We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as anticipated”
Review of Les Deux Canailles

Les Deux Canailles
Ranked #108 of 1,924 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not as good as anticipated”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had heard great things about the place so were really excited to go. Service was unbelievably slow- it took 20 minutes just to get the menu, and the place (which is small) was not full. Similarly, quite a wait between courses. The décor is very stark and looks a bit like a naked American Diner with plastic table mats on fake wood bistro tables. We had the 3 course menu which was good, but nothing memorable (especially considering the price); the foie gras was average, the onglet as well apart from the fried brussel sprout which was delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    72
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We had a chef's choice menu which was excellent for quantities and quality.
Every plates were delicious and tasteful.
Price range is high but great for special occasions.
Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hiritos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We walked past this restaurant during our wander round Nice, as we thought it looked interesting we looked it up on tripadvisor. We were surprised by the reviews as we hadn't heard of the restaurant before and decided to book. The evening surpassed our expectations. The service was excellent and the restaurant was very comfortable. The food, however was exquisite. I had the tasting menu and my husband had the 45 euro, both were excellent value. The amuse bouches set the scene, the standout dishes were the langoustines, the risotto with fois gras, beef cheek and the deserts. We were the only people not photographing the dishes as they appeared! Enjoy but you will have to book.

Helpful?
1 Thank jbblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vence, France
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We liked the relaxed atmosphere, the excellent japanese inspired cuisine and the nice and friendly service. The tasting menu was a real delight, well worth a Michelin star. However: Bill reflecting this.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This place has been refered to us by the excellent concierge of P"alais de la Mediterranée.I don't know why, but we had not big expedtations.
The place is simple, but from the welcome smile everything run well. The food was simply delicitous, delicate and tasty. I agree totaly with the fellow who wrote that "it is not at all fusion but a Japonese take on French cooking", that is what it is!
Imagine a rocquefort risotto (under melting foie gras, huuumm!) that tastes rocquefort but it is not domineted by its presence.
In a word I can say that it beats starred restaurantes as, for instance, Faveurs.
Do give a try, it pays.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAmemberSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Deux Canailles also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Deux Canailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing