We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast poor & badly organised”
Review of Holiday Inn Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice
Ranked #23 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I'm writing on behalf of my mother who was visiting. They stayed for three nights & not once did they have a decent breakfast. Tables were dirty, had to wait for hot water & tables to be cleared. Food had run out an hour before breakfast was over. Third night they had to change rooms due to a leak, this was dealt with quickly & efficiently. However, when saying the kettle didn't work in the new room they were given, a jug of hot water was brought up & they were told there were no kettles available, yet there was one in the room they had just vacated an hour before.They were therefore unable to make a drink in the morning. Rooms were very clean & comfortable. If they ever decide to go back to a holiday inn they would skip the breakfast, especially as Holiday Inn are charging 20€ for breakfast. Good location.
I notice reading previous reviews guests have complained about the breakfast & management have replied they will be sorting this out. This obviously hasn't happened.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Michelle R,

We thank you for your review about your mothers experience at Holiday Inn Nice and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our renovated rooms we noted that the experience with the breakfast wasn’t up to their satisfaction.

We have a new Food & Beverage Manager the restaurant has been reorganized, the menu was revisited and breakfast also, giving you a nice choice and a better presentation of the buffet.

Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback as your comfort and satisfaction are our main preoccupations.

We hope welcoming you and your mother again,

The Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Nice
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I would like to call the attention of the management coz I left a Jacket at room 420 when i checked out last April 19. I didnt call since i know I will be back to get in Nice April 23. When I went and check they said they didnt find anything in that room. I dont have interest in tracing where the jacket is, but what i want is that this will not happen to other guest of this property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracezablan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear GRACEZABLAN,

We are sorry that you lost your jacket during your stay at Nice.
We had done some research with the Front Desk and HouseKeeping Department and we unfortunately found nothing in room 420.

If you have any questions please write us on: reception@holinice.com

Kind regards,

Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Holiday Inn, Nice is in a great location and has friendly, helpful staff.
The rooms have been modernised and are comfortable with good internet wifi.
Restaurant food is excellent. Breakfast buffet layout has been a little chaotic but I have spoken to the management there so it should improve. Breakfast food quality is very good and the room large and pleasant.
The hotel is on blvd Victor Hugo, which is quite an elegant road, so rooms at the front have a nice view but are subject to the usual traffic noise of Nice, namely motor bikes and ambulance sirens. If you want a quiet stay, choose a room at the back. Rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable.
The road at the side of the hotel has an excellent patisserie called La Lorraine, only 50 metres away on the right-hand side. Almost opposite, in Rue Grimaldi, ( and next to the Hotel Grimaldi) is the restaurant 'Davia' which serves really nice traditional French cooking. Very popular and not too expensive. The owner looks a rather forbidding lady but she speaks English and is very nice so don't be frightened! Great food and nice friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay, choose a room at the back.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Mjjba747,

Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the staff, our renovated rooms and also the Restaurant “Chez Panisse”.
We apologize for the display of the breakfast and indeed the Food & Beverage Manager is aware of this and we have improved it to offer you the best breakfast.

We hope seeing you soon ! Maybe for this summer ?

Do not hesitate contacting us at reservation@holinice.com

Best regards,

The Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent a week between cruises in this hotel and found it to be clean, comfortable and well located. We were a short walk to the Promenade, shopping street and walkable distance to the old town. We utilized the restaurant "Davia" one half block away more than once for it's good home made food and atmosphere. More modern restaurants were available two blocks away. Since it was a four star hotel, it was expensive

Room Tip: We had an east facing room overlooking the tree lined street. Not noisy. We saw the full moon rise...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear lulu5100,

Thank you very much for your comment! We are happy to know that you appreciated the hotel and the location!

We are indeed situated in the city center of Nice, 5 minutes from the beach, 10 minutes from the old town… The attractions are all at walkable distance! And if you want to discover more of the French Riviera, you have the bus and the train station just next to the hotel, giving you the possibility to go the Monaco, Cannes or Italy.

We hope seeing you for your next trip in Nice.

Best regards,

The Holiday Inn Nice Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Weshifted tomthis hotel after being dissatisfied with disabled access and noise elsewhere and were so pleased that we did so. The room was great. the wheel chair was easily maneuvered by me in this room and the bathroom was well set out. The toilet was fully accessible as was the shower and they had a bench around the basin so that I was able to reach stuff to use it. The other thing I like about the bathroom was the lightweight door which i could use myself from the wheelcahi without having to get someone to let me out of the bathroom.
The room was clean and well maintained. .
The only problem with noise was from the very heavy doors which as people went in and out of their rooms banged very loudly

On night we went down for an evening meal at the hotel which seemed to have an underutilized restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of the meal we had.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Lynne030,

We really appreciate your nice comment about your stay!! It’s a pleasure to know that the room fitted you well as it was disabled access.

Holiday Inn was renovated in 2011 to optimise every corner of the room to make your stay as comfortable possible.

Our restaurant usually opened only for business lunch is now also opened for dinner proposing you fresh Mediterranean food

We hope seeing you again for your future trip on the French Riviera.

Kind regards,

The Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I visited in March for our 7 year wedding anniversary.
What made the hotel wonderful for us was the friendliness, helpful staff who went out of their way to help us whenever we needed it. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. But the reason we would come back is the staff. Irene, Anna and the guys were fantastic. We spent 9 days and the location was excellent - we could walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. We then went to the Tour Eiffel Novotel in Paris and even though we have no complaints about that hotel (excellent breakfast, clean rooms) we missed the homely and warm feeling of the Holiday Inn. We definitely would come back to the Holiday Inn in Nice and recommend it to people who don't want to feel like they are in a fancy hotel that just cares about making the money and getting people in and out. All the best to the staff from Robin and Avi Ivan (hope you guys remember us)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Robin and Avi Ivan,

Certainly that we remember you, it has been a great pleasure to welcome you in this occasion, for you important.
You don’t imagine how much an honor is for us to read all these wonderful compliments towards the staff.

As you say, we always try to give the best of us; and, in our profession, when we receive such praise in return, our goal is reached.
I want to simply thank on behalf of all the staff. Even for us it will be a great pleasure to welcome you like our customers.
Moreover our Holiday Inn would have been jealous to know that you enjoyed more others than our hotel. :)
The emotional side is one of the highlights of our Hotel, as we cannot be in the wonderful Nice?
The long walks on the Promenade des Anglais wait for you again…

All our best wishes

Anna Daoudi
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is near the shops and a pleasant 20 min walk into the old town. The staff are really helpful. We asked for a firm pillow and it was brought to our room in under 5 minutes along with extra milk cartons.
We booked an Executive Room (rm 620) big bathroom and an end room. Not convinced it was worth it though, as it didn't have a balcony or the added extras you'd expect. Room decor clean white fresh bed linen, boarder throw at end of bed.
Word of advice. DO NOT pay extra for the breakfast, it's ok but looks rather unappetizing. Scrambled eggs were really sloppy. Go to one of the many cafe and take breakfast there, as we ended up with breakfast envy. We stopped for a coffee on one of our early morning jaunts out and saw what we were missing.
Also DO NOT be late breakfast as it finishes 10am sharp, we got there at 10.10 and the waitress wouldn't let us take any food from the trolley that she was wheeling back into the kitchen. She let us have coffee and croissants, but no hot food. Staff ended up with our Bacon Butties!!! ha ha
This was a British Airways all in trip,worth the money. As when we costed it up separately it came out a lot more.

Room Tip: 6th floor are all Exectutive rooms .Room 620 is a larger end room, which overlooks the Church. The...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to know that the localization and the staff service were appreciated from you. In effect we offer a choice among 5 quality pillows to ensure the comfort of our customers for some” sweeter dreams”.
We were also happy to bring you extras milk to add on your welcome tray that let you enjoy some hot tea, coffee or chocolate at any time.

Concerning the rooms, the difference between the standard and the executive is the highest floor, then the facilities such as a bathrobe with slippers, We don't have rooms with balcony but our executive rooms, from the 6th till the 8th floor, give you opportunity to enjoy the magnificent view of the bourgeois Victor Hugo Boulevard to make you enchant from the historical buildings and of the sunny atmosphere.

However, we are really sorry to know your disappointing about the breakfast experience, The breakfast times, communicated on the c/in, are from 6.30 till 10.00 during the week and from 7.00 till 11.00 on the week-end. We propose also the breakfast room service, available until 11 am all the week.

We hope to welcoming back soon for your next stay in the French Riviera,

Wishing you a very nice day,

Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice

Address: 20 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Business Hotel in Nice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £80 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of Nice, in a residential area, a few minutes ago from the seafront, the interesting sights and the main shopping zone. Access: International airport 7 kms, Train station 300 m. Totally refurbished in 2012! Rooms: spacious, modern and lighted, air conditioned and sound proved; marble bathrooms with hair dryer. Tea and coffee maker, satellite LCD TV and pay TV, ADSL Wifi, direct phone, electronic safety box, minibar, pillow list; Restaurant "Chez Panisse" and cocktail bar, gym center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nice Hotel Nice
Nice Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing