We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in Peaceful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed 6 nights in Petit Palais at the end of June. Had a charming room with views looking over Nice and the ocean. Staff very friendly and welcoming.Breakfast delicious. Did not mind the walk "up the hill" from town. Good exercise and well worth the peace and quiet. Will certainly try and visit Nice and the Petit Palais in the near future.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are beautiful looking out over the ocean from up on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The front desk staff were exceptional! The helped with dinner recommendations and even made reservations for us as well. The room was perfect! We had a great private patio outside our room which we brought our breakfast back to enjoy. Its on a little bit of a hill and you do have to walk up and down each time down into town but it was not a big deal at all. If anything it adds to the charm and keeps you off the main hustle and bustle of the main streets. Its only and 10 min walk to old nice and the beach. The car service from the airport was a no brainer and super convenient. The cost was 42 Euro. The main train station is a short walk away as well. We loved the staff so much as we checked out we ended up talking with the gentlemen for over 45mins. It was truly special!

Room Tip: The upper rooms may have a better view. We were on the ground floor and there was no view as there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed four nights in the Palais hotel. Much more like a bed and breakfast then chain hotel. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Wireless and air conditioning worked extremely well and the staff was very friendly. Remembers your name and always with a smile. Location was high up on the hill in a residential area so quite quiet. The walk to the major parts of Nice takes about 10 minutes. It's a bit of an uphill walk back to the hotel, but it is good exercise after a day out. nice is also very convenient as a central location to explore other riviera towns. The bus to Monaco takes about 35 minutes and costs 1.5 euros. Great views along the way of the coastline. The other direction is Cannes and you can catch a train for about 17 euros and be there in 30 minutes. The train station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have a nice patio with table and chairs for an intimate breakfast or bottle of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had to book with some financial constraints, and was a bit worried about what I would find. I had no need to worry, and why this is 3* only surprises me!
The staff are very lovely and happy to speak good English, their service was wonderful. The rooms were generous, and the bathroom had everything you could want. I had a terrace room, and I really enjoyed being able to sit out there in the beautiful Nice weather. The hotel is at the top of a hill, so it takes about 15mins to walk straight up, and if you are happy to do that, I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelPhotoCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews on trip advisor and it lived up to expectations with its lovely terrace. However its location and the lack of taxis in Nice (especially late at night) means it's not ideal if you want a late evening out without a long walk home in the dark. We did get a number from the hotel for a driver who collected us after midnight at a cost of 20 euro but it does mean you need to be quite organised. The beach bags / shopping did seem much heavier at the end of the day than the start as well, which meant on two evenings we really couldn't be bothered going back out once we'd made it back. I've marked location as average because i think it really depends what you're looking for, so don't necessarily let that put you off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After reading reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor we booked a room with a balcony and a view of the Mediterranean for 3 nights in May 2014 and expected a very pleasant stay. We were not disappointed. Our room had a view of the city and the Mediterranean from our balcony. We ordered a light breakfast (coffee and croissants) for our room, a cheaper option than going downstairs to the buffet though the patio is a pleasant place to eat. The weather was lovely so we were able to enjoy breakfast at the small table on our balcony every morning, and a glass of wine in the afternoon. The hotel is on a hill, but it is not a difficult walk down to the center of old Nice if you enjoy walking. Cabs are available if you don't want to walk back up the hill. The staff is small but extremely friendly and helpful. We took Philippe's restaurant suggestions and enjoyed the local fare. And Philippe was a wonderful host.

Room Tip: Do take a room with a balcony overlooking Nice and the Mediterranean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oma_J21228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is just lovely. We had an ocean view room and the room was generously sized especially for Europe...the view was amazing. The entire staff was extremely friendly and treated us like family. We enjoyed drinks and snacks by the pool. The breakfast was ok...pretty overpriced...especially since there are quite a few places to eat 10-15 minutes from the hotel. This hotel is in a quiet neighborhood...a bit of a walk from the hustle and bustle. I agree with other reviewers...the walk is not for the elderly, pregnant or even slightly out of shape. Going down into the city isn't bad...but coming back up is difficult. The bathrooms were very nice...exceptional bath products. The details of this hotel are very thoughtful. We would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowers1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,280 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 203 in Nice
2,517 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Address: 17 avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £82 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing