We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Riviera Vacation”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #21 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice, friendly, and convieniently located. The breakfast was good and the garden was peaceful. There was an aviary in the middle of the garden and sometimes the birds were a bit annoying. I didn't notice it all the time, just when the garden was crowded. I ate breakfast early and the garden and everything was wonderful.

Room Tip: I had a corner double room on the 4th floor. I could hear the street noise, but it didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1vettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Nice after 2 weeks in a villa in Vence, so a short city break after a beach and culture fortnight. The hotel is well placed and has a useful temporary parking space for unloading bags. The lobby is great, eclectic in design and a cool escape from the outside heat. The receptionists are all super friendly in fact all the hotel staff were wonderful. The small hotel lift with the space rocket countdown amused our 4 year old sun. After lift off we arrived at our room, wonderfully quiet with a balcony overlooking the amazing garden. Dinner was excellent and very reasonable with one of the best waiters I've ever experienced. Breakfast was also good served by a very friendly (and pretty) waitress. The room was well equipped and laid out and we all slept very well. I can't fault any of it and will definitely stay here again the next time that we're in Nice. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mat12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear customer,


Thank you so much for your great comment.
We are waiting for you for a next stay in your home on the Riviera,

Best regards,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After touring Provence for a week, we transfered to the Windsor Hotel for a 5 night stay in Nice. I don't know what's with European plumbers but the Windsor was the first European Hotel that had a great shower with plenty of hot water. We were in the middle of a hot spell so we also were thankful for the excellent Air Conditioning. The room was bright and very comfortable. As we were on the move visiting places up and down the Riviera, we didn't get to use many of the hotel facilities like their massages, pool or work out room but our room was more than adequate. We ate out but the hotel resturant menu looked pretty good.

The location is slightly removed from the touristy areas but well within walking distances to everywhere we wanted to go and it was a lot quieter.

The staff is friendly and very helpful.

I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice and reasonable European hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

For a few days in mid-June my home on the Riviera was this wonderful hotel.
The staff were great in their service.
My Garden View room overlooking the gardens and pool was light and airy, so the big windows could be left open at night.
The bed was soft and the pillows melted into my head to generate excellent sleep.
The concierge staff provideed great tour advice.
The breakfasts were serene, in the courtyard as the birds in the aviary cheeped away and the sun filtered through the trees.
On some nights, there are jazz groups playing under the trees as glasses tinkle.
One quirky touch I loved was the range of Tintin posters up the stairways.
Overall, a great, very economical hotel for 3 streets back from the beach and the Promenade.
Great stay!

Room Tip: Select a room with a Garden view, great light as the birds wake you in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest,

I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay. Birds and all my team hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one week in beginning of June. The hotel is situated about 200 meters from the Beach. As one of few hotels in Nice it has its own garden to relax, take a bath in a small pool, eat or take a drink.
In my view the hotel should cut down some of the trees so the sun could visit the garden. An other problem in the garden was a group of attacking pigeons. I do not like to have pigeons walking on our table while we were eating breakfast!
The rooms are of different sizes, but I recommend to take the expensive rooms in order to have room towards the garden.
The staff was friendly, especially the young trainee from Holland
We hope that the trees are cut and the pigeons shot when we return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms to the garden are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnutPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your enjoying comment.
We cut trees every year but when it is very hot in summer, we appreciate to have a lot of shadow.
It is easier to find sun on the promenade than shadow.
We are happy to have many kinds of birds in our garden but i will study how to get out of pigeons.

Best regards,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent a most relaxing and enjoyable week in the hotel Windsor in April. We appreciated the central but still peaceful location, with a short walk to the seaside boulevard, to the old town and easy access to different parts of Nice. As art lovers we were excited by the art hotel concept – and were not disappointed. Our room (privilege category) at the top floor was delightfully full of light and spaceous, white walls and ceiling decorated with subtle sea and sun brush strokes - perfect to create a relaxing atmosphere we were after. The balcony gave towards the lush hotel garden. The jungle-like garden must be a lovely place to linger at lazy breakfasts and afternoon drinks later in the spring and summer – our spring week was still a little too cool weatherwise for that. We also booked two sessions of body massage from the hotel spa at the top of the hotel, and can warmly recommend their high quality and professional treatments (check the massage menu at the hotel website – book in good time ahead since they seem to be popular). The service at Windsor was throughout friendly, competent and helpful – especial thanks to Patricia! For dinner, there are lots of options around if you do not want to dine at the hotel; we would recommend our favorite small bistro close by, L'Ecole du Nice at 16 rue de la Buffa – lovely imaginative food, great local wines, friendly service, see http://www.lecoledenice.com/. Windsor is a hotel with a soul - and we certainly want to return!

Room Tip: Ask a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

I'm especially happy to satisfy art lovers. We work hard in this direction, even if we want to be as good as others for services and food. We don't forget this is very important to allow customers to be available for Art work.

Hope to see you soon,

Best regards,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited this Hotel in Nice a few years ago and found it to be one of our best "Finds!" We would love to re visit. It is set back from the beach so that it is conveniently placed between the Beach and the Rail station. The rooms are individually decorated and the garden where we had breakfast each day was a haven of peace and quiet amidst the business of Nice itself. Highly recommended!.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear guest,

I'm sure you will be happy to see more work since your last stay.

We will be glad to see you soon,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#12 of 204 in Nice
852 reviews
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#23 of 204 in Nice
213 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £75 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 31 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing