We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Roy Soleil

view from front balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from front balcony
View from balcony  enjoy the sunshine Sitting / Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
view from front balcony
View from balcony  enjoy the sunshine
Sitting / Dining Room
Elegant dining!
View from sitting room
Take in the view of the Azur sea
View of the Promenade des Anglais taken from the balcony
The cosy sitting room
Fully Fitted American Kitchen
Master bedroom
master bedroom
Second Bedroom (twins or double)
Main family bathroom
Master bedroom en suite
Front view of Le Roy Soleil
Hallway Le Roy Soleil
view from rear balcony
Enjoying the sunshine from the balcony
Port Vauban at Antibes
Ski at Isola 2000 - 1 hours drive from Nice
Visit nearby Monaco
view from front balcony
opposite apartment
balcony at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dallens20...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at the Le Roy Soleil was simply perfect. The facilities were great and everything we needed was catered for; great kitchen, living room (with books and DVDs), wi-fi and a lovely balcony upon which we enjoyed our fresh patisseries from the local shop just around the corner. There was also a local Spar store just around the corner which catered for all our other supply needs. The location was so central; from the balcony we could relax and enjoy the calming view of the beach and watching all the people walking along the promenade. The old town with all its shops and restaurants was only an easy 20 minute walk.
Kate also gave us a great induction upon arrive; sharing lots of local information and events with us to ensure our stay was perfect.
I would recommend it to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaT824
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sitting on the patio for breakfast every morning for 3 weeks was heaven”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the apartment and we loved the spaciousness of it.
When you spend 3 weeks in an apartment, one must be comfortable and happy in one's temporary accommodation and I therefore I feel that I must also point out a few problems that we encountered as well.
There was a very dim light in the main bathroom, I had to use a torch to operate the washing machine, no light above the mirror and my husband could not even shave himself in there.
The bed in the main bedroom was terrible. I woke up several times during the night, always having to move from one end to the other. Waking up in the morning with a sore back is not a good way to start a day. We also found that the bed's mattresses in the same room were quite dirty and stained, something I am not used to and have never encountered before. We have stayed in apartments all over the world in fact.
I would therefore not give it 5 stars as I want to be honest about it.
The owner was most sincere about the problems and is going to look into it which is how it should be. We appreciate their concern.
We are in a beautiful apartment in Paris for 2 weeks at present and cannot find fault with anything in fact.
We do love Nice, have quite a few friends there, French and Irish and normally visit every 2nd year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the apartment, also its spaciousness and great location. We are surprised the two problems highlighted were not raised with Kate, our apartment manager, who was contactable at all times during your 3 week stay.

Firstly with regards to the bathroom, we had difficulty sourcing in Nice replacement bulbs for the light above the mirror, these had to be ordered via internet and have since arrived and been replaced. In addition we have replaced the central light with a stronger bulb, so all are now working correctly.

The bed in the main bedroom (as explained in our website) can be made up as 2 singles or combined to make a 6ft double. In retrospect you may have been more comfortable if the bed was made up as a single rather than trying to find a comfortable position in the center of the combined beds.

We have not had any previous negative comments from guests about the condition or comfort of the beds and feel your description of the condition of the mattress is greatly exaggerated. We would like to point out that all mattresses and pillows in the apartment are fitted with protectors which are washed on a regular basis to ensure constant high standards.

However in light of your comments and in order to reassure future guests we have decided to change and upgrade the mattresses thus ensuring a good nights sleep for all.

In spite of the problems we note and appreciate you giving the apartment 4 out of 5 stars, no doubt inspired by your off screen comments that "the apartment is in a great location, extremely quiet and well equipped plus the balcony has been well utilised over the last 3 weeks and overall we have enjoyed our stay very much".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan H
French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment and service”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in the Roy Soleil apartment for four days in October and were delighted with the location, ambience and standard of the apartment. It's extremely well located, within walking distance of the old town and very well serviced by buses. It has a beautiful view over the sea and any noise can be easily eliminated at night by closing the window shutters.

Kate, who manages the apartment, is particularly helpful and well informed and she really helped us to get the most out of our stay.

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the expert advice from Kate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommiboy
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This apartment is a resort in it's own right !”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This apartment was recommended to us by relatives and we were not disappointed. We had been to Nice several times but had never been self-catering. Le Roy Soleil is an ideal location. The view is incredible and bus stops and shops most convenient. The apartment was a real home from home, comfortable, spacious, well equipped and beautifully clean. Having the balcony overlooking the sea was the icing on the cake. Kate looked after us so well from the start of booking to the end of the holiday. We hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting out on the balcony overlooking Promenade des Anglais
Liked least: The "spooky" basement area for rubbish disposal..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and view
Liked least: Unable to use the rear balcony
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
Pleased to hear you found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We are sorry the motor on the electrical blind in the main bedroom was broken at the time of your stay. It has since been replaced and is in good working order now. The rear balcony actually is accessible from both bedrooms. The apartment overlooks the sea from its central position on the Promenade des Anglais, this famous road travels along Nice’s Mediterranean waterfront.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Romania
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the view, the view
Liked least: Nothing to suggest
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing