We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”
Review of Chez Josephine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Josephine
Ranked #7 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Thanks Josephine, we enjoyed our 3 night stay and meeting you and Rocco your pampered pooch and for your help in sightseeing ideas for our short visit.
Very central and convenient to transport. Earplugs are handy as it can be noisy at night.
Great value

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    49
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
102
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at Chez Josephine and loved it. From the moment I walked in, I felt like I was at home! I was in the Orange Room which is very spacious and homey with a cute little balcony overlooking the street. There is a small bar fridge in the room and tea/coffee making facilities which is great after a long day out to curl up on the chairs in the room and drink a cup of tea/coffee. Josephine is a lovely woman with lots of knowledge of the area and I really enjoyed chatting with her during my stay. Her little dog, Rocco, is so precious and made my stay even more enjoyable as I was missing my own animals back home! Chez Josephine is extremely central and is just 5 minutes walk to/from the bus that takes you to the airport which is just a 15 minute drive away. I would highly recommend Chez Josephine to anyone but especially the single traveller that is looking for the home comforts away from home. I also enjoyed the fact that Josephine is Scottish and I didn't have to struggle to make myself understood with my broken French! Thanks again Josephine for a lovely 3 days! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Excellent B&B. Wonderful breakfasts (the best coffee in Nice), superb conditions, very handy location (close to tram line - 3 stops to the old town and promenade, buses and train nearby will take you everywhere). When we woke up the first day to a smell of freshly baked croissants, we knew we were home. Josephine made us feel very welcomed and she gave us lots of practical information, tips and great directions. Even if you come to Nice not knowing what to do and where to go, you can count on Josephine. She is a real treasure. We had plenty of wonderful conversations and lots of laughs together. We recommend Chez Josephine to anyone visiting Nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grzegorz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I spent 11 days at Josephine's Chez during June and had a great time. We became friends with Josephine and she shared her house, hospitality and local knowledge with us in a most generous way. The location is very central and we travelled by train and bus to the many close by resort towns and beaches. We felt at home and enjoyed the breakfasts, company and kind hostess and the chats with the other guests. The central location has some challenges when there is some partying and traffic noise, but the benefits far outstrip these challenges. We hope to return and share time in Nice in the house and with the kind hostess, Josephine. Erwin and Lyzette Schwella currently in Windhoek Namibia and from Cape Town South Africa. So good to be able to enjoy all of these beautiful destinations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErwinSchwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomackenzie, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
One of the benefits of owning & B&B is getting to meet some lovely people, & it really was a pleasure to meet Erwin & his wife Lyzette, & we did indeed have some very interesting & far reaching conversations. Normally when guests stay for longer than just a couple of nights, we become real friends, which was very much the case here. I very much hope I get to see this charming couple again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were a family of six staying in Nice for 3 nights - more by necessity than choice because of transport connections but we were pleasantly surprised by our experience of the town and a big part of that was due to Josephine's lovely apartment. The accommodation was perfect for our needs as we took all three of her guest rooms so pretty much had the run of the place. Josephine (& Rocco) was very welcoming and helpful with recommendations and reservations as well as entertaining us with many anecdotes from her colourful career to date. The apartment is full of character with lovely furnishings and kept very clean. Breakfast was a highlight - Josephine's freshly home-baked croissants were the best we had in France! The location is handy to the main train station & we easily walked to and from there with all of our suitcases. It is also close enough to walk to the old town for restaurants/markets/beach and etc. I would certainly recommend Chez Josephine for stays in Nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Josefine is a wonderful host. We arrived a few hours late and she was waiting for us - we were really sorry but coud not contact her. Location is excellent - in the middle of Nice. Close to everything - shoping, buses, beach. Josefine told us all we needed - even befor we came ( we needed a carpark for a car for a few nights and she helped us to organise it) Breakfast - it wa a highlit at the beginning of the day - fresh bagette and hot crossonds (not sure about spelling but ho cares). They were delicious! We still think abou them. Highly recomended for anyone who likes B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomackenzie, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for the lovely review with the inventive spelling :)
One little correction--not English, Scottish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Wonderful stay could not have asked for anything more. Clean, delicious breakfast, helpful knowledgeable, friendly host. Shared bathroom not an issue. Good location, close to all ammenaties and city center.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandaliceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Hotel Monsigny
#8 of 204 in Nice
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Josephine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Josephine

Property: Chez Josephine
Address: 36 boulevard Raimbaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Josephine is a charming B&B in central Nice located in a typical Niçoise apartment on the 1st floor. It is a 5 min. walk from the train station, 10 min. walk to the new Promenade du Paillion,15 min. walk to the beach & the Promenade des Anglais, the beach & the Old Town. There are three double rooms available, two with balconies, one with huge windows. The rooms all have traditional oak floors and high ceilings and each room has a large comfortable double bed & AC/heating. All rooms have a kettle, with coffee, tea & sugar provided. The bathroom & separate toilet are shared.Freshly prepared continental breakfast is included in the price. Owner is much-travelled, English first language. There is a small friendly dog on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chez Josephine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing