We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Elegant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Petit Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quiet and Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel staff welcomed us, and we were fortunate to occupy our room at noon, since it was ready (other guests were leaving luggage until their room was ready). Although not spacious, the room served our needs for two days of relaxed tourism and time zone recovery before boarding a cruise ship. The bed was extremely comfortable, not always a given in boutique hotels. The location is within walking distance of the main sights of Nice, although the walk is much easier downhill from the hotel--you may want to take a taxi back up the hill. It is very close to the Chagall Museum, which we found delightful and easy to navigate at a leisurely pace. Compared to other parts of Nice, the hotel is in a very quiet residential district, good for sleeping early or late. The breakfast (at a cost of 16 Euro per person) featured very high quality ingredients and looked out on a beautiful garden (in warm weather, you can eat outside). Unless you want an active nightlife, this is a comfortable place to stay at a competitive price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    151
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
71
286
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I just returned from five days and four nights at this lovely little pearl of a hotel. Tastefully decorated, luxurious, simple and elegant best describe this find. The entire staff is very warm and friendly, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the maid service impeccable. The staff speak English and graciously tolerated my French. ;-) They even have room service if you just can't bring yourself to leave your room. My husband and I have been married sixteen years, but we kept looking at one another and saying, "this is the best honeymoon we ever had!" The views over Nice and the Baie des Anges was breathtaking morning, noon and night -- even (maybe especially!) in the rain. It's tucked away up a little hill and away from the madding crowd, but close enough you can be in the thick of things in a few minutes. A small note for those who don't like walking: the little hill may be something you'd rather not do. Other than that, I can't think of a better place on earth to be. We'll be back!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are good, but a corner room affords the best views, of course. It's a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoore0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel in Nice. It is about a 10 minute walk from the old city, but worth the extra distance as the hotel's surrounding streets and neighbourhood are much nicer than the rest of Nice that we saw. Great breakfast in a very nice outdoor courtyard.

Room Tip: Stay with a view over the city. Lovely sunset views of Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hectagon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great hotel, very clean with good service and friendly helpful staff, would give it 5 with a better breakfast. Well located in a quiet area close to some great eating places, though a steep walk back to the hotel.

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room with a balcony and lovely view over the Mediterranean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here in early October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the wonderful staff. The hotel is technically located in an area called Cimieux which is about a 20 minute walk downhill to the Old Town of Nice. It is in a quiet residential area and parking was easily available on the same block as the hotel. The hotel is beautiful and we loved our room, which was very tastefully furnished. It was located on the "first" floor (which is NOT the ground floor) with a balcony that overlooked the cityscape and sea view of Nice - absolutely beautiful. The room was well maintained, very clean and comfortable..The ground floor contains the dining room and there are rooms on that floor that would have a private garden but would not have had the same view. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and provided good recommendations on a number of things including restaurants. The breakfast had a nice selection of items and the outdoor area was very inviting on a warm day, while the indoor dining room was charming. I had looked at other hotels closer to the port and the Old Town and the downside with those hotels was that they were likely subject to more street noise, while it was peaceful in this location. Just be ready for that walk back up the hill!

Room Tip: higher floor will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashaw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel, i must say, is really beautiful. Clean and quiet, good breakfast. BUT there are quite a lot of BUTs to the stay.
First of all, we ordered a seaview room, but were said that the air-conditioning of our room doesn't work, so they will have to put us to a room on the ground floor, but with a private garden. Of course, as it later turned out (the hotel is small and all the guests are friendly to each other), our room was actually occupied by an influencial person, who wanted to stay precisely in that room... and of course, our room did not have a private garden, but a table in the main dining garden with 4 outer air-conditioning humming to our backs. But we did not get ourselves disturbed and used the whole main garden (which was actally closed to most guests most of the time) as our private garden and took our blankets and laptops there and drank our own wine there. Well, I guess that was the price they had to pay.
The reception lady was AWFULLY rude. Not just "French rude". She didn't speak English, just a few words (we used Google translate to tell her things) and when our outer air-conditioning made a really disturbing noise that could not even be silenced by a sleeping pill and two pillows she just shrugged and called it Casper (the friendly ghost) who has got stuck in there and just went away. Again, we just pushed the air-conditioning to its side and the sound stopped. But there was NO HELP from the staff. Total carelessness.
Oh, and the cold-shoulder we received on the day of check-out, like we hadn't even been customers was also quite off putting. Although, yes, they were very busy with an Americal lady there, who also wanted to check out, but couldn't because thet had double-charged her (first Expedia and then they wanted to take the money for the second time). She spent the whole morning there, arguing with them. And I am 100% sure that she was not happy about it.
So, the hotel itself is really nice. I am sure the view from the sea-view room would have been increadible, but our "private garden" was quite good as well (although I would have been furious if they had put us to ANY OTHER ROOM). And if you take absolutely no notice of the staff there, then your stay is really nice. Oh, and although the hotel is up the hill I considered it a plus, as the area is REALLY QUIET. But if we would have stayed there in July and the weather was 38 degrees, then maybe I wouldn't be so optimistic. We visited in September. Oh, and taxi is HORRIBLY expensive. Don't trust what the staff say about 10 EUR from city to the hotel. It is 20 EUR minimum, even if the drive is just 2 km's. hahahaa
My suggesion to the hotel: hire friendly people to this exceptional hotel and my rating next time will be 5, really!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blessington, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Excellent throughout from the moment you step into the Hotel entrance, till the moment we left. We were met on arrival with a big reassuring smile by Philip at reception who was lloking forward to our arrival and he also offered us much help during our two day stay. The previous two reviews aptly say it all. The staff are a credit to their industry. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siobhan_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Property: Hotel du Petit Palais
Address: 17 avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing