We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel, adequate stay but nothing memorable”
Review of Holiday Inn Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at HI Nice with our parents.
It is a short walk away from the happening Place Masena and 15-20 minutes away from the old town. Nice is a walkable town so this isn't an issue for us.
Upon arrival, the concierge helped with our luggages and took care valet parking. The reception was a nice guy and upgraded us to the executive floor (I found that almost half of the reviewers here got an upgrade, too). Therefore, WIFI in the room is included.
The executive rooms however, were quite disappointing - they had literally no difference compared to the standard rooms, except maybe for the WIFI; there wasn't even free bottled water. There was a bathrobe, but no slippers. We called the reception to ask for a pair and he needed us to collect it downstairs. He was kind enough nevertheless, to loan us a travel adapter.
WIFI, although free, was a hassle to get connected. There were so many webpages to navigate and then required username and password (which was provided upon check in) to log in. On top of that, the same procedure had to be repeated the next day.
Bathroom is a moderate size, a little cramp if both of us went in at the same time. Water pressure was fine during our stay, but the shower taps (both hot and cold water) made a sound when we turned them on to a certain point. My parents pointed out that their tap of the bathtub was on even though it was switched to shower mode. So, they were showering and 'washing' their feet the whole time! HI could have got this fixed and save water. Also, the rooms were dimly lit, as there were only table, bedside and standing lamps; some downlights in the ceiling would have helped tremendously, in my opinion.
Breakfast was fine both mornings, although the waitress on the first day was friendlier. The variety of food wasn't huge, but adequate. The hard-boiled eggs however, were cold.
The lift mentioned in the earlier reviews, was still out of order. We didn't have to wait long for the only lift nonetheless, since it seemed that there weren't many guests in the hotel during our stay.
On the second day of our stay, we were planning an excursion to nearby villages/sites and told the reception that we need our car. He told us kindly that the concierge was off that day and we had pick up our car by ourselves in the garage behind the hotel.
We thought our first stay at HI is pretty average, no major problem but quite a handful of little issues. There are much to be improved for this hotel, and I am not sure if I would return next time I visit Nice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street, Boulevard Victor Hugo overlook beautiful buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCKLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear TCKLY,

We were very pleased to welcome you and it is nice to hear about your satisfaction concerning the Front Desk staff and the location of the hotel.

As you said in your comment, it was a pleasure offering you an upgrade to an executive room.

Concerning the rooms, the main difference between the standard room and the executive room will be the floor, then the facilities such as a bathrobe with slippers, a kettle, and one bottle of water.
We are sorry if the slippers and the water were missing, it is our mistake. But we were happy to furnish you your slippers at the reception.

Nevertheless, we are absolutely sorry to hear that your stay was not memorable and up to your satisfaction but we appreciate your comment and your directness.

Regarding our internet system, it is quite simple, all you have to do is connect to the Holiday Inn center signal, and then once you arrive on a web page, a login and password that the reception gave you is asked. Internet is high debit and free and you only have to reconnect when your computer turns off.

About our parking, it is just behind the hotel and its 15€ per day without the valet parking. In Nice its quiet difficult to find a parking spot and it’s not always secure. So once you leave your car, you can have an easy conscience during your whole stay.

One of our elevators will be repaired in the end of the month of March. The other two ones are working properly. We are having for the moment some work done on it and hopefully, we will have an end with the elevator issues.

For your next stay do not hesitate telling the reception about you little issues, we will help you out to find a solution and our aim is to see our guests leave with a smile!
This will also make us improve for the future and do our best to make all our guests enjoy their time in Holiday Inn.

If you have any more questions concerning your stay do not hesitate contacting us on reception@holinice.com !

Kind regards,

Holiday Inn staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent 2 nights at the HI Nice. Excellent location but Nice has a tricky road network. All staff were very helpful and welcoming. Pleasant bar and good breakfast buffet. Easy walk in to central Nice and to a number of restaurants. Parking a little expensive (15 euros per night) but safe and secure. Street parking almost impossible. Executive bedroom very comfortable with minibar and tea making facility. Well worth staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the Executive floor 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear David J,

Thank you very much for your comment! Holiday Inn Nice staff is glad to know that you had a nice stay even if it was a short one.

Indeed, Nice has limited parking spaces and a quit tricky road… but once you leave your car in our parking you have the advantage to have every spots of the city to visit near by. So you can forget your car during your stay and be free to walk to the great locations and also take the train to the nearby destinations like Monaco, Cannes or visit our neighbour… Italy in just 40 minutes away!

We hope seeing you soon!

Kind regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The welcome and service by the incredibly talented staff is worth the price. We stayed two days and loved the location. Front desk staff steered us accurately to all the venues we needed, from restaurants, shopping, and the post office to refresh our French SIM card. All were in walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment on Tripadvisor.

As you said we are located right in the heart of Nice, very close to all the main spots of city: restaurants, seafront, old city or any transportation.

Regarding the free upgrades we offer to all the IHG Rewards Platinum and Gold members, it is with pleasure that we do it if the availability let us do it so.

We know how important the guest’s satisfaction is and we are happy to see that you totally enjoyed your stay and our service provided.

Looking forward to welcoming back soon for your next stay in the French Riviera,

Best Regards
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and the location was excellent. Only a few minutes walk to some superb restaurants. We were upgraded due to being a gold member and the room was perfect. Staff were very helpful and friendly and advised on bus routes, restaurants etc. Breakfast was a bit expensive but plenty of places nearby which were better value. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Der ScotinWales,

Thank you very much for your comment it’s always nice to know that our guests had a nice stay with us. Indeed, our hotel is near to the Promenade des Anglais, small boutiques, Nice Etoile Mall and also the bus or the train station to transport you to other of the beautiful destinations of the French Riviera.

As an IHG member you do have advantages like getting an upgrade of your room depending on the availability of the hotel and free drinks or snacks when you’re a gold or platinum member.

Our staff will have a pleasure to welcome you again to Holiday Inn ! We hope seeing you very soon.

If you need any information or to reserve your next stay please do not hesitate contacting us directly at reservation@holinice.com

Kind regards,
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 days. I must say the location was very convenient as there was easy access to all retails store, restaurants and just about 12 minutes walk to the train station. A 10 minutes walk to the beach. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sakko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you appreciated the location of our hotel. Indeed, It is situated downtown Nice in one of the main streets of the “Carré d’or”, close to many shops and the beach.

We hope seeing you soon in Holiday Inn! Why not for the Carnival of Nice based (one of the most known and most ancient of the world) starting the 14th of February? :)

For this special occasion we offer a package based on one night, included breakfast, cocktail and one entrance for the carnival.
For more information, don’t hesitate contacting our reservation department: reservation@holinice.com

Kind regards,
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful, which made our stay very pleasant. It wasn't a problem to communicate in English. The location of the hotel is excellent - it is easy to walk everywhere within 10-20 minutes. The beds are very comfortable. The windows are not very soundproof though. Also the breakfast was not so great from a German perspective. But all in all very enjoyable stay, and the friendly staff make up for any faults the hotel has itself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 18,057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for you kind comment about your stay at Holiday Inn and the staff and we hope that you enjoyed visiting the brilliant city of Nice.

We know how important the quality of service and our guest’s satisfaction is and we try always to do our best to make our guest stays very special.

Concerning the noise, we have soundproof windows but for next time we can propose you one of our very nice rooms situated on the corner side of the hotel.

Hope to will have the opportunity to welcome you soon,

Best wishes
Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This Hotel offers the best!! The breakfast is also well stocked , healthy selection and very clean.

Everything you would want and with a friendly helpful attitude. Excellent

Thank you I brought my family 2 boys and wife on a business trip and we very very pleased. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: call or email ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cliff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Cliff s,

Thank you very much for your positive comments; it was a pleasure receiving you and your family and we are delighted to hear that you’ve had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the hotel in total.

The hotel staff will glad to know that you appreciated their service, as every day; their main goal is to reach guest satisfaction.

We hope receiving you again at your next stay, perhaps to take full advantage of everything the French coast has to offer!

Best wishes,
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#28 of 203 in Nice
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice

Address: 20 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Business Hotel in Nice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £75 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of Nice, in a residential area, a few minutes ago from the seafront, the interesting sights and the main shopping zone. Access: International airport 7 kms, Train station 300 m. Totally refurbished in 2012! Rooms: spacious, modern and lighted, air conditioned and sound proved; marble bathrooms with hair dryer. Tea and coffee maker, satellite LCD TV and pay TV, ADSL Wifi, direct phone, electronic safety box, minibar, pillow list; Restaurant "Chez Panisse" and cocktail bar, gym center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nice Hotel Nice
Nice Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing