We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Petit Palais for a week at the beginning of September, staying in a superior sea view room with a terrace overlooking the Baie des Anges (Bay of Angels). This boutique hotel of some 25 rooms is located uphill in one of Nice's upscale residential areas called Cimiez.

Needless to say, our stay exceeded our expectations. All of the staff could not have been more helpful or charming and took a sincere and personable interest in ensuring our stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one. We also met the owners of the hotel and their charm mirrored that of their staff.

We rented a car and had no trouble finding the place (with our GPS) which was about a 15 minute drive from the airport.

This is what we liked about staying here:

- The king size bed was very comfortable with great linens.
- The bidet in the bathroom. Every hotel room should have one!
- The fantastic views from the terrace.
- That there was available parking at 10 euro per night (which was totally worth it to us). The alternative is to park for free on the street which can become quite crowded.
- The breakfast buffet was great. At 16 euro per person, some may find that a bit expensive, but we thought the price was fine given the quantity and quality of food available and the beautiful outdoor courtyard it was served in.
- The quiet neighbourhood the hotel is located in.

For us, this was truly a dream vacation. Our time in Nice and at this hotel is one that will not be forgotten.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great place to stay in Nice!

Merci

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Perfect hotel in liberty style.
Accomodation very confortable. Large room, accurately fournisced and cleaned.
The breakfast also is perfect for its high quality products (remarkable the tea des amantes).
Great choice for a birthday gift. My wife highly appreciated.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Le Petit Palais is a wonderful small boutique hotel set in an affluent residential neighbourhood (making it a nice, quiet oasis tucked away from the throngs of tourists by the Promenade). They have a small pool with poolside service as well as a cute little bar and a wonderful terrace where breakfast is served in the morning and drinks are served in the evening.

It is set up on the hill giving it amazing panoramic views over the town and the bay (book a room with a view). The walk up the hill from the Promenade and the old town is no more than 10 minutes and we appreciated the chance for the walk after dinner. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff is extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

I will DEFINITELY stay here again on my next trip to Nice.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view (the views are spectacular)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineM998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

A nice humble haven on top of a hill a short stroll from the centre of town. Decent room, pretty basic, a little overpriced I think, for what it was. Would also have liked to have been informed that breakfast was not included. It served its purpose and I have no doubt it would have been better than some of the beachfront shoebox hotels!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We came upon this little gem this past June while visiting Nice during their annual celebration of Summer Solstice. What a pleasant surprise when we drove up to this little palace. Set on a hill overlooking the ocean, this hotel did not disappoint. The staff from the front desk to the waiters/waitresses at the included breakfast could not be nicer and couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was perfect. The bedding and amenities were top notch. We booked room 202 which was pricey BUT, if you are on a special trip (honeymoon/anniversary) is worth it. This room boasts its own terrace overlooking the Côte d'Azur, the pool below to the left and the breakfast area below to the right . Grab a bottle of champagne and enjoy this terrace as you watch the moon over the water....it's incredible. It is in a residential area but is a short cab ride downtown Nice.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a treasure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagnasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Highly recommend this gorgeous place. Set on a (steep) hill in old Nice the rooms are spacious and we overlooked the ocean (albeit some distance away). The garden with breakfast (we didn't have it here as there was a stunning boulangerie (open every day) very close to the base of the hill where the hotel is perched upon) is beautiful, spacious and a little pool for the adventurous.
It's a little hike to get back but who doesn't need a hike after eating French food all day!
The rooms are cute french, wall paper, mirrors but spacious and light. I wouldn't want for anything else in a hotel room.
The front of house at the hotel was especially helpful. He has a great knowledge of restaurants and is very honest about the quality of food. His recommendations were excellent and we enjoyed chatting to him each morning about our plans. Very friendly, easy going and helpful.
We would stay here again any day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniqueS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nice hotel overall. On a bit of a hill and in a residential (but very nice) area so beware non-walkers. I didnt realise that the hotel had private parking so left my car at the airport. Boo. Also didnt realise there was a little pool. I mean little! However it was enough to get me in my daughters' good books. The room we had looked a tad tired but had all we required. The staff (especially the lady whose name i have unfortunately forgotten) were excellent and unbelievably attentive. All in all it was good stay and would recommend if you are not on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbob_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 204 in Nice
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Address: 17 Avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £88 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing