We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as its sister”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade
Ranked #12 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not as nice as its sister”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had stayed at their sister property in Juan-les-Pins a few days prior so were looking forward to experiencing the one in Nice.
However it was a bit of a disappointment:
-Spartan room leading off from a dark and unlit corridor (light switches off automatically in the corridors). Bathroom with poor amenities, no Kleenex, no bathrobes, shower gel of the lowest possible quality, cobwebs on the ceiling. This was supposedly a "comfort" room, the same class we had at their other property but the difference is night and day.
-A tiny lift that cannot take 2 people and 2 bags.
-Wifi, while free, does not actually work very well. Connection more miss than hit.
-Pillow far too hard and too bulky, so that your head lies at a weird angle and you end up with backache.
-Breakfast, even at only 12 Euros a head, was an absolute joke. Zero welcome by the 2 staff members working at breakfast, no Bonjour, not even a look, nothing. Low quality jams and charcuterie from the supermarket, defrosted bread. Filter coffee sits in a drip machine carafe since god knows when. Trying to ask for fresh coffee (an espresso, a cafe creme) means trying to draw the attention of the staff who are doing their best to ignore us. No smiles, no thank yous. We skipped breakfast on the 2nd day.
-The car park takes too many cars so that you end up being blocked by other guests. Reception has to come and shuffle the cars around to unblock you.

The location is a big plus point, literally 30 secs walk to the seafront, and about 10-15 mins walk to Place Massena. A medium sized supermarket across the street means you can easily get cheap water, drinks etc. if you wish.

It has to be said this is officially rated as a 3-star property, as opposed to La Villa Juan-les-Pins which I believe is rated as 4 star. However after having been very satisfied at their sister property, this one was definitely a huge let down, even considering the (for Nice) relatively low price of 135 Euros pus 15 Euros parking. I would not return here on the next trip to Nice.

Suggestion to the owners: Upgrade this hotel to the same level of service and amenities as you have in Juan les Pins and you will have a winner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    273
    58
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
308
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. everything was really nice, the room had lovely décor and it was very clean. Will stay again. there was a supermarket just in front and restaurant to eat around. the sea side was just one street away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe187441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Set within a stones throw from the 'Promenade Des Anglais' this little boutique style hotel is a great choice for couples on romantic short breaks. The staff were welcoming and attentive telling us they upgraded our room upon arrival. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Phillipe even took pleasure in making my wife a cup of tea 'English style' after a long day out as there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms. Easy to get to from the airport and takes between 15 and 20 mins, the number 98 bus stops at 'Gambetta Promenade' within 50 metres of the hotel and at the cost of 4 euros for a daily travel card. There is a vast array of restaurants and cafes close by to choose from. The big name shops that are synonymous with the area are situated only 5 minutes away. We didn't have breakfast but opted to find a boulangerie and sit on the front soaking up the sunshine on the Cote D'Azur before ascending Castle Hill for breath taking views of Nice and blue seas. Definitely a hotel we'd return to if visiting Nice again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebirds321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siena
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and were extremely satisfied. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely gentlemen who took care of us and offered us a larger room than we had anticipated.
Rooms lovely and clean with a large comfortable bed. Crisp linen and fluffy towels.
The location was perfect, just back form the promenade and withi walking distance to Place Massena and Old Nice. We will definately stay here again...highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a great hotel for the money. Fabulous location, clean and well cared for. The front desk man Arthur was very friendly and helpful. We weren't sure about having breakfast but really glad we did. Eggs, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, breads, cereals, yogurts, juice and tea and coffee. Best deal in Nice for breakfast I think. The room was small but the bathroom was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. We've made a reservation for Friday night and then will spend another 3 nights there on our return from Portugal. Hope we won't be disappointed but don't think we will. Also, great secure car parking which is a real bonus for those with a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peilinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Visited the hotel in august 2012 for 4 nights. It is small but clean and cozy with very helpful staff. They helped with booking trips to Monaco and St Tropez.The breakfast was good.The location is perfect. Very close to the bus stop and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Our first trip to Nice, but very glad we chose to stay at Villa Nice Promenade - the staff were incredibly friendly, spoke good English and couldn't help us enough. The room had very modern decoration, an amazing super king size bed and the best shower we have ever used. Air con worked brilliantly and was included in the cost. Location was brilliant just a one minute walk to the promenade and 10 minute walk to the city centre. We opted to go out for breakfast, but something simple and cheap did us fine. The train station is a 10 minute walk away, nice and easy to get to Monte Carlo!

Room Tip: Make sure it has a good bed and, if the chance pops up, a balcony room might be a good experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
402 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade

Property: Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade
Address: 11 rue Saint Philippe, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Nice City Centre, this elegant hotel is just 50 metres from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a furnished terrace shaded by an orange tree and provides free Wi-Fi access. Each air-conditioned guest room is equipped with a flat-screen TV and some of the stylish rooms have a balcony. The private bathrooms are decorated in light shades of grey. A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade. Guests can enjoy a drink on the terrace or in the stylish lounge areas.Nice Old Town is 1.5 Km from Hotel La Villa and the Beaux-Arts Museum is a 10-minute walk away. Private parking is available on site, upon reservation and at an extra cost of 15€. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing