We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Vegetarians” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Soleil d'Asmara - CLOSED

Le Soleil d'Asmara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Seul Etablissement de restauration traditionnel ethiopien et erythreen de la Cote d'Azur, dont les epices des plats sont achetees directement en Ethiopie. Ce qui garantit des saveurs authentiques, des evasions culinaires superbes sans meme prendre un billet d'avion! Venez partager un moment d'exception chez Elsa, elle et sa fille Virginie, gerante depuis 7 ans deja du Restaurant Le Soleil d'Asmara vous accueilleront chaleureusement et vous ferons passer un agreable moment. Au rythme de la musique ethiopienne et dans des decors typiques vous ne voudrez plus repartir !
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for Vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This Ethiopian restaurant has great vegetarian options. We thoroughly enjoyed eating there. Virginie (our server) was super sweet and accommodating to all our requests. I would highly recommend going there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    52
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food also for vegetarians and superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Being veg in the South of France is not always easy. The Soleil d'Asmara serves delicious and well-flavored food (the owner explained us that she even imports the spices from Ethiopia as they are more flavorful there). The traditional pancake the food comes along with is made from millet which is a great change to the all-dominant wheat products in France. The owner made us feel as if we were invited to eat in her house, the pricing is reasonable, overall super restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan les Pins
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, simple and delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I went to this restaurant with my colleagues yesterday. The restaurant is simple, nothing very big or fancy. The music was nice and happy and the staff too was nice. Liked the food very much. I never had Ethiopian food before, and with this restaurant the intro to Ethiopian cuisine was very good. I will suggest this place for sure. Hopefully I'll go back to this restaurant very soon.
PS. Lots of options available for vegetarians.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We've been going to this resto a couple of years and it's still a favourite for a lazy, relaxed dinner. It's not perfect, but I always leave happy, hence the 4 stars overall.

Pros:

+ the food, definitely. It's very, very tasty (do try the spicy lentils -misser key wot-, I really can't get enough of them);
+ the atmosphere is laid back and friendly (family run, the owner is very welcoming from the first day);
+ not expensive at all. 2 veggie dishes + 1 meat dish + bottle of wine is plenty for 2 and sets us back around 50€;
+ kitchen seems to close later than other places. However, be careful: generous portions of spicy food don't agree well with late dinners. You've been warned.

Cons:

-It's not fancy. I wouldn't come here for a business dinner or to impress posh in-laws, but I always bring friends or when close family comes visit;
-the toilet. Sure, I've seen plenty worse, but definitely needs renovation - star off for that.
-Service quality varies depending on who's your waiter (but at least everyone tries to be nice);
(On a side note, I agree with the review that disliked the Ethiopian New Year menu last year: we felt let down and stopped coming for a few months after that. We eventually came back and I'm glad we did, but we'll stick to the regular menu from now on.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nushh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We used to love it.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

As I have written in the title of this critics, we used to love it.....but we do not love it any more. There was a time that we came there quite regularly, as we are very curious, and we enjoy trying different types of cuisine. It did not shock us that one has to eat with hands-it was always fun. The quality of dishes was rather good, a litle overpriced for what it is, but anyway, we were always happy with the meals.We have even been invited twice for the Ethiopian new year, which is in September. The 1st time we went, there was a set menu, which was ... well, ok, but nothing special, but it was fun, as there was the Ethiopian dansing, music, and the atmosphere was really great. The set menu was , a susual, a little overpriced, but acceptable. So , this ( 2011) year, when we received the invitation with the description of menu, we decided to go again, and we also invited our friends. The description of menu in the texto sounded really exceptionnal, the indicated price, if I remember correctly, was between 35 ad 50€ per person for the set menu. Adn now, I will explain, why we will never coma back. The dinner was lousy, we had something really tastless, the portions were tiny, and we paid at least 50€per person, and left hungry. No music, no atmosphere. It was extremely dissapointing to be taken for tourists! the policy of owner was to rip everybody off, economise on food, earn a lot for once, being sure that these clients ar just stupid tourists , who will never come back again. Well, we will never come back again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NatachaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Soleil d'Asmara also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing