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Comte de Nice
Ranked #124 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“I don't recommend”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed 9 nights in that hotel and had the duplex appartment. It was the highest floor and in the middle of August, it was super hot and the A/C wouldn't work half the time. When it did, it was beeping every 30 seconds (we timed it) even when turned off, without any way to stop it. We notified the front desk many times until they called a technician. Nothing. It still beeped all night. I asked to speak to the manager of the hotel and they refused to give me her name, pretty much saying nobody could do anything because "they are women" and it's "a technical problem" and the technician wasn't available.

Never did they offer compensation such as another room, refund or even free breakfast.
The room was extremly small but livable, however, because of the bad Customer service I would not go back.

Room Tip: Not the duplex apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseeL466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Owner at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit - we first have to clarify that you did not stay in the hotel but in an outside location - as the hotel was fully booked at the moment you asked for availability. We offered help to find accommodation for you but gave clear instructions before that this small duplex apartment is in on outside building on a 4th floor without lift.
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. After your departure we finally found out that the beeping noise came from the oven alarm that has been activated not from the Air-conditioner!

The technician came several times in the apartment when you were not in during the day times , but there was no beeping when he had a look (unfortunately he did not think about the oven alarm - as you claimed about the air conditioner he always check the air conditioner - Misunderstanding !).
Nevertheless we are sorry that your vacation was not as pleasant as you wished - but we think that this kind of small loft apartment was not really the right choice for you. Please contact me directly next time when you come to Nice - I 'll help you to find the right product with an adapted room rate - for example our roof suite with garden would be perfect for you. It is in the main hotel building with easy access. But please next time try to book earlier in order to get the right type of accommodation, and of course you'll get a very special rate in order to apologize of the inconvenience.

Looking forward to see you again in Nice!
Best regards
The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    288
    173
    64
    52
See reviews for
115
282
111
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 2 children in apartments 5 nights in September 2013.Electric cooker almost did not work - the water does not boil and cook the pasta was impossible.
Apartments have a kitchen - but there was an electric kettle, and it was impossible to make coffee or tea.There was not a rag to wipe the table and floor and there was no detergent for washing dishes.
Air conditioning can not be controlled from the room - it was centralized.At 2-3 in the morning it turned off and it was and it was very stuffy.When we open the window - there was noise from the street and it was impossible to sleep.Toilet and bath were scratched and cracked enamel.On the first day put two toilet paper and dont give more.Our room cost 116 EURO per night - very expensive for such poor conditions and not the center of the city.

Room Tip: I do not recommend this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Front Office Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, which is genuinely important to us in evaluating the service and facilities of our hotel.

We are sorry that there was a problem with the electric kettle. We used to have rags and detergent but as these were burned or taken several times we stopped providing them.
Concerning the air conditioning we prefer to keep it centralized because many people don’t know how to operate the air conditioning.
If it is possible we give the choice between two rooms and you can always come down if you feel like you want to change the room. So you could have seen another room which is quieter but we are located in the city center of nice - so it is however normal that sometimes there is some noise.
I must offer my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us.
Warm regards
The Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Paimio, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It´s quite expensive to live in hotel in Nice and this was from the cheapest part.

Nothing specially, but nothing annoying either. Location was really nice. Only less than 10 minutes from the beach by tram and really easy to access. Tram station was 2 minutes walk from hotel. We didn't try breakfast but there was chance to have it and it costed 7,50€.

Staff was really nice and mainly from abroad and spoke good english.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerComte, Front Office Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit to the Hôtel Comté de Nice.
We feel it's a positive point to have an International team of staff which enables us to cover most languages. If you prefer a higher standard we have also superior rooms with air condition, which are new renovated on the fifth floor.
We love to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards

The Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Comte de Nice recently for five nights in a twin share room. While the rooms are quite small (but roomy bathroom!), they are clean, comfy and have all the amenities required for a comfortable stay! A lot of reviews mention the lack of no air conditioning, and while we may have missed the peak summer heat, we found it very comfortable to sleep at night with the large bedroom window open.

The hotel is within walking distance of all major attractions - main one being the beach! We found the staff to be friendly and very accommodating to our needs. Over the course of our seven week holiday at that point in time, the buffet breakfast was by far the best one we had found with a variety of cereals, toast, pastries, tea/coffee, fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheese.

Absolutely loved our stay in Nice and were very sad to have to leave! Upon returning, would most definitely consider staying at the Hotel Comte de Nice again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We arrived at this hotel with some trepidation, having read previous reviews. We had e-mailed ahead to assure air conditioning, so that was not a problem for us.

The rooms were very small, but arranged in IKEA-type efficiency. More storage and counter space than in other more expensive hotels. The bathroom was roomy.

Location was ideal, close to light rail to Old Town and other locations, supermarket next door and laundry right around the corner.

The young girls at the front desk all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. The breakfast was good and better than at some more expensive hotels. One night we bought dinner at the supermarket and were able to use the breakfast room facilities to eat. No refrigerator, but the front desk staff stored our wine in their refrigerator for us.

Caution: ice cubes are rationed out a couple at a time. Strange for us Americans, but it got to be a joke after awhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Overall a good stay due to location and staff willingness to choose rooms. However I was a little thrown back due to the additional €10 per night if we wanted an air conditioning room. We want for the air con as it was very hot and ended up with the apartments (avoid top floor apartments as the air con is weak, also better option is apartment rather than rooms as they are more spacious and have air con). Wifi was a little iffy at times but as stated above a good stay in general.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a tough review to write due to the drastic differences between the first night and the rest. When you first check into a hotel the last thing you want to hear is "Sorry we don't have any other rooms, but you can change in the morning", they clearly were aware of just what a disaster this room was.

It was simply the worst hotel room I have ever seen in my life. I know this is only a 2 star hotel but that's not an excuse to be dirty and run down. It was dark, one tiny window which was blocked from the main part of the room by a wall, combined with the really dim lights you could hardly see a thing

The bathroom absolutely stank, and there were a significant number of ants on the floor, as well as what appeared to be a blood splotch on the bottom of a wall. Pulled back the duvet to find a number of hairs where the sheets clearly hadn't been changed and yet more ants in the bed itself! Went to have a shower and found a red mark on the towel (hopefully makeup!)

It was also unbearably hot, the fact that the window was blocked off and the only cooling being a fan that was so old the motor was exposed on the back meant it was nearly impossible to sleep.

Needless to say we switched rooms in the morning to something much more like I was expecting from a 2 star, clean, well ventilated with two windows, simple but nice decor, and generally more pleasant.

The lack of air conditioning is a real issue, and would probably stop us staying here again. The staff were all friendly and happy to help, never tried the breakfast so can't comment on the food. The location is really good, decent enough neighborhood and only 2 minute walk from the tram.

If we had gone straight into the second room this hotel would get a 4/5 but the absolute horror show that was the first room can't be overlooked, I simply cannot believe they consider it acceptable to put anyone in a room like that.

Room Tip: Avoid room 321 at all costs, simply cannot believe this is even offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#98 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Centre
Hotel Trocadero
Hotel Trocadero
#88 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#93 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Saint Gothard
#126 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comte de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comte de Nice

Property: Hotel Comte de Nice
Address: 29 rue de Dijon, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comte de Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An effordable small hotel in the city with multilingual staff in the center of Nice, yet quietly situated. The tram , bus stop for the airport bus and the train station are merely a short walk away , so that you can easily visit other cities such as Monaco, Cannes, Antibes etc... The Chagall museum and the Russian cathedral are also within walking distance. 55 rooms and 10 studios with small kitchen, with private bathrooms and SAT TV with intern. Channels - free WIFI- Buffet breakfast, private car park, 24H reception desk with multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LateRooms, Priceline, Hotelopia, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Comte de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing