We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven after a long business trip”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #19 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A haven after a long business trip”
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Having looked all over for a hotel in Nice, I'm so glad I chose the Windsor as my stay was perfect from start to finish. We got the train into Nice and it is a simple walk to the hotel which takes about 15 minutes. It's in a nice area with a short walk to the beach and lots of restaurants nearby. This means that you're getting a good slice off the price just by being a short walk away from the beach.

The hotel itself has each room decorated in a unique style. Ours had different words painted all over the walls which was a really good feature. The bathroom was fantastic, a good size with a nice shower. As a young couple on a bit of a budget, we couldn't afford to buy drink from the hotel bar as anything in Nice is very expensive, approx 9 Euros for a beer so we bought wine and asked the hotel to store it in their fridge for us. Knowing that they would make no money out of us made no difference as they were happy to oblige. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as it was extortionate, and we could get more choice from one of the beach front cafes for the same price with a nice view.

However, the garden is what makes this hotel. A beautiful haven in the middle of Nice, the chairs catch some sunshine and it's a perfect place to sip some wine before going out to eat. Highly recommended.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. Yes, it's expensive, but it's in the Riviera, so so is everywhere else. However, there was nothing that they could have done better for us, and that was knowing that we weren't putting any extra money in their pockets. I'd definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Deeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    460
    128
    35
    20
See reviews for
111
545
59
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Booked a room via the website, arrived late evening as had been advised at
time of booking... allocated the only room remaining which did NOT have air
con even though the website had stated all rooms did have air con! August
heat and pregnant wife so checked out and booked into Hotel Busby across the
road which had a room with air con. Repacked suitcases and returned to Hotel
Windsor the next day to check into a room with air con as had been agreed
with reception the previous night. Hotel manager then refused to let us stay
as he was so upset that we had checked out the night before even thought it
was his fault, he should have stated on his website that the majority or
rooms had air con. We were told we should have requested air con as two of
the rooms didn't have air con. The website stated air con in all rooms, not
all the rooms minus two! Would never stay here again, any man who can throw
a pregnant woman out on to the street for something that is his fault as a
manager and not her fault as a client....

I want to make sure future clients remember to confirm they want air con
(assuming they do of course) the free standing fan provided in our room just
moved hot air around a poorly ventilated room.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank notsib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

This was our second visit to this hotel as we had been there in April and promised ourselves a return visit. Each room is decorated invidually in a different theme, Staff are really helpful and breakfast out in the gardens is wonderful - so relaxing.

Hotel is handy for the station, the promenade and the old town.

Rooms were comfortable and on our Easter visit chocolate eggs, chickens etc were placed in our rooms. This is typical of the thoughtful family run hotel.

Lift only holds 2 people plus luggage and has a rocket launch recording when lift moves!!

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Stayed in the 'Gold Room' - the girlfriend was very impressed - double bed dressed all in white while everything else (floor and ceiling included) covered in Gold Leaf. The light for the room came from under the bed. Nice bathroom and separate desk area - the TV swings into the room from a wall bracket round the corner. Lovely having breakfast in the Exotic garden, which had a wide variety of food. Oh and the lift is great (seriously). Its just two blocks to the beach. There is a swimming pool which is an ok size but not heated and as its tucked away in the corner of the exotic garden (which has some seriously massive specimens in it) was too cold for us. Not sure what the 'normal rooms' are like (heard a few people moaning about them) but the art rooms are highly recommended for something a bit different and overall a lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights and have a good time. The hotel staff were polite and and helpful at all times. The room was clean and the air con was needed as it was very hot at the time of the visit. The pool is small but adequate if you want to have a quick dip! Situated approx 10 min from Nice railway station and close to the seafront. Breakfast was expensive, best option is to go to one of the local cafes located near by.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I also stayed at the Hotel Windsor and although it is a beautiful hotel I had an unpleasant experience with the woman at the front desk. She was extremely rude. I almost went to the manager about her as well. It's a shame because I didn't have that kind of treatment at any of the other hotels I stayed at in the 3 1/2 weeks of my travel's in France.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhildeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We used the Windsor as a starting off point for a cycling trip in France and found the staff, room and restaurant quite satisfactory. The value was good for a central hotel and being on the Riveria - even a modest budget gets you a smallish room. The room was great - the hotel clean and quiet and worth the month.

We had rented bikes delivered to the hotel prior to our arrival. The staff were accommodating in so many ways - receiving the boxes when the bikes came in - storing our bikes in their office while we stayed - storing the boxes, etc. They also helped us navigate getting to Avignon - the next part of our trip as well.

We found all the staff quite helpful - friendly and eager to make our stay a relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa_Traveler_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Property: Hotel Windsor Nice
Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 30 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing