We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean, nice, great service and very well located!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Josephine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Josephine
Ranked #6 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very clean, nice, great service and very well located!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

very well located! 3 minutes walking from the train station and tram. I was on a one day -shopping trip and I could not have found a better location than this.

Josephine is a great hostess and her place is spotless!! very comfortable and nice!

I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: better location impossible! spotless and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kry_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine M, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you!! Come again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    49
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
100
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Before I go into the review, I would advise you to book with Josephine directly through her website. It's a bit cheaper and there is no middle-man to go through if complications arise.

This is the best B&B I've ever stayed in. Ideal location, excellent value, and very comfortable and clean.

I stayed in in the Orange Room, which was very spacious. The small balcony lit up the room during the day (and offered a nice breeze) and the numerous lamps in the room kept it bright at night. I didn't have a problem with street noise during my stay as I closed the balcony doors/windows at night due to slightly chilly weather.

Breakfast was delicious - warm just-out-of-the-oven croissants, great baguettes, jams, butter, coffee, tea, yogurt. Also, communal breakfast offered some great conversation with Josephine and the other guests. I got a lot of great advice and tips on things to do at breakfast.

Location was IDEAL for the following reasons:
1- It's 2 blocks from the train station. This is extremely convenient if you decide to take the train for a day trip to one of the many lovely nearby towns, or if you are taking the train to your next destination (for me, Paris). The public bus to/from the Nice airport stops at the train station as well (it's about 15 minutes ride from the airport to the train station).
2- It's a leisurely 10 minute walk to Vieux Nice and the beach. You can walk through one of the main avenues where there are a lot of shops, or you can walk through a quieter adjacent avenue - either way, it's a pleasant stroll.
3- The tram is 2 blocks away. I never took the tram, because Nice is a very walkable city, but if you get tired after a day at the beach or don't want to walk after dark, etc, you can easily hop on the tram for a quick journey back.
4- It's a 5 minute walk to the bus stop to get to the Matisse museum. I took the bus up (all uphill) and walked down. The walk down took half an hour, but it's an easy downhill walk through lovely residential surroundings.

Before I booked, I had concerns about sharing a bathroom, but the concerns were unfounded. There is a shower/tub and sink in one room, and a toilet in a small room next to that, so you can use the toilet even if there is someone showering. Both rooms were always extremely clean and tidy - through both the care of Josephine and the considerate nature of the other guests. I never had to wait for either room during my 4 day stay.

One last bit - Josephine has a small dog, Rocco, who is incredibly well behaved and he will win you over completely.

I would definitely stay at Chez Josephine again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine M, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. Quite apart from all the good things you say about me & Rocco (the dog), your review will be really helpful to anyone who reads it. I am delighted you were so pleased; do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

2 1/2 blocks from the train station, so easy to get in and out; right by the tram to get to the major sights; close to the Chagall Museum. Josephine was such a great hostess, and she keeps that place spotless! My daughter & I were in the lovely Green room for 3 nights and never ran into the other 2 people staying there. With keys to the front door, we felt like we were in our own apartment. We had a delightful stay in Nice at Chez Josephine; couldn't be happier with this choice - thanks!

Room Tip: The Green room is the largest, but looks onto the street; Orange room might be quieter. Closing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine M, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay. In fact, all the rooms face the street; the main difference between the Green & the Orange rooms is that the Orange room has a little balcony with French doors with shutters while the Green room has very large bay windows with a roll-down shutter.
I enjoyed meeting you both, come again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Chez Josephine for a week in January in the Orange room, which was light., bright and spacious with a balcony. The bed was firm and comfortable and sharing a spotless bathroom was no problem at all.
We were of course served a Continental breakfast, but with Croissants, two types of bread, orange juice, plenty of butter and jam, yoghurt and a hot drink of choice, we set out well satisfied every morning. Josephine was mine of information about museums, restaurants and public transport. She is an excellent hostess who made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: +The orange room is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeM937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in the "green room" for 3 nights. The location was good for us - about a 10 minute walk to the sea/old Nice, and extremely close to the train station. Merely a few blocks to the main shopping area (Nicetoile, etc.). There was also a lovely market that was a short walk north that we visited a couple of times.

Josephine was very accommodating and had lots of useful advice for our stay. She is Scottish, so English is obviously not a problem if your French is not adequate. Breakfasts were great - fresh croissants and bread, jam, yogurt, juice, coffee/tea. Room was lovely - we had a nice view of the street from a table and chairs in the room. Bed was large and the room was equipped with a fridge. We never had issues with the wifi. We appreciated the little touches, like Josephine providing wine glasses in our room (without us asking) when she noticed a bottle of wine on the table.

The only downsides were noise from the street and a shared bathroom. However, these were minor details and were far overshadowed by the positives. We also enjoyed meeting her small dog Rocco. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Green room was large and well-equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattym333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Staying at Chez Josephine is like spending a few days at the house of a good friend. Josephine is a wonderful host - she goes out of her way to be helpful. The breakfasts are great, especially her homemade croissants which are divine. The shared bathroom was no problem - it was no different to members of the same household sharing one. The B & B is a short walk from the main shopping street, and its only 10 minutes walk to the waterfront (or a minute or two by tram).
The only drawbacks were
1) there is no parking so we had to leave our rental car in a nearby parking lot
2) the B & B is close to the station and it was noisy at times - although the one night it got very noisy Josephine was on to it right away and called the police
We really enjoyed staying here, and would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice place to stay in Nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomacNice_France, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with me.
As regards parking; like most cities nowadays, there are far too many cars & not nearly enough parking spaces, a problem made worse by tourists who hire cars. A car is NOT a necessity here; public transport is relatively cheap & barring strikes, usually efficient. There is just no such thing as free parking anywhere in Nice, far less in the center of town.
Unfortunately for you, your visit coincided with a big win for the local football team & someone"s birthday, hence the exceptional noise in an apartment across the street that night. I do try to let everyone know that in general, the street is fairly noisy until about midnight; that's the main drawback to living downtown. However, usually earplugs can eliminate most of the noise, so it doesn't have to be a major problem.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This B&B is in a great location near the station and the tram line and a 10 min walk from the old town and the sea. There are plenty of places to stay in similar locations, it is the friendliness of Josephine that really sets this B&B apart. She chatted to us at breakfast each morning, giving us extremely helpful tips- she helped us find bus stops and gave us invaluable advice about good places to eat and interesting places to go. The breakfast was lovely and the apartment is really nice - wooden floors and high ceilings. It is a little noisy at night being in the city centre but we found since it was just traffic noise it just washed over us and we slept well since the bed was very comfortable and the place just had a relaxed homey feel. We had been a little worried about it being a shared bathroom but we found there was never a queue to use it as there were only a couple of other guests and there were on different timetables to us. Josephine went out of her way to help us, even drying some of our wet swim wear in her dryer so we didn't have to carry wet clothes home with us, thank you Josephine! We really enjoyed staying with you. Nice is a fantastic city break destination and I would highly recommend Chez Josephine if you like stay with a personal touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jomackenzie, Owner at Chez Josephine, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure to meet you both & I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#15 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Josephine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Josephine

Property: Chez Josephine
Address: 36 boulevard Raimbaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Josephine is a charming B&B in central Nice located in a typical Niçoise apartment on the 1st floor. It is a 5 min. walk from the train station, 10 min. walk to the new Promenade du Paillion,15 min. walk to the beach & the Promenade des Anglais, the beach & the Old Town. There are three double rooms available, two with balconies, one with huge windows. The rooms all have traditional oak floors and high ceilings and each room has a large comfortable double bed & AC/heating. All rooms have a kettle, with coffee, tea & sugar provided. The bathroom & separate toilet are shared.Freshly prepared continental breakfast is included in the price. Owner is much-travelled, English first language. There is a small friendly dog on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chez Josephine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing