We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #20 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The Hotel Windsor in Nice on first impressions is nice, the lobby though small is modern and airy, the garden is a little oasis in a city, the bar and dining room are small, but that doesn't matter when there's so much choice nearby. The staff were incredibly friendly too.

BUT...I would have reservations about making a reservation here again. Please read to the end.

When I booked the room, I sent the hotel an email looking for a few things like a double bed, balcony, facing courtyard. The reply was efficient but said that to get a balcony we'd have to pay extra for one of the more expensive rooms. I considered it, but decided to just leave it. My gut instinct was we were already paying over the odds for the room anyway.

So we arrived and the hotel and were delighted with their friendliness and were able to get a room with a balcony (or what would pass for one in my opinion). It seemed very small and then other reviews of the hotel came into mind - namely that they tend to shove people in the smallest room first until they complain.

We asked to be moved; it was too small and there was no on wall or ceiling showerhead, just a shower on the side of the bath - not good enough in my opinion. So we had a choice of two other rooms and we chose one, courtyard side with what would pass as a balcony i.e. a ledge I could sit on to have a cigarette out the window.

We decided not to eat at the hotel, while dinner seemed decently priced we felt we could get a breakfast more to our liking for €3 less each.

The rooms we looked at and the one we chose to stay on, we felt were all a bit on the basic side. In Ireland so many hotels are purpose built there seems to be a standard standard expected of even 3* hotels. Modern. Quality. Cheap.

In Nice I understand a lot of hotels are in older buildings, but we just felt like this was slightly worn decorwise, more fitting as a hostel than a hotel, I'd think. Or the prices could be a bit lower...

Speaking of prices. On check-in the manager guy specifically wrote on a piece of paper what the room rate was. On checkout I realised the bill was a good bit more than I had expected it to be. "The computer" he said had automatically picked the higher room rate - he pointed to the board behind him - the normal rate for that time of year is €15 more a night. But I, like so many travellers nowadays had booked through a booking engine with slightly lower rates.

Still, computer's mistake or whatever, we felt it was wrong that we should have been charged this extra amount.

If you still want to stay here, take my advice - ask to see a few rooms, the first one you will be shown will likely to be a small one beside the lift. Please check your final bill, especially if you're checking out in a rush, maybe heading for an early morning flight, like us.

I will not be recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sparklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2008

Spent 3 nights recently at Hotel Windsor, and thought it was a great hotel for the price. The staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English quite well. As others indicated, the garden is lovely, there is one computer station for free internet access, and the hotel has a stylish art-deco sensibility. The hotel has a few nice amenities, including a pool/deck, fitness room and sauna, as well as a bar area and plenty of room in the lobby/lounge and courtyard to relax.

My room, while not that terribly impressive was decent sized and very clean. I would highly recommend booking in advance so you can get a room facing the courtyard--I peeked into a couple of these as they were getting cleaned, and they are really lovely. Also, I'm not certain, but it seems that the 4th and 5th floor of the hotel might have been more recently upgraded--the decor of the hallways was more modern and quite nice.

The hotel is conveniently located from the pedestrian area where cafes and stores line the streets and is within close distance from the old part of town, and only a handful of blocks of the beach and Promenade des Anglais.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

The Hotel Windsor is situated in the middle of lots of restaurants and bars ranging from nice sit down eateries to quick take away shops. It has a spacious lobby with an abundance of personality and looks out onto the pleasant, well-maintained garden that has a tropical, rain forest feel. The restaurant has a rather small menu.

Room 112 had a very impressive contemporary design and looked towards the garden. Each room is unique with its very own design by various big name contemporary artists.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful in all aspects. This hotel is good for any visitor, apart from those who do not appreciate modern art.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EddieFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Fantastic art deco hotel with great staff. We spent 2 nights at this hotel. We arrived very early and were greeted by friendly staff. There is free internet access, decent sized rooms, fabulous bathroom, fridge, balcony etc etc. It is several blocks from the beach between the beach and the train station. The lift is the highlight, takes off like a rocket!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zoukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We spent two nights in Hotel Windsor in July 08. The room (number 5) was very disappointing, it was very small, dark, noisy and badly in need of redecoration. We asked to be moved to a better room overlooking the courtyard but none were available.

On the plus side it is in a good location and has a lovely garden and pool area. The breakfast is also very good and represents good value compared to other Provencal hotels that we stayed at.

Pluses:
Location
Value for money
Garden and pool area

Minuses:
Avoid rooms overlooking the street and opt for courtyard room
Rooms need updating

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank resident-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We booked this hotel because it seemed to be central and had a nice pool & garden setting.
We were not disappointed. The hotel is great. Extremely clean, nicely furnished, good value for money, extremely central, walking distance to the beach, shopping & restaurants. Has free Internet, very friendly staff. If you choose to have breakfast it is served in the garden by the pool which is really nice. I can highly recommend this city hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NickyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

For a reasonable price this hotel offers good location, friendly service (also in English), stylish public areas, a little gym and a lovely (although shady) garden with a pool.

The standard room - not one of those "designer rooms" - was a bit worn, but totally acceptable and always clean.

We might very well stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
849 reviews
Musiciens
La Malmaison Nice
La Malmaison Nice
#28 of 203 in Nice
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: £71 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 31 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing