We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Ranked #2 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Great Choice!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A 3-night stay here in early May, and a wonderful one at that. Gilles, the owner, is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area....and his dog Cossette is a charmer. The hotel itself is very nice, and as others have already said, is on a lovely street and in a beautiful building. It really is an ideal setup. Our room was everything you'd want - very clean, very comfortable bedding, ample space in both bedroom and bathroom, nicely furnished with table and chairs, a view to the park across the street, and maybe most importantly - quiet. No earplugs necessary here. Like some others, we too took breakfast every day in our room - and why not, when we could people-and-park watch out the windows. Easy walks to everything you'd want to see in Nice (esp the beach), and with its proximity to the train station, easy to get transportation for the many day trip possibilities. Add the great morning coffee, the sink, micro, coffee maker, and fridge in the room, and it's definitely a place we'd come back to.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    82
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
179
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This little B&B/hotel is well run and very comfortable. The breakfast room is small but the breakfast more than adequate. The location is good, just across the road from a small park and 10 minutes from the beach and rail station.
The hotel is in an old building shared with professional rooms and private apartments - so security is good and generally quite.
we only had 2 nights in Nice and at Victor Hugo but would most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandR_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Hotel Victor Hugo. The hotel is small with only 6 rooms but it offers a great family atmosphere, nice complementary breakfast buffet, free wifi, AC etc. It was totally renovated by the current owner, Gilles, before it opened in the spring of 2011.

It's on the first floor of a great building, Palais Yolande, with a very nice marble staircase leading up to the entrance of the hotel.

We contacted the owner a few days before flying to Nice since we had to change our travel plans and our new flight didn't arrive until just before 9pm. Gilles agreed to meet us at the hotel even though it was after the normal check-in times. We got a great welcome to the hotel by Gilles and his little dog, Cosette. Gilles was very hospitable and provided us with a lot of useful information about Nice and the surroundings.

The hotel is in a great location. It's an easy walk to old town and everything else.

We arrived by air and took bus N°98 from the airport. It's 4 Euros per person and we asked the bus driver to let us know when we got to the bus stop where we wanted to get off at. The closest bus stop is at Gambetta and Promenade des Anglasis, right by the famous Hotel Negresco, just 400 meters away from the hotel. It's just a 5 minute walk, follow Rue Cronstadt to Bd Victor Hugo and the hotel is on the corner on the right hand side.

The Train station is only 1.0 km, 10-12 minutes Walk, away from the hotel.

Thanks Gilles and Cosette for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dovje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed a few nights here at the end of April. Location is good. Close to a beautiful park, just a few blocks from the beach. It takes around 15 minutes of walking to the old town. We came with a car, and there plenty of street parking, nearby is also a garage (albeit pricy). Hotel is located in a beautiful building, on a ground floor. It felt like being a resident in this beautiful building.

Our room was Jean Monnet suite (110 EUR via booking.com), basically due to the fact, that everything else was booked. Unfortunately it was a very busy weekend in Nice. Room itself was OK sized, but had a separate room with kitchenette. It was turned to the the inner garden (just don't have high expectation of the "garden"), so it was very quite, We also didn't have to close our shutters during the night as we were not looking on a street. Room had quite modern furniture. It was great to have kitchenette, where fridge, microwave, kettle, sink and some dishes were available. There was also a small table with two chairs and a sofa. The only let down for me was the bathroom. Although it was normal size, toilet didn't have any space to sit on (and i'm "only" 186 cm tall). Otherwise, everything was clean. Owner was friendly, and beside french he didn't have any problems speaking english. He also gave some very good advices on what to see in the vicinity and where to dine. Free wireless was available and worked flawlessly. There was also a TV in the room.

Breakfast (complimentary) was in a nearby room, which was quite small. It had a reasonable selection, though space was quite limited, so we took our breakfast to our kitchnette and had it there. Also daily newspaper was available.

The whole experience (also contact with the owner) was like staying in a private home, not in a hotel. Would certainly come back when visiting Nice next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matevzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My partner and I are just back from a weekend in Nice at the Hotel Victor Hugo and have to agree with all of the positive reviews here. Giles, and his wonderful rescued dog made us feel extremely welcome. Very relaxing break, lovely room and great location. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

This small hotel is about 15 stroll to the Old Town (a pleasant walk along the promenade). The rooms are reasonably sized and very well equipped with tv, fridge, microwave and complimentary toiletries.

The reception is manned until about 20:00 each day, and the owner is friendly and knowledgable, and the hotel dog greeted us enthusiastically like long lost friends during the day.

The only downside was a slightly strange smell in the bathroom, but it wasn't strong enough to bother us particularly.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and fully intend to use it again if I return to Nice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemTT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed in Orientales room.

+:
The room very nice; bathroom is small and basic but has all you need incl hairdryer
Everything spotlessly clean
Free wifi
Great breakfast: choice is enough and more importantly of high quality. Quality of bread, pastry, cheese, jam, Nespresso - all indicate the host is not saving on little details which in the end of the day create the impression.
Most friendly and helpful host

-:
no soundproof: street noise is quite loud in the morning, as well as other sounds. But the place is little and in a quiet location, so not too much of trouble

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#19 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo Nice

Property: Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Address: 59 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor Hugo Nice is not like other.We welcome you in a completely renovated hotel in 2011. This hotel is in the ground-floor of a 1905 building. The hotel is located on one of the most prestigious avenues in Nice, 5 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais and the beaches, 10 minutes from downtown shopping and the old town.Hotel Victor Hugo, Nice is a charming "hotel meuble" with only 7 rooms. Experience an atmosphere where friendliness and warmth are the watchwords. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing