We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magnan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Magnan
Ranked #127 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Mitcham, surrey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Yet another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I visited again in early April for 5 nights in room 62 on the top floor and with a tremendous sea view. The hotel was nearly empty as recent weather in Nice had been a bit iffy and as a result we had a sizeable discount from the usual competitive rate making it even better value for money. There are still areas where improvements could be made but this does not detract from the spotlessly cleaned rooms and beds. The location is the best! The owner could not be nicer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekPMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    27
    8
    15
See reviews for
14
63
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mitcham, surrey
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our third visit to the hotel this year. Having been before we know exactly what to expect and we were not disappointed. We were in room 63 on the top floor with a brilliant view across to Cap Villefranche and the lighthouse. The rooms are brilliantly clean and towels are changed every day. Yes, the bathroom is small with a hand held shower and some of the public areas need work but everyone is helpful and friendly and the location is superb. The nearby bus stop serves all areas of the city - it is a 10 minute ride to Massena, a similar time to Nice station or along the Promenade to the old town. Note that the 7 day bus/tram pass is still 15 Euros but no longer covers the journey to and from the airport. Individual bus journeys are now 1.50 Euros but still tremendous value,particularly if visiting Menton or Monaco - a 45 minute journey from Garibaldi bus stop. The new Promenade du Paillon which replaced the horrible old bus station is a beautiful open space. There is a lot of building work going on at present, particularly around the Station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekPMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked this hotel due to the good reviews. We were so disappointed when the taxi pulled up, it doesn't look great from outside and the reception area is very poor. We had booked a room with a balcony and sea view but we were told by the guy on reception that this was impossible and there was only a basic room available. He said he was unhappy with the booking agent and the cost of a balcony was more than what we had paid. He told us all this after we had paid in full. I opened up the email on my phone to show our booking confirmation and then he found our booking on his computer which did in fact say we had booked a double room with balcony and sea view. He was still unhappy and I said that we only expected what we had booked and we would never have booked at all if there was no balcony etc. he said he would show us 2 rooms; one had just a window. We chose the room with balcony and sea view but were told we could only have this for 2 nights. The room wasn't great; it was tiny and the white plastic table and chairs on the balcony were not clean. The bed cover was awful and drab. The room appeared clean but there was holes in the wooded headboard unit and a whole in the bathroom door. The bathroom was like a wet room but you had to hold the shower head yourself. Positives: near the sea and bus stop for the airport. This bus travels all along the prom area. There is free Wi-Fi, the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels, soap and shower gel. The maid was friendly. The TV was so noisy trying to find the one working channel. We worried on the 3rd day in case out belongings were removed from our room and put in another but this did bit happen but we shouldn't have to worry abort this on holiday. We slept terribly due to the noise from traffic passing the hotel and noisy guests. This is drowned out by the air con if you can stand the noise of the air con.The lady on reception was very helpful with directions. It is about 30 minutes walk to the old town where all the action is and if you walk along the prom especially from early evening onwards there are quite a few prostitutes. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it and we would stay nearer the old city if we were to return to Nice.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, pay more elsewhere to ensure that you get a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brammer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nice hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is very clean, the staff are very nice. The man in the front desk helped us with reservations several times. Basically, you get what you paid for. Small, clean, close to the water. If you are ok walking, it's about 15 min walk from old city where all the action is. The bathroom is small, but clean. The only thing we missed was having an extra mirror in the room. We weren't expecting much and were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room is very basic but very close to everything. The beach was just across the street and in the lobby the hotel provided umbrellas and mats/pads for sun bathing that you could take to the beach free of charge. We had a room with a balcony and an ocean view but the ocean view was not direct but it didn't affect us as we came back to the room just to sleep. The hotel manager was very friendly and very helpful and called around when we needed to plan local activities. The bus stand and the grocers are very close to the hotel as well and there's a direct bus from the airport to the hotel. I had noticed some earlier reviewers say that the day light comes in but there actually is a blind that's outside the sliding glass doors that you operate using a handle from inside the room that keeps the room pitch dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORCO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This little gem was perfect for the non-complainer. The room was tiny but extremely clean. The room breakfast consisted of a Crossiant and cup of coffee served in the room for 8 Euros but enjoyable to sit on the balcony, watching the Sea. If you wanted more, there was a great restaurant right next door. Don't arrive late, the front door is locked after 10:30 but you were given a key for entry after check in. Patrick at the desk always had a smile and was helpful with whatever you asked. Free mats and a beach umbrella was furnished by the Hotel, a little worn but served its purpose. We were there for the beach and everything else was secondary and to top it off, the price justified the means. You get what you pay for and we would stay there again!

Room Tip: They all have a balcony to look at the sea to the right and the park across the street and busy inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRIVER4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just a 15 mins bus ride from the airport and the last bus is 23:50 from terminal 2, which fitted perfectly with our flight time. We were greeted at the hotel by a very friendly gentleman (the owner) who showed us to our room and told us we could sort everything the next morning as it was very late. The room was clean and tidy, although slightly on the small size but the balcony more than made up for the room size. We had room 52 (fifth floor over looking the sea), which was a great view. We took an electric travel kettle, tea, coffee etc. which proved to be a great idea as sitting on the balcony in the morning with tea, coffee and locally baked, fresh warm bread (purchased just a very short walk away) was a great way to start the day. We will definitely use Hotel Magnan again, very central - beach in front, regular buses to the port, airport, Monaco, etc. the old town just 15 mins walk along the promenade and of course the very friendly, helpful owner. Thank you

Room Tip: ask for a sea view with a balcony - the fifth floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULINESHAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.1 mi away
Flots d'Azur
Flots d'Azur
#86 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Access Nice Magnan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Eden
Hotel Villa Eden
#159 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval
0.4 mi away
Adagio Nice Promenade Des Anglais
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#173 of 204 in Nice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magnan

Property: Hotel Magnan
Address: 1 avenue de la Californie, 06200 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Magnan 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Magnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnan Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing