We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great location”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #21 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My first impression upon arrival was that the staff is super friendly and attentive, which luckily continued though out my entire stay. Every person I came in contact with was super nice and helpful.
The location is great as well, you can reach the Promenade des Anglais in just a few minutes and the shopping and restaurants are very nearby as well, it is also a nice walk to the old town of Nice.
The hotel itself is a typical boutique hotel with a large focus on design. The lush garden is a very nice spot for relaxation as well.
So, in general, it is a great place, but there are a couple of downsides as well. The hotel could be a bit better maintained. For example were both the plug for the tub, and the one for the lavatory stuck, so the water couldn't run down the drain. And a piece of the faucet was loose, but you could still use it. But I guess that's just a little french and you have to live with stuff like that in France ;)
So overall, I think it's a nice place for a trip to Nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    460
    129
    35
    20
See reviews for
111
547
59
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lovely boutique hotel in excellent location. Short walk to beach, shops and fantastic array of restaurants. No problem walking around the area late night. Great staff. Breakfast was good and not too expensive. Hotel garden amazing - a work of art itself. Room a little dated but did not detract from the charm of the hotel. Garden room balcony provided a relaxing, quite and cool retreat for a short rest break late on a hot summer afternoon. Hope to enjoy a return trip to Nice and this hotel again!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights. Beautiful room with garden view. Clean and very good location: walking distance from the train station, old Nice and the beach. We had supper there one night: very good. Only minus: pool is not heated ( quite cold) and is close after 7pm. Great and friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from Hotel Windsor yesterday, staff are very friendly and helpful, gave us lots of useful information from restaurants to train times, places to visit. The room was spacious and very clean, we had a privilege room which had a small balcony and garden view. Free safe and wifi which worked very well. The Hotel is very central and only a few minutes walk to the Promenade and around ten minutes walk to the old town. We didn't eat at the Hotel but the menus did look very good and reasonably priced. We had breakfast at The Pirate which is around two minutes walk from the Hotel and this was really good. We mainly ate in the old town and would recommend a restaurant called Le Lodge which did a nice 3 course set menu for 21 euros. Travelled to Monaco by train which takes around 20 minutes and costs 4 euros each way. The train does get very busy so I recommend you arrive at the platform at least 5 -10 mins before its due to guarantee a seat. Spent a day at the promenade, very rocky and gets very busy, you need a pair of shoes for the sea as you can get thrown about a bit and it is quite sore on your feet, you can buy them in the local shops for around 10 euros getting out of the water is harder as it goes down in a slope. I would recommend this Hotel to my friends and family and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Privilege Room, garden view and balcony, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milocatGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located close to the beach and the town center. It has a nice tropical garden with a pool.
Staff is nice and helpful.

There is a complementary fitness.
The furniture in the room was a bit old, the bed was good. The room was clean.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at hotel Windsor for 4 nights in August 2014 together with my mother. It has a great location - the hotel is near the sea and you can walk to the railway station and the city center in 10..15 minutes. There is a grocery store at the same street and many restaurants nearby.

We had a great air conditioning in our room and it was clean too. The sink hold the water and we had to ask twice to fix it. The wifi didnt work either in the room, only in the lobby. This should have been told when we made the reservation but it wasn't. We had the hotel breakfast only once, it was ok but you can find better deals from the nearby cafe's.

We had nice dinner at L Ecole de Nice which I recommend. The hotel staff was happy to help with the dinner reservations and gave some recommendations too. Otherwise the customer service was not excellent - some of the staff was a bit short and rude.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirakettu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, Directeur général at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your satisfaction concerning cleanliness, location, air-conditioning...
Concerning the Wi Fi we are very aware of the importance of this service and make the best to satisfy our customers. The installation has been recently changed and when we have a problem we do our best to solve it as soon as possible. We have 2 internet lines and when one is down, you can at least have a WIFI connection from the lobby with the back up line.
We hope to see you again in our hotel,

Best regards,

Odile Payen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed here four nights in July and was very happy with my choice. Initially I started with a booking for three nights, but ended up extending it to four upon arrival. Upon arrival the front-desk staff took me up to my room and made sure I was happy with it. I really liked the complimentary mini-fridge, and the floor to ceiling window for getting fresh air. The wifi quality was excellent. Some elements of the room were dated like the wardrobe unit, but other than that I felt I was in a nicely renovated hotel. The room was trendy, comfortable bed. Brand new washroom fittings and tiles. Washroom was a bit cramped, but it worked out.

It was about a 5 minute walk to the beach, with a few restaurants and shops on the way, where you can buy beach towels and other water toys. Warning about the sunscreen, the beach stores I went to had very expensive and low SPF sunscreen. After going to an actual grocery store nearby, I found must cheaper and higher SPF count.

The hotel is about 10 minute walk to the train station, which might be a bit too far if you have a lot of suitcases, but I'm sure it wouldn't cost too much in a taxi either if your 2 or more. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy01012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comment.
For your breakfast, don't forget we have a quick formula for only 6 euros which allows to have breakfast in the garden as well.

We will be very pleased to see you again.

Best regards,

Odile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Property: Hotel Windsor Nice
Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 30 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing